• Former JTA Boss Stands By Comments On Thwaites

Former JTA Boss Stands By Comments On Thwaites

Published: Saturday June 1, 2013 | 12:26 pm0 Comments

Education minister, Ronald Thwaites. - File
    The embattled former president of the Jamaica Teachers’ Association, the JTA, Dorian Dixon is refusing to back down from perceived derogatory comments he made in reference to Education Minister Ronald Thwaites.

Dixon and another former JTA president Paul Adams have been facing widespread criticisms for remarks they used to characterise the ongoing impasse between the ministry of education and public-sector teachers.

In his comments, Dixon referred to the impasse over leave entitlements for public-sector teachers as a clash between a puss and a mongrel dog.

However, speaking yesterday at the annual general meeting of the JTA’s St Ann chapter, Dixon was unrepentant, telling teachers,“If you allow anybody to take away your voice, you have lost your humanity and you are better off dead”.

He is among three candidates contesting the election for president of the JTA for 2014-2015 which takes place between June 17 and 21.

The others are Anthony Williams and Ann Geddes Nelson who told the teachers that as professionals, they must act accordingly.

However, speaking yesterday at the annual general meeting of the JTA’s St Ann chapter, Dixon was unrepentant, telling teachers,“If you allow anybody to take away your voice, you have lost your humanity and you are better off dead”.
    I hope he feels the same way when one of his students tells him to suck him modda!

Haven't been following this...what is wrong with the comment? Who is the puss and who is the mongrel dog? Why is Ronnie offended?

Dwl! Freedom of speech fe life!

I wanna know too.
          Whatagwaan?

the former JTA tegreg leaders getting personal with Thwaites. Thwaites intend on making some changes but it seems he will be messing with their contract they just signed. You know how these JTA mobsters are against change, only Nadine Molloy left to come out now.

Some people surprised because of how close they have been to the PNP, but the JTA has become their own mobsters.

Dixon's Dogged Determination - Unrepentant Former JTA Boss Wants To Be President Again!
              Published: Sunday | June 2, 2013 7 Comments

Doran Dixon
              Carl Gilchrist, Sunday Gleaner Writer

Still under fire for remarks he made in reference to Minister of Education Ronald Thwaites, former president of the Jamaica Teachers' Association (JTA), Doran Dixon, is seeking to lead that union once more.

Dixon and two other candidates for the post, Anthony Williams and Ann Geddes Nelson, turned up at the annual general meeting of the JTA St Ann Parish Chapter at the Brown's Town Baptist Church Hall last Friday.

The three were there to drum up support for their bid to lead the organisation when delegates vote between June 17 and 21.

The unrepentant Dixon, who was the first of the three allotted a few minutes to speak, began with words from the song by the one-hit wonder, the Baha Men.

"Who let the dogs out? Woof! Woof!" declared Dixon as he started his sales pitch.

"If you allow anybody to take away your voice, you've lost your humanity and you're better off dead!" Dixon told the St Ann teachers.

The Mico University lecturer has been under pressure since he declared that the JTA should not be afraid to battle the education ministry in defence of the rights of teachers.

"When a little mongrel dog rush you, what you do? You front up to the mongrel and say, 'Go sit down', because the JTA is not just a little puss, so a little mongrel nah go rush we … ," said Dixon, who served as president of the JTA from 2008 to 2009.

Yesterday, Dixon told The Sunday Gleaner that he has suffered no backlash or fallout from fellow teachers over his comments, despite public statements from some of his students and colleagues for him to apologise.

Among the critics is Professor Claude Packer, president of The Mico University College, where Dixon is employed as the principal lecturer and head of the Social Sciences Department.

"There is a lot to be considered. I can't give a definite statement at this time as to what actions will be taken. We have, however, distanced ourselves from the matter because we found the comments to be extremely distasteful and a damage to Mico's brand," Packer declared last week.

But Dixon argued that other members of the teaching profession have been generally supportive.

PERFORMANCE SPEAKS

He is expecting his performance when he led the JTA to work in his favour this time around.

"If people think your performance was generally good, then they will want you to serve," said Dixon.

Dixon's push for another go at the leadership of the powerful union could be thwarted by Williams and Geddes Nelson, who took the less-confrontational approach when they addressed the St Ann teachers last week.

Williams made it clear that as professionals, teachers must act accordingly.

"There are many challenges ... but I don't believe in dogfights," said Geddes Nelson in a clear reference to Dixon's comments.

The winner of the June election will become the JTA president-elect for 2013-2014 during the reign of Mark Nicely, who takes over from current president, Clayton Hall, in August.

The victorious candidate would then take over from Nicely and lead the JTA for the 2014-2015 year.

how him can be calling Ronnie a mix breed !?

What kind of.. wait.. ahm.. oh.. mek mi study di ting again..

Doran Dixon Axed

Former president of the Jamaica Teachers' Association Doran Dixon has been pulled from the race for president of the teachers' union for the upcoming 2013-2014 period.

The decision was taken by the presidents of the JTA upon advice from its credentials committee, which has oversight for the elections.

In a release late this morning, the JTA said its credential committee had deliberated on the "unfortunate and unprofessional statements" made by Dixon at a community meeting on May 24 and further comments made on Friday.

At a JTA public consultation, Dixon compared the JTA's dispute with the Ministry of Education to a fight between "a mongrel dog" and "a lion-hearted cat".

Speaking with The Gleaner late last week, he said he would not engage in any further discussion on the matter, despite pressure from the JTA and the Mico University College, where he is employed, for him to apologise for the comments.

The JTA says Dixon's candidacy has been withdrawn with immediate effect. However, he has not yet been officially notified of the JTA's decision.

Public pressure does make a difference. The problem with Jamaicans is that we find it hard to keep the pressure on public figures until they cave.

Maybe its just too much almshouse going on all the time for anything to really hold our attention for long.

Karreck

Him a take JTA to court. Are they correct in blocking him??? Did he violate their rules? We will see how it turns out. Maybe they will come up with some real set of rules instead of shouting all the time.

Is Paul Adams related to Reneto?

.. and it will happen.

...that's the Gospel Truth ... RBSC chapter 1, vs. 1