Foreigners will take logistics hub jobs
Well most the new hotels were getting 15 year deals and concession on their imports.
30 years tax write off for "a ratio of 10,000 jobs", than is not yet finalized?
Boy that would be tragic. Me nuh think so though. 5 years would be acceptable.
Leave a comment:
Research is not our strong point. You usually haffe read fe do research and we nuh inna dat too tuff.
Leave a comment:
Right!! she ah mek it sound like a scientist dem waan. Plus software development fi manage an run dis setup is key. She sounding like PJ foreign ebryting widout any analysis an planning, it mussi catching or ah di PNP way.
Leave a comment:
Ah doan know why di Prime Ministah would mek dis yah statement, wi should educate di people fi tek di jobs pan offah. if dis ah di definition
"a logistics hub is a centre or specific area designated to deal with activities related to transportation, organisation, separation, coordination and distribution of goods for national and international transit, on a commercial basis by various operators."
Dere is no reason wi kyaan fill most ah dem jobs.
Leave a comment:
HL,to guarantee employment a quota has to be established.
Regarding Jamaica,it is the PM that has to be prepared,especially when dealing with the China.
All I want to know his the tax base that will be applied.
Leave a comment:
The industrial countries talk about technology transfer and we taking about language transfer? I wonder what kind of technology transfer we get with this deal?Originally posted by Jangle View PostThis agreement should include bringing in Chinese teachers to teach us the language. This is one of the most critical component. The Chinese are parasitic when it comes to protecting their investments which is very scary.
http://www.defensenews.com/article/2...ng-Buy-Panetta
Leave a comment:
One thing you know about the Chinese is, they did their research, one way or another and will take any advantage they can. The question is, did we do ours? I only hear what the Chinese dictate, what did we dictate?
Same thing we talk about the IMF all the time. We need to get our act right.
Leave a comment:
Many in the PMs constituency (and many other constituencies I might add) are not just unemployED and untrainED but also unemployABLE and untrainABLE.
Best to focus on the youth and try to save the future generations.
Leave a comment:
This agreement should include bringing in Chinese teachers to teach us the language. This is one of the most critical component. The Chinese are parasitic when it comes to protecting their investments which is very scary.
Leave a comment:
I agree, we should have had those programs in place already.
I am not very optimistic about all this, but I hope I am wrong.
Leave a comment:
Chinese workers took over the free zones before they were scrapped. They are going to take just about all the jobs on Goat Island including security guards. Our security guards are afraid of drug dealers. The Chinese are going to have to provide their own security otherwise goat island will become a drug transshipment port.Originally posted by Jangle View Postif Jamaicans don't qualify themselves — PM
BY HORACE HINES Observer staff reporter
Wednesday, February 26, 2014 7 Comments

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller addressing the Community Training for Empowerment Programme (CTEP) graduation in MoBay (PHOTO: PHILLIP LEMONTE)
.remove_caption{ display:none; }
MONTEGO BAY, St James — PRIME Minister Portia Simpson Miller says nothing will be allowed to stand in the way of development, warning that overseas workers will seize the increased job opportunities anticipated from the global logistics hub initiative, if Jamaicans fail to qualify themselves.
"We need to prepare ourselves for the jobs to come when you hear the announcements because if we are not trained then we cannot complain if we have to get people from elsewhere to fill the slots," said Simpson Miller. "Because we are not going to put any hindrance in the way of growth and development investments are a key to this growth and development. When we talk about the logistics hub we need to start to train persons."
Government's position is that the development of the hub will position Jamaica as a major logistics point that will be able to benefit from increased trade activities through the Caribbean as a result of the expansion of the Panama Canal.
As such, it is expected to drive investment and create sustainable employment over the long-term.
The prime minister was speaking at the Wexford Court Hotel in Montego Bay at an award ceremony for the Community Training for Empowerment Programme (CTEP) on Sunday.
CTEP, accredited by HEART Trust/NTA, Kelinworth, was conceptualised in 2004 by Derrick Kellier, who has been the member of parliament for South St James since 1989.
Over 1,000 persons have so far graduated under the project, which involves training in housekeeping, food and beverage, information technology, conversational Spanish and values and attitude.
Meanwhile, the prime minister expessed the need to romp up productivity across the nation.
"We need to get our people into successful businesses as small, medium and large producers. We have to create an army of successful entrepreneurs across this land of ours to produce jobs and to produce more," Simpson Miller said. "That's why the Heart Trust NTA is in major expansion mode, and I want to commend them-to widen its training programmes and increase the number of Jamaicans trained in the various skill areas."
Meanwhile, Kellier also stressed the need for improved production to pull the nation out of its indebtedness.
"Productivity is the key to take Jamaica out of its economic woes. If everyone in Jamaica understands that we will be well on our way to pay off the debt that we owe," argued Kellier who is also the minister of labour and social security. "If everyone should understand that and get on to the productivity revolution, then everyone will be better off in the future."
Leave a comment: