New House Speaker Juliet Holness

• New House Speaker Juliet Holness

If a laff, a drop down dead. Yuh caaan mek this **** up.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...ith-open-arms/

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

..don't laff then. She has been deputy speaker all along, so what is the issue?

Its not a knock against Holness or the JLP , but moreso our constitution that some hug up as perfect. Shouldnt the speaker of the house appear to be be a unbiased position, where by ballots are cast for the position ?.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Its not a knock against Holness or the JLP , but moreso our constitution that some hug up as perfect. Shouldnt the speaker of the house appear to be be a unbiased position, where by ballots are cast for the position ?.
        ...suddenly you have an issue about the position? In which system the speaker is elected by the masses? I guess you're the new Michael Jackson, wanna be starting something. Fine something else to complain about.

Who said anything about the masses , I said appaer unbiased, I guess that part tripped you up to spew nonsense.

In the U.K

1. MPs elect the speaker from amongst their own ranks. The House must elect a Speaker at the beginning of each new parliamentary term after a general election, or after the death or resignation of the incumbent.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speake...he%20incumbent.

2. Canada

Election. While the Constitution requires that the speaker be elected by the House of Commons, traditionally this amounted to the rubber-stamp approval of an MP nominated by the prime minister. However, in 1986 this was changed and they are now selected by secret ballot.

https://www.google.com/search?q=Cana...t=gws-wiz-serp

3. Australia

The Speaker is elected by the House of Representatives in a secret ballot, with an election held whenever the Office of the Speaker is vacant, as set out in Chapter 3 of the House of Representatives Standing and Sessional Orders.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speake...epresentatives

You conveniently left out the country where you reside, the Great USA, from your list.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

• Rudi
              Rudi commented
              Editing a comment
              You conveniently missed the point that all countries on the list are Parliamentary democracies on the UK model as is Jamaica where the Speaker performs the same function. The US is a Republic where the Speaker is chosen from the majority party with no input from the opposition.

If the U.K looked at our parliamentary system they would deny ever being a party to such antiquated, nepotistic,tribal governance. Yet this same JLP party wants to rush through constitutional reform, I wonder why .

Who said anything about the masses , I said appaer unbiased, I guess that part tripped you up to spew nonsense.

In the U.K

1. MPs elect the speaker from amongst their own ranks. The House must elect a Speaker at the beginning of each new parliamentary term after a general election, or after the death or resignation of the incumbent.

2. Canada

Election. While the Constitution requires that the speaker be elected by the House of Commons, traditionally this amounted to the rubber-stamp approval of an MP nominated by the prime minister. However, in 1986 this was changed and they are now selected by secret ballot.

3. Australia

The Speaker is elected by the House of Representatives in a secret ballot, with an election held whenever the Office of the Speaker is vacant, as set out in Chapter 3 of the House of Representatives Standing and Sessional Orders.

X, how is our system any different from what you listed? Especially Canada? If you listened to the audio of the Parliament that day, the clerk asked more than once if there was any other nominations, to which the reply was a resounding "No!" You are trying to start an issue out of nothing.

In the U.K

2. Canada

3. Australia

Again, she was elected. Here is an excerpt from the Gleaner

Acting leader of Government business Delroy Chuck nominated Holness for the job as parliamentary referee and it was seconded by Phillip Paulwell, the leader of Opposition business in the house.

Seemed bipartisan don't you think?

Gangs of Gordon house .