• Another reason why we won't see 5% growth

Shaw calls for forensic audit of Whitehouse
    Stewart agrees with Shaw's call for Whitehouse forensic auditBalford Henry, Observer writer
    Wednesday, May 16, 2007

The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of the House of Representatives seemed headed in opposite directions yesterday, in terms of producing a report on its review of the Sandals Whitehouse Hotel US$43-million overrun.
    Government member K D Knight felt that the report should not only state that there is no evidence of personal gain on the part of public officers involved in the controversial project, but should expand to state that there is no evidence of corruption.
    But Opposition spokesman on finance and the public service, Audley Shaw, hit back that unless the report demanded a financial audit, as well as a forensic financial audit, it could not reach either conclusion.
    Shaw said that the financial audit was needed to determine whether proper internal controls were established and followed and, if not, what are the implications, while the forensic financial audit would determine whether fraud was involved in the overrun.
    Yesterday, Sandals chairman Gordon 'Butch' Stewart agreed with Shaw.
    "Audley Shaw is absolutely right," said Stewart, who is also chairman of the Observer. "The audit report that was submitted was nothing more than politically motivated. Anyone that questions the air-conditioning system at Sandals Whitehouse, even though we had nothing to do with the actual design, is talking hogwash.
    "One need not go any further than Antigua where we are spending our own money on furniture, décor and landscaping that far exceeds what was done at Whitehouse to get an indication of the kind of expenditure involved. To support value for money, a forensic audit should have required the bills of quantities to be re-priced at their prevailing market rates. Market checks should have been made to verify the accuracy of measurements including a detailed examination and re-pricing of all subcontractors' final accounts."
    The stand-off over the draft report produced by Auditor-General Adrian Strachan, assisted by the committee's secretary Rosemarie Johnson, led to a split down the political line and raised the possibility of two separate reports from either side. This will be decided when the committee meets again next Tuesday.
    The main bone of contention was the inclusion, as one of the conclusions, of a paragraph which read that, "there was no finding of personal gain on the part of any of the public officers concerned in this matter".
    Shaw pointed out that Contractor-General Greg Christie had recommended that the auditor-general be asked to do a financial audit of the project.
    He said that the audits that have already been done were either from a contractor's or architectural perspective, but none had been done from an accounting perspective.
    "I believe that our examination here would be totally incomplete without such an exercise being carried out - a proper financial audit and a proper forensic audit," Shaw insisted.
    Knight responded that Shaw's proposal "cannot happen".
    Knight said that although the proposal mirrored that of the contractor general's, "I think that we cannot go down that road".
    He said that if the PAC was to report that it could not answer the questions it had been posed after six months of hearings, it would have been a colossal waste of time and money.
    His government colleague, John Junor, said that he was not prepared to put people's character in the balance, pending the findings of a financial audit.
    "I want to indicate in the strongest possible terms, I cannot sit here and see the taxpayers waste another set of money dealing with this report for what, I am going to state, is as far as I am concerned a political process," he said.
    Strachan said he doubted whether his office could identify any information that is likely to take the process substantially further. He said that both the Contractor-General's Office and the forensic team were better equipped than the Auditor-General Department's staff to do an audit.
    "I doubt very much that an audit by my officers at this time would add much to what we have already been aware of," Strachan said.
    Deputy financial secretary Robert Martin, who represents the Ministry of Finance on the PAC, said that annual audits are required of public firms. The audits, he added, give an opinion as to whether management has complied with the required standards.
    He said that it was on the basis of their qualification, which would state whether there were breaches of internal control and policy, that the ministry could follow up with a fuller audit.
    But Shaw noted that there has been no financial audit done of Sandals Whitehouse.
    "So, a financial audit is necessary, and I am not prepared to support any recommendation that excludes the need for a proper financial audit and a forensic financial audit," Shaw insisted.
    He said that he accepted the auditor-general's response that he did not have the resources to do an audit and suggested that another source be found.
    Eventually, the committee agreed to meet again next Tuesday to look at the areas of agreement and disagreement as well as the proposed recommendations in the draft report. But at the end of yesterday's meeting it seems very likely that there could be a majority report from Government members and a minority report from Opposition members, unless Shaw relents.

As you would say.. this one way over my head.. dumb it down a likkle, is a long article, what are the relevant portions to your argument ?

The PAC is planning to write two separate reports, of course based on party affiliation?!?! The committee can't even put away their partisan tribalism and get the job done!

But the country will pull together to achieve 5% growth in a few years.

Okay!

The PAC has been doing a good job all along, until KD and JJ was put on the committee. Mi tell yuh before, the PNP is a drag on our country. Is it an accident that the country progressed when the PNP was in self imposed exile?

Mek sure yuh enumerate and yuh fambly.. yuh raise a good point.. wi haffi mek sure PNP only end up with bout 9 seat so dem cyaan derail wid dem partisan tribalism..

