Time to shutdown INDECOM?

• Time to shutdown INDECOM?

Yucks- Maybe some government ministers want the police force to try the cases on the spot because the court system does not work?

Gov't MP calls for INDECOM closure, angers Twitter followers

Published: Thursday November 7, 2013 | 1:02 pm 0 Comments

Jermaine Francis, Staff Reporter

Tourism State Minister, Damion Crawford, has drawn the ire of Twitter users after calling for the closure of the Independent Commission of Investigations (INDECOM).

This morning Crawford tweeted, “Say NO to INDECOM #close_it”. He also tweeted: "... its a big PR stunt that waste money and solves nothing."

Several of his followers rejected his call.

They questioned what would be his alternative to INDECOM, to which Crawford responded that an arm within the police force would be better suited to investigate matters of police abuse and shootings.

This triggered a firestorm with several Twitter users questioning Crawford’s logic, but he continued his broadside against INDECOM tweeting, “INDECOM has & will continue to cause the police to not be proactive or even reactive but inactive...”

This is not the first time the first time the Member of Parliament is receiving flak for his comments the social media site.

Last August, Crawford received heavy criticism for his “shell dung” tweet, used in reference to Jamaica’s performance at the London Olympics.

Earlier this year, another Government MP Dr Dayton Campbell was whipped for his comments on Twitter about a beauty pageant contestant.

How yuh mean ... shut it down yes!

Well, I hope this is the nail to end his high political aspirations. And to think I would have supported him!

why would you have supported him before? i told you long time ago is pure foolishness that comes out of this idiot's mouth...look like yuh get ketch up in the rae rae...

Yeah I am getting the impression that he is not the smartest person in the room.

... Portia and Roger Clarke in the room?

LOL! You must have respect yute.

Crawford has been shameful too often...And you wonder about the state of Jamaica...With people like this, how can we advance anything....INDECOM is here to stay and once cops are doing the right thing they have nothing to worry about...Full time we rid ourselves of the corruption fromstate officials....What we need now is a body like INDECOM for our politicians and other Civil servers.

And Crawford want to lock down INDECOM!?!

Cops Accused Of Beating Mentally Ill Man Caught On Camera, Interdicted

Published: Thursday November 7, 2013 | 12:34 pm10 CommentsKamoza Clarke in his hospital bed - File

The policemen accused of beating an inmate at the Falmouth Police Station in Trelwany last month have been placed on interdiction following a probe including the viewing of video footage.

The decision was made following a recommendation by the Inspectorate of Constabulary, which had been instructed by the Police Commissioner to investigate the incident.

Thirty-one year-old Kamoza Clarke, who is said to be mentally ill, was beaten to a near vegetative state and remains in hospital.

The Police High Command says the Inspectorate detected breaches of Force policies and has recommended that all police personnel involved be interdicted.

The Police High Command says it has also been briefed on the findings of the investigations and viewed the video footage from the security cameras at the lockup.

Following a review of the footage and the statements on file, the Police High Command has concluded that the matter should now be dealt with by the Independent Commission of Investigations (INDECOM).

Against that background, it says Deputy Commissioner of Police, Delworth Heath has handed over the completed file and footage to INDECOM.

So you didn't vet Crawford all this time?

Why, do the Ticians show respect?

He said something stupid the other day but this is becoming a regular ting wid him.