New STEM Center, Mannings HS

• New STEM Center, Mannings HS

Btw...Mannings celebrate their 230th year . Second oldest school Jamaica !!

https://jis.gov.jm/stem-centre-opene...-westmoreland/

Congrats to you and your family for the work you have done for that institution.

Opposition offers alternative to Gov'ts STEAM schools programme

KINGSTON, Jamaica - The Opposition People’s National Party (PNP) has offered an alternative to the Government’s stated position of building six science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics (STEAM) schools.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/late...ols-programme/
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Opposition offers alternative to Gov'ts STEAM schools programme

KINGSTON, Jamaica - The Opposition People’s National Party (PNP) has offered an alternative to the Government’s stated position of building six science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics (STEAM) schools.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/late...ols-programme/
        I have long considered the term 'opposition ' not forward looking in government terms.

Both approaches have merit. But because it is stated in opposition, ongle that position can be right.

Congratulations to Victor Lowe and Manning's School.
          A wonderful initiative. Wonderful undertaking!
          Well done!

Well Done H.L

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Well Done H.L
              Well done goes to Victor Lowe!!

Well done to V.L

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Don Robotham | Jamaica in the low-tech trap

There should be a radical overhaul of our entire human resources system (not just formal education and HEART/NSTA Trust); particular attention should be paid to technical on-the-job training for those already working in the labour market whose impact on technology and productivity is immediate. We should modernize the curriculum in the primary/high schools not just in five academies. The Scientific Research Council should be revamped to focus on product/process development. University of Technology (UTech) must return to its original mandate as a technical university on the Northern European model; we must bring our engineers to the forefront of economic development policy. Key innovators who work on the internet of things and the young researchers in the computer science, should be brought to the centre of development policy and their work properly funded and linked to local firms and their international counterparts. We should establish a properly resourced innovation fund and make it central to our economic policies.

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...-low-tech-trap
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I have someone who is looking for qualified technical people
                    https://www.instagram.com/p/CpTGsejO...9cLoeu9kjabIac
                    https://www.instagram.com/p/Cp3Db7sD...G9-vAYqyLuFYbE

How can people get these jobs if they are not qualified? That is why we have HEART, technical colleges and also take Entry level job with the idea of moving up the chain.

Claffy did you read the article ?

The Jamaican economy is stuck in a low technology trap. This is also a low growth trap and a low wage trap. The official Bank of Jamaica projections for 2023/24 is 1.6 per cent; for 2024/25 it’s 1.1 per cent; for 2025-26 it falls to one per cent and for 26/27 it’s also one per cent.

So, forget ‘five-in-four’. According to the Government’s own data we face a dismal future of persistently low incomes, a weak tax base and more social unrest

The real policies in Jamaica are not about development at all. They are about wage repression and the states of emergency (SOE): low wages in the BPO sector; low wages in the tourism sector, low wages in the public sector and low incomes in the informal sector. This wage repression policy is guaranteed to result in higher crime rates accompanied by more and more attempts at militaristic repression by a desperate minority government dreaming of El Salvador. We shall need more than a chess grandmaster to fix this.

In 1958, Norman Manley’s regime embarked on a programme of technological upgrading: Kingston Technical was converted to a high school, Holmwood, Vere and Dinthill upgraded and St Andrew and St Elizabeth Technical constructed. In 1959, he established the College of Arts, Science and Technology — the forerunner of UTech. But this technological thrust was never built on. Now is the time to resume such policies. It won’t be easy, given all our many constraints and weaknesses. But it’s the only way. The sooner we set out on this road the better. Time is running out. The danger of social anarchy is real.

This Bredda sound like Don 1.

Methinks dis bredda IS Don1

AT LEAST YUH NEVA LABEL IM COMRADE , Because dis bredda is known to have Labarite leanings. Basically im a say di JLP clueless. As mi say while paying down the national debt is good, the middle class and poor has to feel that residual benefit. Increasing the minimum wage in a time of inflation, where your poll numbers are anemic ,comes off as buying votes.

The perception of corruption is killing the JLP, it could be a dollar that's stolen , the public backlash will be felt at the polls,because unna naah rob and share.
                          Last edited by Sir X; March 20, 2023, 09:12 AM.

you know who the Dr. is?? Do your research. He has some good pointers however tell us how to achieve it if you don't grow your economy and get surplus like Jamaica is doing then use it in the right area. No country in the world move from poverty to first world status without moving through proper stages. Even the big ole China you talking about has some of the lowest wages in the world and they will fight for those job because they know it is essential to growing their country.

Waking up and dreaming is not bad is just the actions in between.

Know im daughta, how much more yuh waan mi know im ?. Unnu corna dark sah.