• Fast food mad rush

Fast food mad rush

Sanjae Sterling, STAR Writer

There was a mad rush on several fast food outlets in the Corporate Area yesterday as customers 'stormed' them to get food following the recent passage of Hurricane Dean.

Workers at several of the Kentucky Fried Chicken, Burger King and Tastee outlets were kept busy as patrons sought to relieve their hunger.
    The crowds at some of these were so large that persons had to be asked to wait outside until some of the persons inside were served.

The manager for Kentucky Fried Chicken in Cross Roads told THE STAR that the operations of the restaurants yesterday was similar to what normally happens on a public holiday.

"It was practically Christmas or Grand Market outside there. We had to ask the people to behave in an orderly manner. Some became boisterous outside, they were livid that we weren't opened yesterday, and weren't open on Sunday. Remember our motto is, in crisis last to close first to open," the manager said.

Marlene Dunn, the manager at the Half-Way Tree outlet shared similar sentiments. "Some stores are busier than some, for example in Portmore, but it is busy still. It is business as usual, but everything will go back to normal. We always ensure that everything goes back to normal," she said.
    At Tastee in Cross Roads, a representative said that the turnout was like another "hurricane" while the manager of the Burger King outlet close by said that the business had been 'crazy'.

"It's been crazy, real crazy, just my opinion. You would think they all had an electric stove. We were opened yesterday and it was almost deranged and I'm not exaggerating. I'm just asking that they take time with us because of the hurricane. I foresee pure madness for the upcoming days, especially seeing that it's the month end," she said.

Island Grill in Twin Gates plaza, Constant Spring Road, was not left out of the public's demand, and even when their generator failed it business continued as the restaurant's staff was seen using flashlights to serve patrons in the dark.
    "The generator just went, and we are not about to turn out any of our customers on the street. We are allowing them to have their meals, but we are closed for the evening," the manager for this restaurant explained.

We tun 'Merica?

? den a whey yuh did deh?

"alleviate hunger"?