• Assasin: Don't blame the people!

...or, was Maudib who said that.

-------

Well?

Here is an Observer EDITORIAL -

People should be jailed for poisoning rivers

Monday, May 07, 2007

The story 'Stop poisoning the rivers!' in yesterday's edition of the Sunday Observer should be a must- read for everyone.
    It tells of how deliberate river poisoning is threatening the livelihood and health of residents in the picturesque Rio Grande Valley of Portland in north- eastern Jamaica. Simply put, rather than fishing in legal, time-honoured and conventional fashion, unscrupulous people are pouring poison into the water to speed up and maximise their catch.

We are told that hazardous chemicals such as the weed killer gramazone and bleach are being used to kill fish. The fact that fish killed in that manner could prove deadly for consumers and that the water - which is life for animals of every type including humans - is being poisoned, is apparently of no concern to the perpetrators. Ms Linnette Wilks, coordinator of the Bowden Pen Farmers Association in the Rio Grande Valley, said that "if the problem is not solved, then future generations may not know what a cray or a janga fish look like". She goes beyond that, to point out that the poisoned water and fish can trigger all sorts of illnesses in humans, leading even to death. This newspaper applauds efforts which apparently have the support of the community to launch education and awareness programmes, and to mobilise community members to monitor their waterways as well as "track and prosecute poisoning events".

We pray that the efforts are sustained and get the requisite support from government. We note a well-meaning comment by Ms Kimberly John of the Nature Conservancy agency, that crimes such as these are "hard to prosecute because it is done in secret". We agree that prosecution is probably difficult; we do not agree that it is a secret to many of those who live in the communities. Here is another case where well-thinking people need to be assertive and to take charge to protect themselves, their neighbours and the wider society.

Allied to that of course, the authorities, through the judiciary, the police, park monitors, wardens and all those with the authority to deal with environmental offences, must send the clear message that such behaviour will not be tolerated. For while it may come as a surprise to some, there are laws which are meant to punish those found guily of practices such as poisoning the waters of the Rio Grande. Under the Wildlife Protection Act of 1945 which was amended in 1998 for example, individuals and company directors found guilty of deliberately placing hazardous materials, including industrial waste, into rivers and waterways can be subject to a fine of $100,000 and/or a year in prison. And the Natural Resources Regulations (1993) stipulates a fine of $10,000 or imprisonment for two years. Of course, the problem is not confined to the Rio Grande Valley, nor is it new.

For years there have been complaints about fishermen in our coastal waters who use hazardous material including dynamite to kill fish.
    And in recent weeks there have been reports of fish kills in the Black River, caused, it is believed, by waste from the sugar/rum industry. In a society with so many problems it is easy for environmental protection to remain on the backburner. But without a healthy environment we will soon find we have nothing. We need to send a message. What better way than to catch,
    convict and send some of these offenders - rich and poor - to jail.

Re: Assasin: Don't blame the people!

Karl how can you blame the people? A few greedy fishermen is killing the river and its environs and you blame the people. It goes to show how far you will go. You want the people to set up their own laws and enforce them? No you complain bout Tivoli? as I do about all these places where people take justice in their own hands?

The government need to have these places protected and lock up the people who are doing this and I bet it is only a few people and a proper investigator would find out who it is.

Karl come better than that, don't you have polluters and people who try the same thing in America? Some are even major corporations. For the most part they are found and forced to pay for it one way or another and that is the difference with JA which goes right back to the government.

Karl how can you blame the people? A few greedy fishermen is killing the river and its environs and you blame the people. It goes to show how far you will go. You want the people to set up their own laws and enforce them? No you complain bout Tivoli? as I do about all these places where people take justice in their own hands?

The government need to have these places protected and lock up the people who are doing this and I bet it is only a few people and a proper investigator would find out who it is.

Karl come better than that, don't you have polluters and people who try the same thing in America? Some are even major corporations. For the most part they are found and forced to pay for it one way or another and that is the difference with JA which goes right back to the government.
      Are the few greedy fishermen the only culprits? You know that is not the case. Persons around them - wifes, mothers, sisters, fathers, husbands, sons, brothers...other relatives, those who share in buying/trading in these products...