Is muss you would be expecting help from di PNP when it comes to growth of Economy and Jobs... my philosphy is 'MOVE B!TCH, GET OUT DI WAY B1TCH, GET OUT DI WAY..'

By the way is wheh do Butch Stewart, him nuh si seh Alston Stewart and di ress ah di genetic clan nuh waan end up in prison or alms house ?? Fight fi dem K.D. !

Bout partisan tribalism.. if PNP wrang and JLP right because PNP currently have power to derail justice and JLP nah back down.. is partisan tribalism..

Heh, heh.

No wondah Jawge tink JFJ is an arm of the JLP..

"Government member K D Knight felt that the report should not only state that there is no evidence of personal gain on the part of public officers involved in the controversial project, but should expand to state that there is no evidence of corruption."

If we were to accept that, then what went wrong? How can so many millions be overspent and no one is at fault? Not saying anybody tief it, or that anybody corrupt, but someone must have been, in the least, very incompetent!

WHO??!??!

Vin Lawerence and Alton Stewart. A guess them fraid the get sue, but they were in charge and holding the government purse and nobody nuh stick them up so why we looking further?

Mo

It look like seh labourite aggo win, so betta start sharpen yuh axe fi Bruce. If him mek a misstep, count on me to be toe to toe with you bunning fyah pon him.

Jamaica starting from 10 steps back from where we should have been (due mainly to the current crew, make no mistake). No more time to ********************foot around. We naah go tek no almshouse from nuhbaddy. Dem betta bring dem A game.

The one thing I can already critque Bruce dem for is the fact that they need to realize that crime and violence is largely a rebellious protest act. There is no real sense of justice for the likkle man in Jamaica. That is where I would put most emphasis...on creating a just society. I dont mean socialist handouts, I mean JUSTICE for all...equality in front of the law. No matter who yuh bi, the rule of law applies to yuh. The so called "small" man must KNOW that when he is right, the law back him unconditionally. In that case, there is no subconscious need to lash out at society.

Fix di courthouse dem. Teach police real detective work and protect witnesses and informers. All informer fi LIVE!!!

Mi deh wid you bigtime too. I am sorry i wasn't in NY last week to quiz Bruce bigtime since he was on my ends.

A performance or leave fi all a dem.

A just heard a Supreme Court judge went to Hotel and had to be turned away because the hotel wouldn't accept her on the Ministry of Justice account. It come like a joke, the story in the gleaner.

Mo

It look like seh labourite aggo win, so betta start sharpen yuh axe fi Bruce. If him mek a misstep, count on me to be toe to toe with you bunning fyah pon him.

Jamaica starting from 10 steps back from where we should have been (due mainly to the current crew, make no mistake). No more time to ********************foot around. We naah go tek no almshouse from nuhbaddy. Dem betta bring dem A game.

The one thing I can already critque Bruce dem for is the fact that they need to realize that crime and violence is largely a rebellious protest act. There is no real sense of justice for the likkle man in Jamaica. That is where I would put most emphasis...on creating a just society. I dont mean socialist handouts, I mean JUSTICE for all...equality in front of the law. No matter who yuh bi, the rule of law applies to yuh. The so called "small" man must KNOW that when he is right, the law back him unconditionally. In that case, there is no subconscious need to lash out at society.

Fix di courthouse dem. Teach police real detective work and protect witnesses and informers. All informer fi LIVE!!!
                    It appears the JLP will be and always has been held to a higher standard..

Can you imagine a JLP Govt holding on to power for 18 years producing comparitively no real growth, accelerated Debt, increased crime, scandal after scandal..

1 Hurricane and only 5% growth.. get to stepping..

Jackass seh...

It appears the JLP will be and always has been held to a higher standard..

Can you imagine a JLP Govt holding on to power for 18 years producing comparitively no real growth, accelerated Debt, increased crime, scandal after scandal..

1 Hurricane and only 5% growth.. get to stepping..

Jackass seh...
                      Agreed but, PJ spoil it for the rest. Such is life.
                      No 2nd chance, no backsies.

Agreed but, PJ spoil it for the rest. Such is life.
                        No 2nd chance, no backsies.
                        Actually Jamaica has always been PNP country since leaders started to get Profound (See Manley) fighting for the 'Black Man'

Lee Kwan Yew would not have stood a chance here..

"The accepted wisdom of development economists at the time was that American multinational corporations were exploiters of cheap labour,land and raw materials. This "dependency school" of economists argued that MNCs continued the colonial pattern of expliotation.......Third world leaders believed this theory of neocolonialist exploitation, but I was not impressed. We had a real life problem to solve and could not afford to be conscribed by any theory or dogma"

'I have seen the enemy and it is us..'

5% growth possible!

Yes, it is!

When your potential is largely untapped it is relatively easy to increase growth 5% - 10% in the near term. As the developments and improvements...that using up...maximising of more potential %age increases will become harder and harder to *improve on and or maintain.

...but, as we stand now; WE ARE POISED FOR TAKE OFF!

*The flip side is as th 'culture of continuously improving growth' both in extracting more and more out of existing organisations/entities/businesses and the drive to introduce new organisations/entities/businesses and the search for innovative ways to expand...the entire process takes on a life of its own and 'motors' along.

Perhaps, it matters not to our development which party comes out ahead in the next national elections? We are poised for explosive growth and the party that gains the confidence of the Jamaican people should ride a wave of unprecedented growth - will it be for the JLP 18+ years in power or for the PNP an additional 18+ years at the helm?

Time...oooooh Time will tell....???

--------

Latest piece of good news that points the way?

Observer EDITORIAL

Welcome, Harmony Cove

Thursday, May 17, 2007

We welcome the announcement made yesterday by Mr Christopher Anand, the managing director of Tavistock Group, that construction on the first phase of Harmony Cove should begin in another 24 months at the most.

We are even more pleased that this planned upscale resort city will provide thousands of jobs, the majority of which, we expect, will be filled by Jamaicans, both in the construction and post-building phases.

The project, we are told, will, on completion, include a 2,500-room boutique hotel, a mega yacht marina, two golf courses, attractions, vacation homes, shops, restaurants and gaming facilities on 2,200 acres of prime beach front land in Trelawny on Jamaica's north coast.

Resort developments of the size and elegance of a Harmony Cove exist solely for the very rich - travellers with very discriminating tastes who are more than willing to pay big money for service of the highest quality.
                          And Mr Anand, in his presentation yesterday at the American Chamber of Commerce of Jamaica Speaker's Forum, made it very clear that that is the market that he and his partners are in this business to attract.
                          "So for the billionaire with his mega yacht who wants to spend US$10,000 a night, we will have that," Mr Anand said.

Ironically, it was in that luxury end of the market that Jamaica made its name as a tourist destination decades ago. And while we have managed to maintain some of the elegant resorts that still attract a number of the world's more affluent travellers - Tryall, Round Hill, Half Moon, Royal Plantation, Jamaica Inn and the Ritz Carlton come easily to mind - we believe that the traffic could be heavier.

This US$2 billion investment by the Tavistock Group and the Government of Jamaica is, therefore, an encouraging statement of confidence in Jamaica's lure as a destination for the rich.

We expect, therefore, that the Government will do even more to create the kind of environment - both social and economic - to attract more of this kind of investment in the country.

For that, as we all know, will provide many more Jamaicans with jobs and will ultimately result in a reduction of crime that is not only threatening the survival of our tourism industry, but scaring the living daylights out of our very own people.

We expect as well that Mr Anand and his Tavistock partners will observe proper environmental and industrial relations practices as they construct this resort city. For while we welcome their investment, we cannot sanction any behaviour that will harm Jamaica and Jamaicans.
                          Last edited by Karl; May 17, 2007, 07:31 AM.

Yes, it is!

When your potential is largely untapped it is relatively easy to increase growth 5% - 10% in the near term. As the developments and improvements...that using up...maximising of more potential %age increases will become harder and harder to *improve on and or maintain.

...but, as we stand now; WE ARE POISED FOR TAKE OFF!

*The flip side is as th 'culture of continuously improving growth' both in extracting more and more out of existing organisations/entities/businesses and the drive to introduce new organisations/entities/businesses and the search for innovative ways to expand...the entire process takes on a life of its own and 'motors' along.

Perhaps, it matters not to our development which party comes out ahead in the next national elections? We are poised for explosive growth and the party that gains the confidence of the Jamaican people should ride a wave of unprecedented growth - will it be for the JLP 18+ years in power or for the PNP an additional 18+ years at the helm?

Time...oooooh Time will tell....???

--------

Latest piece of good news that points the way?

Observer EDITORIAL

Welcome, Harmony Cove

Thursday, May 17, 2007

We welcome the announcement made yesterday by Mr Christopher Anand, the managing director of Tavistock Group, that construction on the first phase of Harmony Cove should begin in another 24 months at the most.

We are even more pleased that this planned upscale resort city will provide thousands of jobs, the majority of which, we expect, will be filled by Jamaicans, both in the construction and post-building phases.

The project, we are told, will, on completion, include a 2,500-room boutique hotel, a mega yacht marina, two golf courses, attractions, vacation homes, shops, restaurants and gaming facilities on 2,200 acres of prime beach front land in Trelawny on Jamaica's north coast.

