• The future of energy is now

Smarter Power

The Jamaica Public Service Company (JPS) is already leading in this regard. With its IPP (independent power producers) partners, this year alone JPS added over 90MW of renewable energy to its grid. In another few weeks, 120MW of JPS’ generation will move from oil, and will be powered by the cleaner and less price-volatile natural gas.

We are already in discussion with several battery providers and have had preliminary discussions with makers of electric cars.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...y-is-now_69742
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Perspectives on dreaming and progress

Smarter Power

The Jamaica Public Service Company (JPS) is already leading in this regard. With its IPP (independent power producers) partners, this year alone JPS added over 90MW of renewable energy to its grid. In another few weeks, 120MW of JPS’ generation will move from oil, and will be powered by the cleaner and less price-volatile natural gas.

We are already in discussion with several battery providers and have had preliminary discussions with makers of electric cars.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...y-is-now_69742
    Teachable Moments Vol CXV11

It's interesting that ALL the emerging energy solutions presented are technology based. In fact ALL progress in this century will have a technology component. That's why mastering technology should be an imperative for Black people....IF we wish to progress. It's really not complicated.

Many intuitively know this to be true...yet somehow fail to apply this truth to their own people. They appear very comfortable with our abysmal condition

Perhaps it's some kind of lack of confidence..or self-hate. Fanon traces this phenomenon to the European White Supremacy ideology we're infected with. Their thinking: So if Europeans are superior..Blacks are congenitally inferior...and deserve to remain so.

So to such people servitude is the deserved lot in life of most Black folks

The guy who wrote the article is now dreaming about JA and electric cars. This stuff is not within the reach of our low value servant economy now. It won't be until someone first imagines it to be so (i.e. dreams)...develops a plan, gathers human & material resources....then executes.

So progress ALWAYS STARTS with dreaming....or what techies call ideation

Interestingly enough....D1 was recently "accused" of "dreaming" of a different economic model for JA by Johnny....with an assist from Babylon-infatuated HL.
    This "dream" would be a JA economy with a big, value-adding tech component. Obviously this would require huge labor investments in training & productivity upgrades...over say 20-30 years. So the sooner we start...the better.

This "accusation" of dreaming was leveled at D1 despite the demonstrated fact that some of the dreams in question have already been converted to bankable plans...and then solid achievements
    Johnny is apparently a vociferous advocate for a JA economy dominated by a low level service industry.....now and into the future. That's his prerogative

Johnny's backwardness is but a small example of the specious thinking which retards progress in JA. But mout & Rum Bar mek fi yap .....suh evvyting kriss

Dream on Jamaicans....doan tap atall. But memba dat execution is the most important follow up to dreams
    Last edited by Don1; August 8, 2016, 02:33 PM.

Check out this sewing robot:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAa7DSY65Qs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BA96-WX-oXc

No brainless job is safe...

Check out this sewing robot:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAa7DSY65Qs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BA96-WX-oXc

No brainless job is safe...
        Noice...dats a new one fi mi...but it mek sense. Figget bout dat 807-type wuk.
        It seh "bringing manufacturing back to the USA". Manufacturing may return...but not many jobs will return wid it when robots literally run di cut

But mind how yuh describe some jobs as brainless...Johnny nuh like dem description deh. It wuss dan di "low level servant" ting im get vex bout

Yes the jobs will be much fewer and will mostly require some technical knowledge to maintain the equipment. You might have one or two low skilled people to reboot a machine here and there when the fabric jam up but thats it.

I really wonder how this will all turn out in the end. It seems to me like we could either end up in a situation where innovation creates sufficient new industries and occupations (though they will almost certainly be mostly knowledge based) or we could end up with anarchy if something is not done to make life worth living for the unemployed masses. I am for the most part an optimist about it but I don't think public policy is responding nearly fast enough to address these changes, even in the highly industrialised world.

Car assembly line then:

Car assembly line now:

Yes the jobs will be much fewer and will mostly require some technical knowledge to maintain the equipment. You might have one or two low skilled people to reboot a machine here and there when the fabric jam up but thats it.

I really wonder how this will all turn out in the end. It seems to me like we could either end up in a situation where innovation creates sufficient new industries and occupations (though they will almost certainly be mostly knowledge based) or we could end up with anarchy if something is not done to make life worth living for the unemployed masses. I am for the most part an optimist about it but I don't think public policy is responding nearly fast enough to address these changes, even in the highly industrialised world.

Car assembly line then:

Car assembly line now:

LOL...Public policy in industrialized economies hasn't caught up to tech shifts...it's true. It's too fast for bureaucrats Robots run di cut...wi know dat. But where it stops...who knows??

Meanwhile in servant economies like JA...we either don't even see what the obvious technological trend is OR don't feel we should partake in it as a producer of solutions. Producing modern, valuable stuff is for "other people"...not Black people

We merely try to buy the finished products...i.e. make others rich and us poorer.

Driving around in a Bimmer/Benz/Tesla etc, flashing the latest Apple products or flat scream TV...Dem ting deh mek wi feel important. Like tings really ah gwaan fi wi
            Last edited by Don1; August 8, 2016, 04:45 PM.

Yuh have Trump-like traits..

Hmm.. Suh yuh smarter dan di average Fish

As I said...