...and, others who see and hear and act deaf and dumb...etc, etc.

....and, not just in this Assasin...but, each adn every area of our lives.

Who are the corrupt government workers who help to destroy Jamaica? Who work in the various government, quasi-government services...local government and central govvernment...and other allied services?

The people!

Who are the corrupt private sector workers who give shody services and charge unjust prices? ...and, work along with 'government workers' to corrupt others and to waste and destroy?

The people!

Massa wake up and walk up to the plate! playing 'bline anda def' do not change the facts.
      Last edited by Karl; May 7, 2007, 08:40 AM.

Are the few greedy fishermen the only culprits? You know that is not the case. Persons around them - wifes, mothers, sisters, fathers, husbands, sons, brothers...other relatives, those who share in buying/trading in these products...

...and, others who see and hear and act deaf and dumb...etc, etc.

....and, not just in this Assasin...but, each adn every area of our lives.

Who are the corrupt government workers who help to destroy Jamaica? Who work in the various government, quasi-government services...and other allied services?

The people!

Who are the corrupt private sector workers who give shody services and charge unjust prices? ...and, work along with 'government workers' to waste and destroy?

The people!

Massa walk up!
        Sounds like you need STRONG LEADERSHIP with LONG TERM commitment not complicit leadership with short term objectives.. is dat why dem run Eddie ??!!

Yuh read From Third World to First yet ?

Yuh still a chat yuh rubbish.. read and understand...

Be the change
          published: Monday | May 7, 2007

Beverley Anderson-Manley
          IT MUST be possible for a country of just under three million people who occupy the space called Jamaica to eliminate lawlessness, disorder and poverty. Post-Independence political administrations have all played a role in attempting to create a Jamaica that works for everyone.

Increasingly, at the community level and with minimal governmental support, communities, including inner-city com-munities are beginning to recognise that their liberation is bound up with the liberation of others.
          Therefore, in taking responsibility for themselves and their communities, they are on the path to sustainable development, recognising that our interdependence as human beings is in keeping with our interdependence with nature and our environment.

In keeping with this, it is critical that as citizens, we seek out our roles and do what we can to enhance the community effort. The starting point in the community is the family. The African proverb "it takes a village to raise a child" is often quoted but not necessarily acted upon. What is involved in this is that all the children are our children and damage to one is damage to all. The household is the basic unit of society and it is within this space that families are located. When the family is dysfunctional, it impacts on the entire society. This is where the healing must begin. Healthy households give rise to healthy communities, workplaces and societies.

We create paradigms that are often limiting and belief systems that tell us what we cannot do. There are many role models and success stories that abound throughout Jamaica and the world. There are miraculous things that happen in the lives of women, men and children. In taking responsibility for ourselves and our communities, these success stories help us to realise what is missing in our own lives and therefore what is possible.

The General Election of 2007
          It was Mahatma Gandhi who said that it takes ordinary people to be extraordinary and if you want change, you have to be willing to BE the change you want to see in the world.

As the General Election gets closer and closer, let us use the opportunity of this event to take stock of our own lives. Hillary Clinton, speaking to a group of graduates at an Ivy League university in the United States earlier this year, encouraged them to participate in the political process. She pointed out to them that while [they were] waiting for the perfect persons to represent them - this was as good as it gets.

Take a Stand For Jamaica
          Therefore, while criticising those who lead us both in the Government and the Opposition, let us remind ourselves that this is as good as it gets and that in most cases we do not want to be in the shoes of our representatives. Many people struggled so that we could have the right to vote - we need to exercise that vote. For some time now, those who have decided not to vote - that is, anywhere between 40 per cent and 50 per cent - are either wittingly or unwittingly leaving this critical political process to the 'die-hards' in both political parties. So, once again, the next General Election could be the "battle of the die-hards". Is this really what we want?

Let us take a stand for Jamaica and have one of the highest turn-outs for elections 2007 in the history of Jamaica and when election day has come and gone, let us settle down to participate in governance by making sure that our voices are heard and listened to. It is the people who have the power, but do we have the courage to exercise that power? There is an old African-American saying that reminds us that it is alright to be courageous - take a stand - because "you will not fall off the ground".

We, the citizens of Jamaica, are the ones who get to choose what kind of election campaign we want. Let us have one that is free, fair and peaceful. At the end of the day, let us respect both political parties, as to a large extent, it is the possibility of a healthy dynamic between the two parties that will determine our success as a country.

Beverley Anderson-Manley is a political scientist and transformation coach. Email: BManley@kasnet.com.

In a system where the government fails then anything goes and people feel fed up. Why report something that is not going to be taken serious.

You remember when them catch the MP them a take the sand from the river bed? what happen?

If laws are enforced then these things will not take place.

Remember when New York was lawless? What happen? isn't it the same people living there and now what is murder rate?

Leadership change a lot of things and inspire people. You can't grow your youth up smoking herb and expect him to change to cigarette.

Be the change
              published: Monday | May 7, 2007

Beverley Anderson-Manley
              IT MUST be possible for a country of just under three million people who occupy the space called Jamaica to eliminate lawlessness, disorder and poverty. Post-Independence political administrations have all played a role in attempting to create a Jamaica that works for everyone.

Increasingly, at the community level and with minimal governmental support, communities, including inner-city com-munities are beginning to recognise that their liberation is bound up with the liberation of others.
              Therefore, in taking responsibility for themselves and their communities, they are on the path to sustainable development, recognising that our interdependence as human beings is in keeping with our interdependence with nature and our environment.

In keeping with this, it is critical that as citizens, we seek out our roles and do what we can to enhance the community effort. The starting point in the community is the family. The African proverb "it takes a village to raise a child" is often quoted but not necessarily acted upon. What is involved in this is that all the children are our children and damage to one is damage to all. The household is the basic unit of society and it is within this space that families are located. When the family is dysfunctional, it impacts on the entire society. This is where the healing must begin. Healthy households give rise to healthy communities, workplaces and societies.

We create paradigms that are often limiting and belief systems that tell us what we cannot do. There are many role models and success stories that abound throughout Jamaica and the world. There are miraculous things that happen in the lives of women, men and children. In taking responsibility for ourselves and our communities, these success stories help us to realise what is missing in our own lives and therefore what is possible.

The General Election of 2007
              It was Mahatma Gandhi who said that it takes ordinary people to be extraordinary and if you want change, you have to be willing to BE the change you want to see in the world.

As the General Election gets closer and closer, let us use the opportunity of this event to take stock of our own lives. Hillary Clinton, speaking to a group of graduates at an Ivy League university in the United States earlier this year, encouraged them to participate in the political process. She pointed out to them that while [they were] waiting for the perfect persons to represent them - this was as good as it gets.

Take a Stand For Jamaica
              Therefore, while criticising those who lead us both in the Government and the Opposition, let us remind ourselves that this is as good as it gets and that in most cases we do not want to be in the shoes of our representatives. Many people struggled so that we could have the right to vote - we need to exercise that vote. For some time now, those who have decided not to vote - that is, anywhere between 40 per cent and 50 per cent - are either wittingly or unwittingly leaving this critical political process to the 'die-hards' in both political parties. So, once again, the next General Election could be the "battle of the die-hards". Is this really what we want?

Let us take a stand for Jamaica and have one of the highest turn-outs for elections 2007 in the history of Jamaica and when election day has come and gone, let us settle down to participate in governance by making sure that our voices are heard and listened to. It is the people who have the power, but do we have the courage to exercise that power? There is an old African-American saying that reminds us that it is alright to be courageous - take a stand - because "you will not fall off the ground".

We, the citizens of Jamaica, are the ones who get to choose what kind of election campaign we want. Let us have one that is free, fair and peaceful. At the end of the day, let us respect both political parties, as to a large extent, it is the possibility of a healthy dynamic between the two parties that will determine our success as a country.

Beverley Anderson-Manley is a political scientist and transformation coach. Email: BManley@kasnet.com.
              Checks and Balances, more accountability mechanisms, less concentration of power in the hands of the Prime Minister and means of PUNISHING those that are elected when they breach the trust.. no sense in having 85% Voter turnout and then what we get is what wi stuck with.. no recourse..