• Cornation market. Way to go

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...Dream_19236504

An interesting idea but we have much bigger fish fi fry than that. Number one fish is Port Royal, number two is Titchfield peninsula, number three is Black River, number four is Lucea, number five is Port Morant, number six is Goat island/south hellshire/Portland night, number fifty is Coronation market, but I understand why he would want that, his real estate value and investment in downtown would really increase tremendously if downtown Kingston could really change. Interesting thought nonetheless.

yeah but Cornation market is less expensive that any one of these. If they have security and sanitary and people feel free to walk. If you go Birmingham UK and see the "Bull Ring" market, I think of a similar thing. It also gives farmers and other rural people who traditionally sell a chance to upgrade their income three fold.

It would take a fariner to have this vision about Coronation Market that could even make it to a newspaper.

This vision ain't new. Well, not to me. The whole market thing in Jamaica must be 200 years old or more. From the farm on the hillside to how goods are brought to market to the market itself.

Black people must begin to realise that dangerous and dutty living is not our lot. We can do better! We must do better!

Agree. Being where Coronation market is, if it can be the start of a revitalized Downtown Kingston as a cultural center, the overall potential is HUGE. It would have to be a large investor like a Digicel to get the ball rolling though.

From the first time I visited the French Quarter in New Orleans and saw the street musicians, bars and restaurants loaded with tourists I saw Kingston tourism in a vision. .

If I had made you last sentence. ...you an yuh fren dem would lynch mi.

Jamaica still remains a very good wasted potential investment.

This forum could be used as a case study in how we have perfected disunity. BIG EGO rule !!!

why not, try it. we can do some of what you mention in parallel..

Yeah but the bottom line is doing something that is sustainable, which for me means it pays for itself over time, clear path to a ROI. Coronation market project is a "nice" thought but not sustainable, all the others I mentioned are sustainable over long run and potentially can have an excellent rate of return for a long time. Spanish town would be in my top ten but that is expensive and the logistics don't work so good either, ROI long and rate of return weak.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  Yeah but the bottom line is doing something that is sustainable, which for me means it pays for itself over time, clear path to a ROI. Coronation market project is a "nice" thought but not sustainable, all the others I mentioned are sustainable over long run and potentially can have an excellent rate of return for a long time. Spanish town would be in my top ten but that is expensive and the logistics don't work so good either, ROI long and rate of return weak.
                  Since I don't know what the development plan & the execution model is for Coronation Market and the downtown zone...I cannot make the proclamation you boldly declare. Perhaps you have info I don't

What I do know is O'Brien has a stellar record with his investments, has a good appetite for risk...and is clearly brilliant at risk/reward analysis and project execution

With these declarations it seems that your record & judgment may be superior though

What I like about it is, it create the entrepreneurial spirit and is beneficial to a lot of people. This is the kind of thing government should be doing, but if you notice it is been considered by Digicel foundation.

This kind of investment is more about the small entrepreneurs benefitting rather than ROI from a huge business investor. What may realize is Digicel recognize is that if poor people have more income their business will benefit.

What I like about it is, it create the entrepreneurial spirit and is beneficial to a lot of people. This is the kind of thing government should be doing, but if you notice it is been considered by Digicel foundation.

This kind of investment is more about the small entrepreneurs benefitting rather than ROI from a huge business investor. What may realize is Digicel recognize is that if poor people have more income their business will benefit.
                      So Johnny...you believe the Government should be funding these types of commercial developments?

I thought you JLP types were big believers in in private sector led development

Mah bad...now I see why you turn up your nose at investment opportunities ... the climate ongly good fi guvvament

"I was at a dinner last night and somebody said that we needed a plan for downtown Kingston and he was right.
                        "The private sector has a role to play, but from the investor point of view you have got to get your private sector men and women, entrepreneurs, engaged now, as the upswing in the economy happens," said the city of Dublin and Ireland's richest native-born citizen."

In any progressive country that is the basic role of government to help plan and engage the different sector. Now you know why Jamaica is never progressive. Government sits and give their role to others. they have no idea how to make investment and entrepreneurship easy and wonder why people don't invest.

What is a JLP type. on second thought keep it to yoursell.

LOL!!!

"I was at a dinner last night and somebody said that we needed a plan for downtown Kingston and he was right.
                          "The private sector has a role to play, but from the investor point of view you have got to get your private sector men and women, entrepreneurs, engaged now, as the upswing in the economy happens," said the city of Dublin and Ireland's richest native-born citizen."
                          So Johnny...you understand from what you quoted that this supports your opinion that the redevelopment should best be done by GOVERNMENT?????

We all know government has an indispensable nurturing role to play in creating the right "investment climate"...but Johnny yuh nuh serious...or are you Johnny??????

Fun n Joke aside... It would be great to see trinket sellers, rent-a-dreads & butlers @ Curry hawking services to fat tourists...Dats change I can believe in Johnny
                          Last edited by Don1; November 1, 2015, 09:36 PM.

Ha-ha good one Donman, I wish I could walk in those shoes. He just made a nice investment on the waterfront, but that investment would go through the roof if Kingston downtown really became a place to go for all locals and could actually attract a stream of tourists. Now kph is just north of Coronation market a few blocks in between then I think there is a police station south of that, then the old train terminal, a bus terminal and then the craft market, so bottom line between those things that is a lot of area to cover, security costs would be high and the base customers from a higher perspective cannot really pay a whole lot more rent for stalls unless there is a whole lot more demand.

Thus to make it somewhat more attractive to all you could do a food court in the center and maybe hope that you could bring in a new stream of higher paying vendors this way, but the bottom line is the mix will not change significantly, we are talking about an overall client base of probably 2000 plus vendors, unless the intent is to push them out and create a whole new dynamic and I don't think that's what he is saying.

So the key points are security, location is not really attractive and client base does not really have deep pockets so we get back to the Don1 question i always ask yiu again and again, how do you pay for it??? If Mr Irishman waan fi pay fi it then that is cool, but I get a feeling he is not going to do that.

I think the craft market being on the water, already on the stretch is probably his real target and this may be a way to get some other chickens clucking towards a waterside project, thinking that is their idea and that is probably his real objective.

Without government planning nothing is possible. That is the role of government and then involve the different stakeholders. If you fail to understand that then you will always be burning fire and call names that you are good at because only a few people will take those chances. Development follow planning, not rum talk and grand announcements.

Go and read the role of government whether is a free, mixed or planned economy. You will see the role of government and the importance of polices.