Jobs, jobs, Jobs, Jangle you deh round yah???

• Jobs, jobs, Jobs, Jangle you deh round yah???

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...mp-recruitment

So a lot of people move on from the hotel jobs? mi think it was a life sentence. So they hire more than just bartender, waiter and butler?

Now there is competition for workers, do you think it is most likely that the pay will increase???

Wait till the rooms to spoke about come on stream and Ship start come a Port Royal, Boscobel start get more plan and Porty new Habour that Holness talk about come on stream.

I wonder if some of those unemployed ghetto yute weh a rob people and a sing the garbage can go pick some of those low hanging jobs at those hotels. Rooms full, house full, all full.

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hold on deh man. I thought that only butlers, taxi drivers and trinket sellers were employed in the tourist sector. A wah kind of fooliness dis Bartlett a chat bout.

Tourism room boom

With 90 per cent of planned tourism investments on track, the construction industry will need 12,000 workers, multiple building contractors, engineers, project managers and a number of other specialists, the tourism minister has said.

Additionally, thousands of tourism workers must be trained in management, food and beverage, housekeeping, tour guiding, and reception to meet the anticipated demand in services with 8,500 new rooms expected to be built over the next decade.

At least 24,000 part-time and full-time jobs are being created from the investments, Edmund Bartlett said during his Sectoral Debate address in Parliament on Tuesday.

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...rism-room-boom
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

For years I’ve been saying that Jamaica needs to diversify its tourism products and that not every tourist travels for sun,sand and sea. Some people even laughed when I suggested cleaning up and building our markets to become tourist attractions. People laughed when I said tours to some of our big farms can also be tourist attractions.

Big dreams for Jamaica Blue Mountain coffee

For decades, tourists have been coming to Jamaica for the sun, sea, sand and other things beginning with the letter ‘s’. Add to that, there is music, food, etc. But Adam Stewart of Sandals International Limited, and other tourism stakeholders are not just sitting on their laurels, smiling. They want one more major reason for tourists to come.

So, they are stirring up the pull-factor potpourri, putting more coffee into the mix. “In this resort, we are building what’s never been done in the Caribbean before, never been done in Jamaica, an absolutely speciality Blue Mountain coffee experience in the centre of the hotel.”

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...ountain-coffee

hope they know these ventures are privately funded. With that comes more infrastructure, more technology, especially in the east which very lacking in service and investment. Yes man we should have been getting the blue mountain Coffee involved as it is quick cash for the farmer and a market when others are not available.
          Last edited by Assasin; April 6, 2022, 09:02 AM.

Training is important. Got some feedback of someone who stayed at the new property in Trelawny. (OYster bay ) and they said nice property but poor service. I also had that experiece when I went to Palladium in Lucea when it had just opened.

With the influx of new hotels, people moving on and up it can be hard to find new trained workers. If you notice Sandals, Round HIll, Halfmoon and the exclusive clubs don't have problem finding workers as their pay scale is normally above most of the others. Now they have started training in high school so hopefully it will mean more trained workers.

For years I’ve been saying that Jamaica needs to diversify its tourism products and that not every tourist travels for sun,sand and sea. Some people even laughed when I suggested cleaning up and building our markets to become tourist attractions. People laughed when I said tours to some of our big farms can also be tourist attractions.

Big dreams for Jamaica Blue Mountain coffee

For decades, tourists have been coming to Jamaica for the sun, sea, sand and other things beginning with the letter ‘s’. Add to that, there is music, food, etc. But Adam Stewart of Sandals International Limited, and other tourism stakeholders are not just sitting on their laurels, smiling. They want one more major reason for tourists to come.

So, they are stirring up the pull-factor potpourri, putting more coffee into the mix. “In this resort, we are building what’s never been done in the Caribbean before, never been done in Jamaica, an absolutely speciality Blue Mountain coffee experience in the centre of the hotel.”

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...ountain-coffee
                Events now a priority to drive tourism

EVENTS HAVE become the number one priority for driving Jamaica’s tourism sector, says one of the most respected voices in the industry, Nicola Madden-Greig.

Essentially, providing different kinds of tourism is critical to Jamaica’s future, the hotelier told The Gleaner last weekend, while Michael Bolton had the resort town of Ocho Rios under wraps; A-lister Angelina Jolie endorsing the South Coast’s Calabash Literary Festival; and Mocha Fest staking its claim in the ‘Capital of Casual’, Negril.

“I just actually did a report where data is showing how events drive tourism, how we really see the demand spike, in terms of the kind of bookings that you see around events. And it’s something more and more of us throughout the Caribbean and particularly in Jamaica is paying more attention to,” stated Madden-Greig, president of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association (CHTA).

According to her, the consumer is looking for local and authentic experiences, which Jamaica has the ability to deliver. This, she tstates, is an integral part of the island’s strategy, “doing it in a way that really impacts lives and communities”.

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...-drive-tourism

JDF need a Pan African unit ...per Trans Atlantic Ghana
                  military trainings need to be explored...
                  Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                  United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                  happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                  Probably forthcoming...

'Open that door'

THE calls are getting louder from private sector individuals for the Government to start taking steps to mitigate an impending labour crisis that could emerge from the tightening job market with unemployment at a historic low of 4.5 per cent. Businessmen who spoke to the Jamaica Observer on the matter say the issue is becoming critical and will get worse as the economy continues to recover from the decimation it suffered during the coronavirus pandemic.

Richard Pandohie, CEO of the Seprod Group said, while the issue of worker shortage in various disciplines has been articulated over the last year, each day without a solution is only kicking the proverbial can down the road.

"There has been an increase in the shortage [of skilled workers]," Pandohie told the Business Observer in an interview Tuesday. He said that shortage gets critical each day and calls for a development plan that includes importing labour to fill skills gap.

"At the lowest end, you tend to have labour availability, but as you go up the value chain, whether you are talking about people in the garment industry, when you talking about people in the construction industry looking for plumbers and electricians, and talking about people in the manufacturing industry like engineers and quality control people, there is a shortage in Jamaica and the situation is continuing to get worse," Pandohie stated.

"Our system does not respect trade. We turn down our noses on trade and would rather our children get a degree at university, and there is nothing wrong with that, [but] people are not being guided properly on how they can upskill themselves. There are people with trade now who can earn more than anybody with [bachelor's] degrees and master's and even PhD, because there is demand for what they do," Pandohie highlighted.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busi...pen-that-door/

Open immigration for hospitality industry — Byles

DEPUTY chairman of Chukka Caribbean John Byles said the country could consider adopting a programme similar to the Shortage Occupation List (SOL) used in the United Kingdom to alleviate chronic shortages in the hospitality sector. Byles outlined that a similar programme could help bring labour to the country when 4,000 hotel rooms scheduled for opening in the next two years come on stream.

"If you look at what is happening globally, hospitality is having a shortage of labour overall. So, many of our trained staff, and I am not just talking about Chukka, I am talking about the tourism sector generally, many of our staff are being poached to go overseas. And then we also have the need to find people to service the additional 4,000 hotel rooms that are coming on in the next two years."

The SOL programme allows employers to bring in workers from overseas to fill jobs that cannot be filled by British workers. The SOL includes a number of hospitality occupations, such as chefs, hotel managers, and waiters. The SOL has been successful in helping to address the UK's hospitality labour shortage.

Byles, pointing to Jamaica's historically low 4.5 per cent unemployment, said, "It is a good thing, but comes with challenges that we have to look at and plan for."

"We must keep the service levels at the world standard because that's how more people will come to Jamaica. I can tell you, America is giving the red carpet for the workers who need to come for the hospitality industry as are many other countries. We need to do the same thing, in my opinion, at least for the hotels which are to open up, the 4000 rooms, because we must keep our service levels at the highest in order to keep the service level at first-class standards as well as demonstrate opportunities for training."

He argued that allowing new hotels to import labour can benefit the local economy.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busi...ndustry-byles/

If not now, eventually

Holness addresses calls for foreign workers

PRIME Minister Andrew Holness has carefully broached the contentious issue of foreign worker recruitment. During his speech at the unveiling of Pepsi-Cola's new production line in Jamaica on Tuesday, he acknowledged the private sector's calls to consider increasing the controlled influx of overseas workers to support the local labour force, particularly in light of Jamaica's current economic growth path.

Holness reassured the public that this is not a new concept and pointed out that various growth strategies have been employed in the past. He also highlighted that neighbouring countries have implemented similar measures, and Jamaica might have to consider similar actions in the future.

"There are various estimates as to the actual pool of labour that is outside the formal labour force," said Holness. "If we continue to grow and our growth pace increases, we will use up those who are outside. Maybe in the next five years, six years, maybe in the next decade."

In recent years, there has been discussion about importing foreign workers for various industries, including construction, tourism, and manufacturing. Private stakeholders have voiced concerns about the inadequate workforce, primarily due to people voluntarily leaving formal employment. However, there are contrasting opinions among Jamaicans, with some arguing that the labour force is available but jobs are scarce and do not offer competitive wages. Manufacturers have contended that Jamaicans are reluctant to work.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busi...ow-eventually/

Pity, we cannot get a feedback from Xcuse on serious issues like this.

X in in X-ile.

Im have not shown up from Luton naily beat Liverstool.