• Dean third most intense hurricane-AP

Anno Sistah PO sey so, a AP sey so......ha ha ha

Dean the third most intense hurricane
    AP
    Thursday, August 23, 2007

FLORIDA, USA (AP) - Hurricane Dean was the third most intense Atlantic hurricane to make landfall since record-keeping began in the 1850s, based on its central atmospheric pressure, forecasters said.

The pressure in a hurricane's eye is often used to compare storms throughout history because in the past, wind gauges were often damaged or destroyed by powerful hurricanes. Now, technology exists to more accurately measure winds, said Jamie Rhome, a hurricane specialist with the National Hurricane Centre.

"And the damage is caused by the wind, so that's what most people look at," he said.

But pressure also measures strength: the lower the pressure, the greater a hurricane's power to suck in air. A hurricane's winds are blown because higher-pressure air rushes toward the lower-pressure eye to equalise the difference.

Typically, the lower the pressure, the faster the air speeds in. But because of other variables in each storm, a certain pressure does not always correspond to a specific wind speed.

Dean was a top-scale Category 5 storm at landfall Tuesday on Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. Its maximum sustained winds were 165 miles per hour (mph) and gusts reached 200 mph. Just before landfall, a Global Positioning System device dropped from a hurricane hunter aircraft found it had a central pressure of 906 millibars, forecasters said.

The only other storms that hit land with a lower pressure were the 1935 Labour Day hurricane that hit the Florida Keys and Hurricane Gilbert, which hit Cancun, Mexico, in 1988, forecasters said.

Gilbert caused more than 300 deaths in Latin America and the Caribbean. The 1935 hurricane was responsible for more than 400 deaths in the Keys, primarily among World War I veterans working on a highway connecting the island chain to the mainland.

Only three other Category 5 storms have been known to hit land: the 1935 hurricane, Hurricane Camille in 1969 and Hurricane Andrew in 1992. Andrew had top sustained winds of 165 mph at landfall. Andrew was the second most expensive hurricane in US history, after Hurricane Katrina.

Hurricane Wilma is the most intense Atlantic hurricane ever recorded in terms of pressure: It was at 882 millibars when it was in the Caribbean before it weakened ahead of landfall in the Yucatan.

The lowest pressure ever recorded in a tropical cyclone was 870 millibars in Typhoon Tip in the north-west Pacific Ocean in 1979.

So now do you believ me that Gilbert was the Don storm???

You and Karl were running me down. Steeeuuupppss.

Memba mi TOLL yuh. LoL

One thing that Dean had though was the tsunami style surge that did in all the coastal dwellers.

So now do you believ me that Gilbert was the Don storm???

You and Karl were running me down. Steeeuuupppss.

Memba mi TOLL yuh. LoL

One thing that Dean had though was the tsunami style surge that did in all the coastal dwellers.
      Cho Willi, man...Karl?
      Do not think so!

Karl

Mybe I misunderstood you, but I have several posts in the last few days telling you that there was no comparison between the 2 storms!!!

I am not running down nuh 1 upmanship, so if you acknowledge now that Gilbert set the standard, i will leave it at that.

Seriously, I seem to remember discussion on whether or not a State of Public Emergency was necessary or not.

I do not remember getting into a discussion on which storm was stronger. I do not think I would not even try it.

I hope you did not think this

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ead.php?t=8274

was attempting to say a particular storm was stronger or even that one was more destructive than the other?

Seriously, I seem to remember discussion on whether or not a State of Public Emergency was necessary or not.

I do not remember getting into a discussion on which storm was stronger. I do not think I would not even try it.

I hope you did not think this

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ead.php?t=8274

was attempting to say a particular storm was stronger or even that one was more destructive than the other?

How else am I to interpret this from Sickko??

You can sit there and chat phukery about camparing Dean to Ivan and the one in '88..you are going off what you see on TV and in pictures..I have heard too ofetn people all over the island saying dean did more damage that previous hurricanes...