• Toots Hibbert Hit With A Bottle On Stage

http://www.timesdispatch.com/news/la...a4bcf6878.html

Toots Hibbert was hit in the head with a large bottle Saturday night while performing at an outdoor festival in Richmond, Virginia. He ended the concert about 15 minutes early.

Hibbert suffered a laceration to his head. He was taken to a hospital, presumably for some stitches, and released.

Just glad to know it didn't happen in Jamaica, because yuh woulda hear how wi nuh ha nuh sense.

Mind you, I can bet it was some Jamaican who did this, some ignorant Jamaican who needs a good JCF beatdown! How can you bottle Toots?!? I had to sit through what seemed like 2 hours of boring Jimmy Cliff about 5 years ago at Rebel Salute, but we know the man's status in the music industry so wi just grin and bear it.

video
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpLRr...ailpage#t=252s

doubt it was a Jamaican...this happened in Richmond, VA...more than likley one of them red neck Richmonders...

I share your view

doubt it was a Jamaican...this happened in Richmond, VA...more than likley one of them red neck Richmonders...
          I tend to share your assumption regarding the audience, Bricky.

Back in the 1970s, the members of a prominent Jamaican backing band found themselves in a similar situation when they played reggae in a country music venue. Those rednecks certainly flung some things on stage, and band members had to duck behind amplifiers, etc. Do not quote me on this, but it might have been Jimmy Cliff’s backing band (which included Ernie Ranglin on lead guitar and Earl “Chinna” Smith on rhythm guitar).

My memory is hazy here, but I vaguely remember that it might have been Jimmy Cliff and his band during the American segment of their world tour back in the mid or late 1970s.

Well Virginia is a big supporter of Reggae. I went to college with some youths from down there and them think Burning Spear a demi god. They use to tell me about the big reggae concerts.

Saw another Jamaican artist got bottled off stage back in the day in DC. Flourgon was opening for Dennis Brown at the Kilamangaro. After hours of DBrown cannot take the stage and management kept sending out Fourgon for encore after encore (not at the crowds request). About the fourth time he chose to come on stage he was met with a barrage of bottles. I do not think he was hit, but he got the message that they did not want to see him again.

It was understood that D Brown was having some money issues with the show organizers and would not take the stage until he it was settled. They ended up cancelling the show.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I have gone to Virginia too where I saw Third World, Yellow Man and Black Uhuru back in the early 90s and they were well received.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

garrettgsell 5 hours ago
                  I was there and there were not any REDNECKS there. Not everyone in VA is redneck. Just one very stupid idiot ruined the vibe for a lot of peaceful folks.
                  And is a big ra s s bokkle too! Dat was not cute!

I think is a Jamaican country threw that bokkle. That there is a mango hand for sure, the man hand straight!

Looks like Grey Goose, wha yuh say?

No, it look too clear.

The bredda on stage shouldn't have picked up the bottle at least not with his bare hand... authorities could have checked it for fingerprints... isn't that assault? the perp could have been identified as that didn't look like a massive crowd... damn shame!

Yeah its terrible. It could have resulted in swelling on the brain and worse.
                            Someone died last year in VA after being hit with a bottle.
                            http://privateofficernews.wordpress....teofficer-com/

Toots posted on Facebook that he had seven stitches and was released. The bottle thrower was arrested, and charges are pending.