• Third-place win by the Imagine Cup team from NCU

Did anyone mention this earlier?

'Build your legacy now' -Lee Chin urges graduates to launch into big dreams
    published: Monday | August 13, 2007

Barbara Ellington, Lifestyle Editor

Billionaire businessman Michael Lee Chin is robed by Northern Caribbean University (NCU) president, Dr. Herbert Thompson, at NCU's graduation exercise yesterday. Lee Chin was conferred with an honorary Doctor of Laws. - Ian Allen/Staff Photographer
    "Now is the best time to start thinking about the legacy you are going to leave behind and build the best reputation, because that will be your passport for life."
    So urged National Commercial Bank Chairman Michael Lee Chin in a motivational address to the graduates of Northern Caribbean University (NCU) in Mandeville yesterday. Lee Chin also received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the university.
    The prevailing showers did not prevent thousands from converging on the central Jamaica hillside campus for a ceremony marked by pomp and ceremony. And theguest speaker's family members came out in droves to witness the latest honour bestowed on their kin.
    But inasmuch as the NCU family was still basking in the euphoria of the third-place win by the Imagine Cup team that had returned from Seoul, South Korea, earlier in the day, they hung on to Lee Chin's every word. And the Jamaican billionaire fed their hunger amid cheers and nods of assent from his audience.
    Walk the talk
    "In building a good reputation," he continued, "you must state clearly what you stand for, demonstrate consistent behaviour and walk the talk every day." Assuring the graduates that they had control of their behaviour, he urged them to aspire to greatness by having big dreams and maintaining an enduring value system.
    In his technology-aided report to the gathering, university president Dr. Herbert Thompson summarised the period under review as "a good year". These include the 100th anniversary; accreditation of several more undergraduate and graduate degrees; expansion of departments and sports facilities and ongoing construction of a church, seminary and the nursing school. The university's television station also began broadcasting live at the weekend, and the radio station is about to receive a licence to broadcast nationally.

They have been invited to the US and all expenses will be paid by Microsoft. How about that.

And they will probably all be offered jobs in the US. Nothing wrong with that, but hopefully they will continue to look for solutions to our problems here at home.

HL, I guess I missed it, but where did the USA team finish in the competition?

Thanks in advance!

Is it true that he's the JLP's financier????

I don't know, but it would seem like. The JLP has been running what appears to be back-to-back ads! Dem spending money like crazy! Don't know what will happen if dem doan win after all a dat!

The election campaigning all seem a waste of resources in a country where allocation of resources is a problem and so many people are on the breadline. Maybe it's time for some serious consideration give to campaign spending. Most of it is just wasted.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                The election campaigning all seem a waste of resources in a country where allocation of resources is a problem and so many people are on the breadline. Maybe it's time for some serious consideration give to campaign spending. Most of it is just wasted.
                Is now you worried bout 'campaign spending' ?

You must have been livid at the 'Run Wid It' fiasco in the last Election..that was public money !

We still have not recovered from that move by Omar and him on TV a debate !

When exactly did the 'disconnect' occur.. because it not eediat a twiddle dem thumbs at these brazen acts...

Not worried at all...there is a lot of money in Jamaica.... ...some clean, some not...some just well-laundered.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                    Not worried at all...there is a lot of money in Jamaica.... ...some clean, some not...some just well-laundered.
                    Clearly... yuh nuh see PNP Caretaker shipping Ganja with Lumber to UK ?

Yuh know what was really funny? Well, let me tell you. Last night dem stop some man in di Mountain View area and a search revealed some guns in a bucket covered by a t-shirt bearing the image of one Bruce Golding.

Shark a talk pon shark! (A so it go?)

Yuh know what was really funny? Well, let me tell you. Last night dem stop some man in di Mountain View area and a search revealed some guns in a bucket covered by a t-shirt bearing the image of one Bruce Golding.

Shark a talk pon shark! (A so it go?)
                        Many in here revere Michael Manley.

You tell me if is so it go...

Then tell me who 'talk' indicates dem would rather it nuh guh suh...

Who sound serious and who sound status quo ?

Speaker A :Separation of influence of Minister on Police operational activity, hard consequences for those 'caught')

Speaker B:"I will setup an office in the Office in the Prime Minister to monitor..."

Sounds like the Cabinet committee them setup to investigate Solutrea with Paulwell on the committee...

Dem brazen baba.