• And the winner of the disingenuous award

for 2013 is... drum roll...

Omar Davis !

<According to Davies, the Pay As You Earn (PAYE) taxpayers and those who purchase basic commodities and pay General Consumption Tax (GCT) have consistently borne the burden of revenue measures.

"We know how to come down hard on those at the bottom. We tax them with GCT. We tax them with PAYE," Davies stressed.

However, he pointed out that respective administrations have not yet resolved "the issue of being able to take a fair share from those at the top of the ladder".>

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead6.html

Ahm.. the informal sector mek up of who again ?!

Mi tell yuh di man from Columbia nuh unnastan who him a deal wid !

Is it only the informal sector who don't pay taxes in Jamaica?

if you don't pay your taxes, you are a part of the informal sector, nuh matter how good your business doing, and your status, or how you dress.

Colombia had mitigating factors in its favour , a number of US bases across its nation,to combat a war on drugs , an insurgency by a marxist/communist narco - political group (FARC) Confused lot, which basically means unlimited aid and given all of that , they have begun to find their way in the past 5 years after billions in aid and still billions in aid ! BTW colombians still migrate to venezuela for a better life.

Jamaica has what crutch (mitigating factor ) to get out of its debt ?...im can gwan preach to claffy.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yuh tink is aid build economies ?

That is like saying massive oil reserves guarantee a vibrant economy..

lol ! woiee !

When Haiti pass us maybe den yuh will unnastan wheh clock a strike.. bout "Jamaica has what crutch.."

Yuh sound like A.J Nicholson talking about Singapore being 'propped up' by US..

Di whole ah unnuh guh di same brainwash academy ?

Ah muss dat to reescleet !

lol !

Exactly Ben , look at colombia in a proper perspective, take way the billions and ask yourself where exactly would they be ?

I think its called crtical thnking , be wary of IMF preachers.Not saying he doesnt have a point.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica's tax problem is rooted in the disproportionate size of its informal sector..

This tripe by Omar is called chaff.. drawing attack away from where it should be directed to 'false' targets...

It works though primarily due to ever present ripple effects of the socialist propaganda from the 70's.. is nuff brain wash victim pon di forum.. dem easy fi indentify !

It is not aid that fueled their recovery.. it was effective policy and disciplined implementation..

If yuh cyaan unnastan dat den yuh lost...

Dis IMF phobia yuh have going send yuh a gully bank if yuh nuh careful.. dis is wheh yuh muss study:

Since 2010 Juan Carlos Echeverry has served as Minister of Finance and Public Credit of the Republic of Colombia. He has received several international awards including Minister of Finance of the Americas (The Banker Global Financial Intelligence), Best Minister of the Year (America Economia), and Minister of Finance of the Year of the Americas (Emerging Markets).

Di man gone sort out Africa while yuh ah yap bout IMF

http://www.thebrenthurstfoundation.o...-Echeverry.htm

Is di same *****ery mek PJ announce proudly dat IMF debt pay off while dem owe 100s of Billions of high interest rate money...

Madness...

You just believe ,without question ...dangerous...what is wrong with
                  questioning ?

I apply Critical Thinking....

Try it.. IMFPhobia is not Critical Thinking...

Jamaica's tax problem is rooted in the disproportionate size of its informal sector..

This tripe by Omar is called chaff.. drawing attack away from where it should be directed to 'false' targets...

It works though primarily due to ever present ripple effects of the socialist propaganda from the 70's.. is nuff brain wash victim pon di forum.. dem easy fi indentify !

Have you read the reports on the ineffective tax compliance in Jamaica it doesn't just single out the informal sector as being the primary culprit. Even Issa has stated his embarrassment and disappointment at the tax compliance of the wealthy. He also proposed certain measures to address this. When did he turn socialist? A late bloomer perhaps.

So is the wealthy tax person who is not in compliance, is he not in the informal sector???? Informal sector is not not just drug dealers and higglers.
                        It involve all the big businesspeople who not paying their taxes as required by the state.

Do you believe THE problem Jamaica has as it relates to inadequate tax collection is rooted in the tax compliance of the wealthy ?

Fish rots from the Head.

Even the non-fish agguh get touch.... wooiieee

Inane.. I think you have exceeded your quota for the week.. please refrain..