• As I was saying...Legalised Prostitution

Lazie picture this:

Rich tourist (preferably American) sitting around a blackjack/poker table in a fancy casino (in Jamaica) smoking a nicely professionally rolled Jamaican-made ganja cigar, with high-paid, voluptuous, nicely but tightlydressedLady of the Night by his side. He is living out his fantasy and he's on vacation. He easily drops US$5000 for his night of entertainment, not to mention how much he spends for his plane fare on Air Jamaica and his stay at BoJangle Casino. I am being serious.

I have smoked weed before in my youth, but I am not a weed smoker. However, I have nothing against it as I think it's no worse than anything else. Smoking in general is bad for your health. What we (Jamaicans) need to do is to tighten our points of entry and exits (our borders). It should remain illegal to export ganja, but legal to grow distibute and smoke/use it within our shores.

Prostitution in like cockroaches and will always be around, so why not legalise it and improve the working conditions for the workers. There should be a Red Light District in say St. Thomas (our poorest parish). The spinoffs from the influx of patrons will be tremendous to the localeconomy.

Casino gambling ......that's a no-brainer. The only thing they should be contemplating is where to put them. I think they should probably look to the south coast. They should separate casino-specific hotels from those geared towards a sun, sand and sea vacations.

Call For Order - Negril Stakeholders Want Prostitution Regularised

Published:Wednesday | March 30, 2016 | 12:00 AMOkoye Henry
    Previous
    Next

Paul Clarke
    Christine Cohen

Western Bureau:

While stopping short of calling for the establishment of a red-light district in the resort town, some business stakeholders in Negril, Westmoreland, want to see prostitution decriminalised and regulated in order to create safer conditions for sex workers and their clients.

Participating in a recent Gleaner forum on job creation, investment and growth in Negril, the stakeholders admitted that despite being illegal, male and female prostitution has always been part of the fabric of the town, albeit a big contributor to social disorder.

"Prostitutes and rent-a-dreads are quite numerous here in Negril," said Christine Cohen, owner of the Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel.

"Rent-a-dreads have a big underground business. There are already websites where you can rent a dread. You can already have everything set up before you even hit the airport. Within 60 minutes, your arrangement is made."

It is for that reason why Cohen and other stakeholders, including Lee Issa, the president of the Negril Chamber of Commerce (NCC), believed it would best serve the town by having the industry legalised, so it could be regulated to address safety concerns.

"I think you can have some sort of coexistence, but it would have to be confined, controlled and managed, because we are not going to get rid of it," said Issa, who is chairman of Couples Resorts. "If regularised, it would in some way allow for the girls to be checked health-wise."

However, as things are from a health perspective, Negril is far from ready to offer the type of health care that a regulated sex trade would require.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...on-regularised
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Call For Order - Negril Stakeholders Want Prostitution Regularised

Published:Wednesday | March 30, 2016 | 12:00 AMOkoye Henry
    Previous
    Next

Paul Clarke
    Christine Cohen

Western Bureau:

While stopping short of calling for the establishment of a red-light district in the resort town, some business stakeholders in Negril, Westmoreland, want to see prostitution decriminalised and regulated in order to create safer conditions for sex workers and their clients.

Participating in a recent Gleaner forum on job creation, investment and growth in Negril, the stakeholders admitted that despite being illegal, male and female prostitution has always been part of the fabric of the town, albeit a big contributor to social disorder.

"Prostitutes and rent-a-dreads are quite numerous here in Negril," said Christine Cohen, owner of the Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel.

"Rent-a-dreads have a big underground business. There are already websites where you can rent a dread. You can already have everything set up before you even hit the airport. Within 60 minutes, your arrangement is made."

It is for that reason why Cohen and other stakeholders, including Lee Issa, the president of the Negril Chamber of Commerce (NCC), believed it would best serve the town by having the industry legalised, so it could be regulated to address safety concerns.

"I think you can have some sort of coexistence, but it would have to be confined, controlled and managed, because we are not going to get rid of it," said Issa, who is chairman of Couples Resorts. "If regularised, it would in some way allow for the girls to be checked health-wise."

However, as things are from a health perspective, Negril is far from ready to offer the type of health care that a regulated sex trade would require.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...on-regularised
    Why not??

This is a vital part of the tourism SERVICE industry

Riggle mi dis... What's the ongly difference between our Butlers and our Rent-a-Dreads????

* One serves Fat Tourists

* The other services Phat Tourists

Gwaaan Servants!!!!!!!!!!

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

woi yoi

If schools are a place of instructions..,how do we get prostitution into the curriculum?
          Do not remove the shame,that is the root causeof the moral decadence that has plagued our society.

Cant support diss , prostitution ting.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

If schools are a place of instructions..,how do we get prostitution into the curriculum?
              Yep the sex trade is a key tourism driver.... maybe 5-10% of the sector

Aks Benson if dat would be part of his HS Tourism curriculum

Why not??

This is a vital part of the tourism SERVICE industry

Riggle mi dis... What's the ongly difference between our Butlers and our Rent-a-Dreads????

* One serves Fat Tourists

* The other services Phat Tourists

Gwaaan Servants!!!!!!!!!!
                LOL! mi neva memba dis. Jah know D1...yuh good

Jah know Jangle yuh brillianter

This is conceivable. You just have not demonstrated it within your 18,000+ posts here