• American Airline to Ochi 007

https://www.caribjournal.com/2022/03...-rios-flights/

Jangle you remember the argument the forum "brains" them have bout this airport????

Is a good thing mi nuh no brite like them.

Boss, many on here brighter than me and you put together.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Boss, many on here brighter than me and you put together.
      LOL!!!!

Tourism breakthrough

AA fulfilling 'Butch' Stewart's dream with first major flight to Ian Fleming Int'l Airport Nov 5

Gordon “Butch” Stewart did not live to see his dream realised, but the first major world airline will touch down in seven months' time at Ian Fleming International Airport in St Mary, named after the famous author of the fictional James Bond spy thrillers popular with moviegoers.

American Airlines (AA) set the local tourism industry abuzz with its announcement Thursday of what Butch's successor, his son Adam Stewart, described as “an incredible achievement” that the airline will begin twice-weekly flights between Miami and Ocho Rios, St Ann, commencing November 5, 2022.

Previously known as Boscobel Aerodrome, situated in the quaint town of Oracabessa, St Mary, Ian Fleming International Airport is 15 kilometres from the scenic north coast resort town of Ocho Rios, affectionately called Ochi.

Tourism leaders and AA officials, like Butch Stewart, the late chairman of Sandals Resorts International (SRI), believe the new gateway will potentially open up the north and east of Jamaica to tourism and general economic development.

“Many people don't come at all because of the distance. Port Antonio has not realised its potential for development because of the inconvenience of travel.

“With commercial fights to Boscobel, Jamaica for the first time would have comprehensive airport facilities for arrival and departure for a large area for both citizens and guests alike. The drive from Boscobel to Port Antonio would be similar to the drive from MoBay to Ocho Rios.

“As a project, it is very feasible and well within our means. My 'guestimate' is that it would take a mere US$2 million or US$3 million investment to realise this enormous bonanza. This would be one of the finest returns on investment.

“If the Government does not have the will, it remains an excellent project for private investors. The benefits are immediate. Our stopover numbers would be driven up and the people of the area would see the development and jobs they have been clamouring for,” Stewart posited.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/fron...9?profile=1606
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Diversity is paying off, says Bartlett

MONTEGO BAY, St James — Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett is banking on Jamaica’s diversification into various markets to help weather any fallout from increased air fares because of rising fuel prices.

“Doubtlessly, we have the spiralling costs of air services and the impact that the increased fuel costs are having, and the market will show some response. The good news is, the way we have been diversifying our markets and the kind of demographic we are now seeing in Jamaica — not that it is immune to shocks in the economy but it is more resilient,” said Bartlett.

“The mix of demographics that Jamaica is now enjoying is going to be that point of resilience that will help us to overcome the difficulties that inflation will bring,” he added.

He was speaking with the Jamaica Observer at the Sangster International Airport last Saturday on the sidelines of an inaugural American Airlines flight out of Austin, Texas. There were 66 passengers plus crew on board. The weekly non-stop flight is expected to provide another avenue for visitors out of the south-eastern seaboard of the United States to Jamaica.

This, the minister explained, will prove to be crucial to the local tourism product.

“The projection for this summer is that it will be larger, indeed, it’s going to be the largest summer that Jamaica has ever had. The numbers, we don’t like to throw out too readily, but we can assure you, based on the bookings we have and the pacing we have, we are well ahead of 2019,” he said.

“All the bookings and the indications are that we are going to exceed 2019 levels in this summer. A strong summer means that agriculture will be stronger, it means that manufacturing will be stronger, and it means that transportation will be stronger,” he expressed with delight.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...says-bartlett/

New Ian Fleming flights to boost northeast investment push

Eleven years after the Boscobel Aerodrome was upgraded and renamed the Ian Fleming International Airport, the facility welcomed its first international commercial flight on Thursday when an interCaribbean Airways 30-seat airplane arrived from Provinciales, Turks and Caicos, touching down at 9:45 a.m.

The regional airline, owned and chaired by Lyndon Gardiner, is the first of several carriers that had announced it would begin using the airport commercially, with American Airlines and QCAS Aero also scheduled to begin flights to the facility later this year.

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...nvestment-push

very good concept. I can remember writing a paper on what could happen if the airport was developed here. Driving by this airstrip all the time in the 80s and early 90s and thinking this was one of the major pillar of development for eastern Jamaica.

New economic opportunities opening for St Mary

Second airline starts service to Ian Fleming International Airport

BOSCOBEL, St Mary — The last time that Thalia Pereze boarded a flight was at age five when she migrated from Cuba to settle in Miami, Florida.

On Wednesday Pereze, now 21 years old, was able to relive that experience as a passenger on Quality Corporate Aircraft Services (QCAS) Aero’s inaugural flight to Ian Fleming International Airport (IFIA) in Boscobel, St Mary.

The trip will forever be etched in her memory as she was excited about visiting Jamaica, and what she had seen of the island on the day was exactly what she had anticipated.

“I’m enjoying Jamaica. It is really nice, and I was so excited to come here because I haven’t been on a flight since I was really little. I got to see the water and the island and it was so beautiful from up there,” Pereze said, recounting moments before the Embraer 145 executive-type 30-seat jet landed.

Miami-based QCAS Aero says it will operate the first-class charter service into IFIA from Fort Lauderdale, Florida, each Thursday with plans to move to scheduled flights this December.

The new service comes just under a week after InterCaribbean Airways inaugurated scheduled flights from the Turks and Caicos Islands to Ian Fleming International, named after the famous author of the fictional James Bond spy thrillers that has won worldwide acclaim.

Previously known as Boscobel Aerodrome, situated in the town of Oracabessa, the airport, which is 15 kilometres from the north coast resort town of Ocho Rios, will get much more busy in November when American Airlines begins twice-weekly flights from Miami.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...g-for-st-mary/

St Mary rush

Welcoming a number of new developments over the last few weeks, the parish of St Mary is being primed for growth as more businesses move to exert their presence in the north-eastern section of the island.

Awakened since the start of scheduled commercial flights at the Ian Fleming International airport earlier this month, the parish is set to attract more developments in the coming months and in subsequent years.

Food and logistics conglomerate Jamaica Producers Group (JPG) recently indicated that it will be moving to build-out a number of premium low-density, eco-friendly villas targeting mainly tourists in the emerging digital nomads market, utilising a portion of the vast acreage of land it owns in the parish.

“The first phase will see the construction of 30 lots ranging from four to six bedroom units, which will allow for customised offerings and scenic views,” group CEO Jeffrey Hall told the Jamaica Observer in an interview on Monday.

“The area that we have designated for the project is 56 acres and the project will entail infrastructural work, landscaping, architectural design and environmental and beach engineering. What we are doing is developing our land assets in St Mary as we also try to establish our areas in the parish as a centre for development and as we develop our land value,” he said to the Business Observer.

“The project plan is underway and is very extensive. We expect the planning stage to be completed by the end of this year and to commence developments early in the following year,” Hall added, though remaining very tight-lipped on the level of capital expenditure being earmarked for the project.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business/st-mary-rush/

St Mary rush

Welcoming a number of new developments over the last few weeks, the parish of St Mary is being primed for growth as more businesses move to exert their presence in the north-eastern section of the island.

Awakened since the start of scheduled commercial flights at the Ian Fleming International airport earlier this month, the parish is set to attract more developments in the coming months and in subsequent years.

Food and logistics conglomerate Jamaica Producers Group (JPG) recently indicated that it will be moving to build-out a number of premium low-density, eco-friendly villas targeting mainly tourists in the emerging digital nomads market, utilising a portion of the vast acreage of land it owns in the parish.

“The first phase will see the construction of 30 lots ranging from four to six bedroom units, which will allow for customised offerings and scenic views,” group CEO Jeffrey Hall told the Jamaica Observer in an interview on Monday.

“The area that we have designated for the project is 56 acres and the project will entail infrastructural work, landscaping, architectural design and environmental and beach engineering. What we are doing is developing our land assets in St Mary as we also try to establish our areas in the parish as a centre for development and as we develop our land value,” he said to the Business Observer.

“The project plan is underway and is very extensive. We expect the planning stage to be completed by the end of this year and to commence developments early in the following year,” Hall added, though remaining very tight-lipped on the level of capital expenditure being earmarked for the project.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business/st-mary-rush/
                    What is the name of the property from which Jamaica Producers is carving out that 56 acre lot? I am wondering if it is a former banana growing 'estate'

Jamaica producer was Jamaica Banana Producers who use to be a good size banana producer for export. When Gray's Inn Sugar factory closed they bought up most of the land from from Broadgate to Annotto Bay that Gray's Inn used to use for cane. So they have a lot of land going into Annotto Bay from Kingston or Ochie, some going to the Portland border. Most of the land is near the coastal area looking at the mountains.