Resort developments of the size and elegance of a Harmony Cove exist solely for the very rich - travellers with very discriminating tastes who are more than willing to pay big money for service of the highest quality.
                            And Mr Anand, in his presentation yesterday at the American Chamber of Commerce of Jamaica Speaker's Forum, made it very clear that that is the market that he and his partners are in this business to attract.
                            "So for the billionaire with his mega yacht who wants to spend US$10,000 a night, we will have that," Mr Anand said.

Ironically, it was in that luxury end of the market that Jamaica made its name as a tourist destination decades ago. And while we have managed to maintain some of the elegant resorts that still attract a number of the world's more affluent travellers - Tryall, Round Hill, Half Moon, Royal Plantation, Jamaica Inn and the Ritz Carlton come easily to mind - we believe that the traffic could be heavier.

This US$2 billion investment by the Tavistock Group and the Government of Jamaica is, therefore, an encouraging statement of confidence in Jamaica's lure as a destination for the rich.

We expect, therefore, that the Government will do even more to create the kind of environment - both social and economic - to attract more of this kind of investment in the country.

For that, as we all know, will provide many more Jamaicans with jobs and will ultimately result in a reduction of crime that is not only threatening the survival of our tourism industry, but scaring the living daylights out of our very own people.

We expect as well that Mr Anand and his Tavistock partners will observe proper environmental and industrial relations practices as they construct this resort city. For while we welcome their investment, we cannot sanction any behaviour that will harm Jamaica and Jamaicans.
                            You were doing fairly well until this:

'Perhaps, it matters not to our development which party comes out ahead in the next national elections?'

As the past 18 years have demontrated with no ambiguity it actually matters quite a bit which party is running tings. We were 'Poised for Growth', 'Ready to take-off' before the 2002 elections.. what happened ?? We were promised 6% Growth in the 1997 Campaign.. What Happen ?

You PNP public relations guys are so predictable..

They should make a movie.. 'Jamaica Interuppted'

The PNP is a schizophrenic, lost entity, swinging from one extreme to the other..

First them is this:

'The accepted wisdom of development economists at the time was that American multinational corporations were exploiters of cheap labour,land and raw materials. This "dependency school" of economists argued that MNCs continued the colonial pattern of expliotation.......Third world leaders believed this theory of neocolonialist exploitation,'

Now dem is in bed with the likes of Mirant, Marubeni, Trafigura and God knows who else..

From one extreme to the other with clearly no clue of where them going, what them stand for (other than themselves)... operating like a simple cell organism reacting to proximity of stimulation..

It matters quite a bit Karl which party wins elections.. your statement to the contrary is another GEM.. I am trying to imagine the danger you would present if you had some significant forum to express your 'reasonings'.. you would make a good PNP Candidate actually, the more I think about it.. Full of Grand visions, Glass is 1/2 Full, persecution complex and not the slightest clue or discipline to get from Point A to Point B without losing direction and control and crashing several times along the way, announcing the 'benefits' of each collision.. 'At least we proved the Air Bags work', 'We now can get a new car', 'Our collision experience makes us better drivers..', 'Insurance Company can make more money now..'

You were doing fairly well until this:

'Perhaps, it matters not to our development which party comes out ahead in the next national elections?'

As the past 18 years have demontrated with no ambiguity it actually matters quite a bit which party is running tings. We were 'Poised for Growth', 'Ready to take-off' before the 2002 elections.. what happened ?? We were promised 6% Growth in the 1997 Campaign.. What Happen ?

You PNP public relations guys are so predictable..

They should make a movie.. 'Jamaica Interuppted'

The PNP is a schizophrenic, lost entity, swinging from one extreme to the other..

First them is this:

'The accepted wisdom of development economists at the time was that American multinational corporations were exploiters of cheap labour,land and raw materials. This "dependency school" of economists argued that MNCs continued the colonial pattern of expliotation.......Third world leaders believed this theory of neocolonialist exploitation,'

Now dem is in bed with the likes of Mirant, Marubeni, Trafigura and God knows who else..

From one extreme to the other with clearly no clue of where them going, what them stand for (other than themselves)... operating like a simple cell organism reacting to proximity of stimulation..

It matters quite a bit Karl which party wins elections.. your statement to the contrary is another GEM.. I am trying to imagine the danger you would present if you had some significant forum to express your 'reasonings'.. you would make a good PNP Candidate actually, the more I think about it.. Full of Grand visions, Glass is 1/2 Full, persecution complex and not the slightest clue or discipline to get from Point A to Point B without losing direction and control and crashing several times along the way, announcing the 'benefits' of each collision.. 'At least we proved the Air Bags work', 'We now can get a new car', 'Our collision experience makes us better drivers..', 'Insurance Company can make more money now..'
                              The statement?

Let me remind you -

Karl - 17 May, 2007
                              As we all can see once more you have taken what I said, given it your meaning...twisted it to your suit and then arrived at a conclusion using your twisted version as fact!

You are amazing!