• Jamaica Open For Business. Really?

Daily Gleaner editorial, Saturday, December 7, 2013
    (http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure1.html )

Jamaica Open For Business. Really?

Published: Saturday | December 7, 2013

The demise of the shrimp-producing company Trans-Global Aquaculture Limited, largely because of pilfering and praedial larceny, should finally capture the attention of our lawmakers and force them to lay out, in depth, what they plan to do to improve Jamaica's security for residents and businesses alike.

As reported in this newspaper, the company located in Clarendon suffered considerable loss because of the theft of equipment and stock from its inception. The other issue had to do with poor water quality. Together, these problems proved too much for Trans-Global.

Here was an American company, facilitated by the former National Investment Bank of Jamaica to set up business in Jamaica on the strength of lucrative contracts to sell shrimp to the United States, Japan and Europe. The company leased a 1,600-acre property from Government as it aimed to satisfy demand for 10 million to 12 million pounds of shrimp per annum. But after a dozen years of trying to keep afloat, the company went into liquidation and has finally closed its doors. And with the closure have gone the livelihoods of more than 250 workers.

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller and her ministers are often heard using the phrase 'Jamaica is open for business' in a bid to attract direct foreign investment into the country.

Security crisis

However, there is a world of difference between these glib expressions and the actions that must be taken to support economic development and send the message that Jamaica is a business-friendly location. The Government must add teeth to its good intentions if it is to be taken seriously. There are still bureaucratic hurdles to surmount in doing business in Jamaica. But the enormous security costs faced by business operators fly in the face of the 'open-for-business' concept which the Government has been touting since taking office.

The Jamaican population has every right to expect protection from the security forces, but daily acts of murder, robbery, and violence against workers and business people have persons cowering in fear all over the country.

Other businesses are teetering on the brink of existence because of the huge security costs that they have had to incur to secure their goods from both internal and external thieves. How was it possible for Trans-Global to survive if it was experiencing theft of thousands of pounds of shrimp on a regular basis?

Many local small businesses have similar tales of woe, having to close operations because of security concerns. These businesses, already operating close to the bone, could not contemplate the added costs to hire guards or to install high-definition video surveillance to keep their businesses safe.

Consider, for example, areas like Slipe Pen Road, Red Hills Road, and Mountain View Avenue. These were once thriving areas of commercial activity. Today, many of these businesses have been shuttered, rotting and run-down.

Jamaica desperately needs a new formula for security if the country is to attract job creators and to keep those who are already here contented.

The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.

Sad sad case, I was not even aware of this operation, I knew some one was doing the blue sea crabs on the south coast, whatever became of that?

Vision2030: “Jamaica, the place of choice to live, work, raise families and do business”.

Can't tell you how much I hate hearing that useless phrase!

In order for us to be seen with dealing with corruption,thiveing,larceny,goc contracts grafts etc ,it has to start from the top in government.We need the OCG to have teeth to go after anyone from Big to small,this B.S system we have cant work.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Blue crabs? Really? Where is/was this?

You hit the nail on the head. Look at this: The Ja bank financed the loan for this project, it goes belly up. Now Peter has to go to the IMF to cover this loss (and this will be passed on to the public in terms of taxes). The people are destabilizing their own country then blaming the govt.I'm sure that those who physically move the 4000 lb of shrimp are still living in poverty today. The business that got the shrimp may be getting over at the expense of Ja's tax payers.

Yup the OCG should have been Ja's version of the FBI. It's high time thes high place criminals go to jail. If not JA will become a failed state.
            Last edited by Jawge; December 7, 2013, 12:55 PM.

Not JFJ fault? Oh, Dr. Gomes gone. Is she yuh never like!

Ah see!

Definetly JFJ part of the problem,if the thieves rape and murdered the owners then the police extrjudicially dealt with them by way of IMF financed guns ,where would the JFJ sit ?

Our problem is more than police brutality ,its a systemic break down of society linked to corruption because of lack of political will,like George Aitty said,they(Hippos) wont change the shitstem because it suits them...JFJ is a part of it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Worst thing in the world is bad comedy!

I thought it was ignorance and wasted talent, you think its not all linked ,you think extrajudicial killings exist in a vacum?

Seriously how do you sleep knowing these killings are financied by the IMF guns,enforced by a corrupt constitution that encourages theft at the highest levels ?

I bet its good.

you bet!

It has to be good when you and your ilk arrive on the scene in these poor narcopolitical/ imf hoods called garrisons crying about extrajudicial killings of men who have guns worth more than 3 years salary purchased through said narcopoltical/imf eco garrison scheme to terrorise society not just their hoods,only to be wiped out by peace officers backed by a corrupt political constitution financed by the said IMF!

Only to go home at night sip on tea or beer ,discuss with said political leaders mandated with enforcing the shitstem that you all have done good,before you sleep well at night.

Damm skippy!

In order for us to be seen with dealing with corruption,thiveing,larceny,goc contracts grafts etc ,it has to start from the top in government.We need the OCG to have teeth to go after anyone from Big to small,this B.S system we have cant work.
                          Azan!?

It has to be good when you and your ilk arrive on the scene in these poor narcopolitical/ imf hoods called garrisons crying about extrajudicial killings of men who have guns worth more than 3 years salary purchased through said narcopoltical/imf eco garrison scheme to terrorise society not just their hoods,only to be wiped out by peace officers backed by a corrupt political constitution financed by the said IMF!

Only to go home at night sip on tea or beer ,discuss with said political leaders mandated with enforcing the shitstem that you all have done good,before you sleep well at night.

Damm skippy!
                            This is really comical fi true. And his is good comedy!

Imagine accusing Dr. Gomes of going home and sipping on whatever, not having a care about Jamaican society. She could easily have done and chose not to.

On the other hand, what have you done for anyone lately?!? Where and how far have you carried your weed campaign?!

Friggin joke to rahtid!

Ignorance, head in the sand , as if the link isnt glaring, why do you think these said residents in these narco/political/constitution/ imf zones, look at the JFJ as hypocrytes.

The shitstem of hypocrysy is nothing to laugh about...go do your work, more laughing awaits you.