2016, The last of the Good ole Days
Based on number five I have scared stiff. There were some states that were trying to pass a law to make it a crime to record the police ... I anticipate this will get more support now.
Well, dem nuh fi complain. Was looking at the Florida numbers and more dems voted for Trump than Repugnants that voted for Clinton. Stop and Frisk going nationwide with AG Gulliani.Originally posted by Jangle View Post3 million Democrats did not vote. Hillary only had 80% of black support and 67% of Hispanics and Latinos. Those numbers are startling.
Leave a comment:
Lots of overreaction going on, but understandably so.
We did not wake up today in a post-apocalyptic world. Trump did not wake up as the Emperor .
Predictions:
1) Obamacare/ACA as a law is history. Sad to say it was never a great success anyway. Good idea, poor execution. I expect substantial parts of it to be retained in whatever replaces it. No politician is going to take away millions of peoples medical insurance, just so. Trump is an ******* but he is not a fool.
2) There will be no reversal of Roe vs Wade, nor any reversal of all the new LGBT related laws and rights. LGBT rights will likely be Obamas most lasting legacy.
3) Illegal immigrants have a problem, the laws will be tougher. However there will be no mass deportation of millions of illegals simply because it is impossible to do so.
4) Fossil fuel production will certainly be on the rise in the USA. The environment will suffer but gas prices won't, in fact they may even benefit. Renewable energy industries will lose subsidies which is a shame as I think they are on the verge of competing.
5) Black lives Matter and other "radical" civil rights movements will be under pressure. Police will feel more emboldened to shoot minorities. Immigrant groups, legal and illegal, will feel less welcome. This is probably my greatest fear under a Trump presidency and a Guiliani Attorney generals office.
6) The economy is a tossup, it depends on how serious Trump is about NAFTA and TPP. He said he wants them gone but his Republican foes and their lobbyists dont' That is a battle to be fought as part of the GOP civil war.
7) Democrats have a lot of soul searching to do. They picked a horrible candidate for this cycle, probably one of the few who could have lost to Trump. As a whole they may be a less corrupt than the Republicans but not by much. Both are slaves to Wall Street and the lobbyists. They need to get over their attitude of superiority and figure out why this happened. Race and prejudice played a part but you don't go from a nation that elects a black man with a muslim name and who still is very popular, to a nation of majority racists in 4 years. That makes no sense. Other factors are at play and they need to look at them.
I am disappointed but not particularly scared.Last edited by Islandman; November 9, 2016, 01:30 PM.
Leave a comment:
3 million Democrats did not vote. Hillary only had 80% of black support and 67% of Hispanics and Latinos. Those numbers are startling.
Leave a comment:
Jangle, many who benefited from the ACA either sat on their asses at home or switched to Trump. They get what they deserve. Wait.Originally posted by Jangle View PostI'm so depressed this morning. To imagine a Trump presidency for the next 4 years is something that my conscious, logical mind is having difficulty accepting. After seeing the financial markets tanking last night, I was transported right back to February 2007 when the Housing market fell off the cliff. I work in the mortgage industry and feel the direct effects of market volatility. The Republicans now has control over the 3 arms of the US government. They fought hard to roll back the Dodd/Frank Act. Tough as the Act was, it brought stability and accountability to the Wild Wild West that was the Housing and the Banking markets in the early 2000's.
The rollback of Obamacare will see the greedy insurance companies dropping subscribers with pre-existing conditions. Fellas, if you weren't using boots before, you'd better start now. You may not be able to get your HIV medication after your insurance company drops you and with the reversal of Wade vs Roe, your little side chick can't throw away the belly after they make abortions illegal.
Enjoy the time we have with our friends who are here illegally. We all know at least two Jamaicans who are not straight. This morning I woke up my little 7 year old to get ready for school. I told her that Donald Trump was going to be our new president, and she began to list four of her classmates who he was going to send back to their country of birth, including one Mexican. She then hugged me. My heart broke. I voted for them.
Say goodbye to low gas prices and hello to more fossil fuel production. Fracking turn up. I'm "glad" that I don't live in Oklahoma... oh, they had two earthquakes this week. Trump winning may do much more damage than any earthquake to that state.
Hold on to your memories of THE G.O.A.T. - President Barrack Obama. We can wistfully tell our grandchildren of a better time when a black man became the President of the United States of America. Now we will have our own stories to tell. The Civil Rights Movement will be pushed back into our memories, abstractly like slavery.
Things that makes you go Hmmmm. Trump won in the battleground states by just enough of a margin that won't trigger an automatic recount.
Leave a comment:
2016, The last of the Good ole Days
I'm so depressed this morning. To imagine a Trump presidency for the next 4 years is something that my conscious, logical mind is having difficulty accepting. After seeing the financial markets tanking last night, I was transported right back to February 2007 when the Housing market fell off the cliff. I work in the mortgage industry and feel the direct effects of market volatility. The Republicans now has control over the 3 arms of the US government. They fought hard to roll back the Dodd/Frank Act. Tough as the Act was, it brought stability and accountability to the Wild Wild West that was the Housing and the Banking markets in the early 2000's.
The rollback of Obamacare will see the greedy insurance companies dropping subscribers with pre-existing conditions. Fellas, if you weren't using boots before, you'd better start now. You may not be able to get your HIV medication after your insurance company drops you and with the reversal of Wade vs Roe, your little side chick can't throw away the belly after they make abortions illegal.
Enjoy the time we have with our friends who are here illegally. We all know at least two Jamaicans who are not straight. This morning I woke up my little 7 year old to get ready for school. I told her that Donald Trump was going to be our new president, and she began to list four of her classmates who he was going to send back to their country of birth, including one Mexican. She then hugged me. My heart broke. I voted for them.
Say goodbye to low gas prices and hello to more fossil fuel production. Fracking turn up. I'm "glad" that I don't live in Oklahoma... oh, they had two earthquakes this week. Trump winning may do much more damage than any earthquake to that state.
Hold on to your memories of THE G.O.A.T. - President Barrack Obama. We can wistfully tell our grandchildren of a better time when a black man became the President of the United States of America. Now we will have our own stories to tell. The Civil Rights Movement will be pushed back into our memories, abstractly like slavery.
Things that makes you go Hmmmm. Trump won in the battleground states by just enough of a margin that won't trigger an automatic recount.Tags: None
Leave a comment: