• Educ system is not working...

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entr...b064ca3c15121b

If Babylon England is far behind.. Whither Jamaica???

When it comes to education, Britain is falling behind. While others look to the future, we seem stuck in the past. The ways in which we teach are outdated, but so too is our subject matter and the way that we define success or failure in an academic context. Something needs to change.
    Clearly Babylon needs to rewire its education. Jamaica is 10X as backward...BUT...Help is on di wayyy TOOT!! TOOT!!!
    It’s a major problem that in Britain, it’s still all about grades. Now, as forward-looking countries are directing their education systems towards the Fourth Industrial Revolution and how to manage AI, changing demographics, environmental sustainability and many other global challenges, our main educational focus is managing the transition to the new GCSE grades: moving from A to H to 0 to 9.
    So when D1 rubbishes the ignorant YAPPIN about "ranking schools" based on BACKWARD rote learning & standardized tests...are y'all beginning to overstand the issue??

Or is the backward thinking still dominant (mi naw talk yuh Willi)

But JA pls stand by...Help is on di wayyy TOOT!! TOOT!!

How many hundreds of thousands––indeed millions––of young people has the system let down, and how many billions has it cost them and the country? How much wasted potential have we left untapped and how many young lives have we sabotaged, all for the sake of grades and league tables? In the years to come, the league table legacy will be seen as a betrayal of young people's life chances and a misuse of the country's finances.
    So just who Flop wi Yutes?? Ans: ALL the Educated Nincompoops promoting BACKWARD education models... They still exist with 1970s thinking in this Century 21

And we need to do this now more than ever. Why? Because a new industrial-technological revolution has arrived. This time, it will be more powerful than anything that we’ve had before
    So who and what programs in Jamaica will prepare our yutes for

* The 4th Industrial Revolution? AKA Industry 4.0

* The DOMINANCE of Robotics, Artificial Intelligence

* Software coding becoming akin to 21st Century Literacy

To do that, however, we need policymakers and influencers to take notice. Why are they not facing up to the problems we face? Do they understand the problems? The data clearly shows that the current system isn't working (poor performance in international literacy and numeracy rankings, low productivity, high relative youth unemployment and underemployment, to name a few issues). Maybe if education was more about teaching students how to engage, create and communicate effectively with a team of their peers and less about 'outlining how earthquakes are measured using the Mercalli Scale’, we would serve our young people better.
    Hmmm... Very good point. Just who will lead JA policymakers to the Promised Land of 21st Century-ready education models??????

Don't you just love it when VISION & PREPARATION meet... NEED & OPPORTUNITY?? Project TEAM Works to di UNIVERSE
    Last edited by Don1; December 6, 2017, 05:21 PM.