X, I hope you hear this load and clear

Drop Dem boss , for every 1 , thousands a live hand to month.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That is because you have no idea. Again I tell you, do your research.

Everything Fresh benefiting from tourism rebound

As tourism arrivals in the Caribbean continue to recover to pre-pandemic levels, Everything Fresh has reaped the rewards in Jamaica and The Bahamas where both countries have seen improved earnings compared to last year.

The group's consolidated revenue for the third quarter grew 29 per cent year over year from $494.71 million to $636.60 million with the company's revenue increasing 44 per cent to $516.30 million. The group primarily distributes dairy products and other delicatessen meats to supermarkets and hotels across Jamaica including from brands such as Dannon, Provecho and King's Hawaiian.

"Sales will increase in the new year as hotel occupancies continue to be strong. We have already diversified considerably as part of our response to the economic stresses of COVID and we continue to keep our eyes peeled for further opportunities," said Chairman Gregory Pullen in an e-mail to Jamaica Observer.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busi...urism-rebound/
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

How will the jobs gap be filled?

The good news from the Planning Institute of Jamaica’s (PIOJ) recent quarterly review of the island’s economy was that it remained on a growth path. For the three months up to the end of September, real output increased by an estimated 4.3 per cent, pushing projected growth for the first nine months, up to September, to 5.2 per cent.

“For October-December 2022, it is projected that the economy will grow within a range of 2.5 per cent to 3.5 per cent, resulting in a calendar year growth in the range of four per cent to five per cent,” said the PIOJ’s executive director, Wayne Henry. “For fiscal year 2022-23 (ending next March), the projection is for growth within the range of 3.5 per cent to 4.5 per cent.”

What Dr Henry did not address, and on which his agency should open a public discussion, is whether Jamaica has the available labour force with which to sustain even modest growth rates, and if that is indeed the case, what must be done about it. This is a project on which the PIOJ might partner with the labour and education ministries.

This newspaper’s concern arises on two fronts. First, ahead of Dr Henry’s forward-looking analysis, the Statistical Institute of Jamaica – which crunches the hard data and issues final reports on Jamaica’s economic and demographic status – reported that unemployment in April was 6.0 per cent, a year-on-year decline of three percentage points, leading to Jamaica’s lowest unemployment rate in decades. In other countries, Jamaica might be considered to be on the cusp of what equates to full employment. Except that complexities of the Jamaican situation need unravelling, and a better understanding, before arriving at that conclusion.

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...-gap-be-filled
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Which immigrant didn't work in fast food , and do menial jobs or odd jobs to advance themselves the world over ? Yuh head nuh good , you are trying too hard to conflate the lack of opportunities in the tourism industry in JA to the plethora of opportunities in the 1st world . For ever 1 that make it out of that dead end low skilled job in Jamaica, millions make it out in the 1st world , specifically the USA, it's what makes them great . It's a right of passage for the youth and immigrants to work their way up

Now stop making an a clown of yourself with your cognitive dissonance.

The Sanmerna Paper Products story
            How determination and resilience built the country's largest tissue producer

Robert and Mark White may not have been aware of the instrumental role they would play in building a strong paper industry in Jamaica when in 2003 they set out to create Sanmerna Paper Products Limited. The brothers, who hail from the tough Waterhouse neighbourhood in western St Andrew, got the idea to get into the paper business from a third partner, an engineer, who left five years after the business started. Robert and Mark have since taken the business through its struggles and are now on the cusp of pushing it for greater growth. Their story is this week's Corporate Profile.

Leaving school in the early 1980s Robert started his work life at Seaban/Testron Jamaica Limited, which was owned by Del Banbury, Neil Seaton and YP Seaton — a company which distributes chemicals for Testron International. He worked there from 1981 to 1989.

"I started sweeping the floor, filling bottles, operating forklifts and shipping orders," Robert White, the younger of the two brothers told the Jamaica Observer as he reflected on his journey over the last 40 years. Then, he was barely out of his teenage years and a far cry from being the managing director of Sanmerna Paper Products Limited.

His brother Mark did a similar job, menial tasks but at a different company — Jamaica Packaging — where he worked from 1978 to 1995. Mark White is now the technical director of Sanmerna Paper Products Limited.

But being in wholesales and supermarkets would not satisfy the brothers who said they wanted to be the chief supplier of tissue and related paper products to the country.

"We had our eyes on being number one and we said that would not happen until we capture a lot of the hotels. So, we put in the work and we met with the purchasing managers to push our products. Now, Sanmerna supplies most of the major hotels in the island including Sandals, Grand Palladium, Iberostar, Bahia Principe, Ocean Coral, Jewels, Hedonism, Royalton and Negril Treehouse. Those are a few I can remember off the top of my head. We are on a trend of rising," Robert added.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busi...roducts-story/