Mi confused! If the 2 boxes nuh count yet,
That is what I accepted. ...and, that is why the statement he attributed to the DOE...statement made by the DOE is a "nonsense statement/funny story.Originally posted by Willi View PostKarl,
Lazie is correct. I did hear the news report that Walker did make that statement and I too was puzzled at first. I think it was his voice too, not just a recap by a reporter.
Then I reconciled it in my mind that the election workers/police votes may be less than the 34 seat margin of victory. If he knows that info, then he may be excused...otherwise its a crazy statement.
Leave a comment:
Which 3
Whicj three JLP MPS are 'farinas?'Originally posted by Lazie View PostSpeculating here. A PM is now in office. There are about 3 seats that may swing back to the PNP after the mag. recount. There are about 3 JLP MPs that the PNP are claiming to be 'farinas'. All I'm saying is that as PM, Bruce has the option to call elections again.
Leave a comment:
Not misunderstanding your post and as I stated, I'm speculating. As of yesterday, Bruce is the PM. A swing of 6 seats means he is automatically no longer PM? Isn't our PM appointed by the GG? And remember, we don't have fixed election dates so why wouldn't Bruce have the power to call an election if there is a seat swing?Originally posted by Sickko View PostBut Lazie...if there is a swing of six seats to the PNP, Bruce wont have an option to call any elections...he wont be PM simple.
So as to make sure you don't mis understand my post, I am not saying I am hoping for that to happen. I am tired of the election campaign process and hope we don't have to go back through this any time sooner than five years.
Leave a comment:
No Shatta, they can call a re election in just that one constituency. Not the entire 60.
Leave a comment:
But Lazie...if there is a swing of six seats to the PNP, Bruce wont have an option to call any elections...he wont be PM simple.
So as to make sure you don't mis understand my post, I am not saying I am hoping for that to happen. I am tired of the election campaign process and hope we don't have to go back through this any time sooner than five years.
Leave a comment:
Jamaica can't afford another elections right now...you know the resources that are eaten up for that? The stress and strain? At best, go with a coalition (if seats are changed) and then go for election next year. Also, there could be crossing of floor.
Leave a comment:
So then Karl and Willi right now would be the best time to pitch business propositions to the Jamaican public(via radio, cable tv, newspaper editorals and and a website with lots of traffic)
Now since its so close and no one have the public mandate and they are both trying to position themselves as defenders of the poor I can "go round dem" and do my best "Super Size me" protest documentary or short stories and "tek it to the people" so dem see how easy it is to get them on their way out of poverty and who do and dont' support children.
I man stop playing with these people now as only badness dem know and respect and since a dat dem want then a dat dem ago get.
Playtime over a full time fi tek it to dem wicked!
Now is the time as dem weak and in a flux so might as well take advantage
I am sure any self respecting politician would appreciate that
respect
Leave a comment:
Re-run in those seats with the problems...not an all-island election!Originally posted by Shatta View PostWait why would they call another election and put the people through all the stress and strains over one seat? Are you guys saying that what happened at this polling station wasn't an isolated incidence?
respect
Yet as Willi suggested and I agreed, there is the possibility that if a tie occurs and a compromise between the parties could not be reached there may be an agreement to dissolve parliament and hold new elections.
It may well be if gridlock occurs with a 33-27 split that Golding does just that as not being able to achieve anything of substance has the real possibility that the electorate blames the party in power...and that party pays at the polls. If the thinking goes that way the JLP may decide to limit the term of the current government - calling snap elections and take a shot at gaining increased majority.
Leave a comment:
Speculating here. A PM is now in office. There are about 3 seats that may swing back to the PNP after the mag. recount. There are about 3 JLP MPs that the PNP are claiming to be 'farinas'. All I'm saying is that as PM, Bruce has the option to call elections again.Originally posted by Shatta View PostWait why would they call another election and put the people through all the stress and strains over one seat? Are you guys saying that what happened at this polling station wasn't an isolated incidence?
respect
Leave a comment:
Wait why would they call another election and put the people through all the stress and strains over one seat? Are you guys saying that what happened at this polling station wasn't an isolated incidence?
respect
Leave a comment:
More -Originally posted by Willi View PostKarl,
Lazie is correct. I did hear the news report that Walker did make that statement and I too was puzzled at first. I think it was his voice too, not just a recap by a reporter.
Then I reconciled it in my mind that the election workers/police votes may be less than the 34 seat margin of victory. If he knows that info, then he may be excused...otherwise its a crazy statement.
Just heard on Nationwide that the Magistrate has refused to count the boxes...based on her stated reasons that the procedure is the boxes have to be counted by others first - i.e. I am assuming those responsible for the preliminary count and or those responsible for the recount.
btw - Are you stating as fact that the 'found' boxes contained election workers/police votes only?
In any case I do not think it was sensible for the DOE...any DOE to declare a winner before all boxes are counted.
Leave a comment:
This thing is sounding more and more like Florida and Ohio.
Is it because the DOE is more under more public and media scrutiny now why all these things are coming to the fore or has our voting process gotten worse?
Before we didn't really have the internet fi give us up to the minute report so what the man dem think?
Leave a comment:
1) The JLP won the seat by 34 votes
2) The boxes contains only votes from election day workers
3) Mr Walker is in a position to know how many election day worker ballots were assigned to the constituency
4) He may also khow many PNP and how many JLP workers were employed.
He is a better position than a pollster to predict the result.
Perhaps there are more than 34 ballots in these boxes but Mr Walker knows there is no way that the PNP will get 34 more than the JLP.
Leave a comment: