Tourism is giving back. THARP and many hotels

• Tourism is giving back. THARP and many hotels

Tourism minister launches THARP for workers affected by Hurricane Melissa - Jamaica Observer

Never before seen in Jamaica. I remember after Gilbert all we got was our regular paycheck and about 1/4 of the staff was kept for rebuilding. The tourism companies including airlines and cruise ship plus hotel has rally around the workers. Special mention of Sandals who is leading the way and gwaan Bartlett. Job well done. I hope the misinformers them see what a gwaan.

Well, I recently returned from a family vacation,25-strong, where we split the stay between an AirBnB in Drax Hall and RIU Ochi. RIU Ochi was about 60% full at the time and over the last two days of our stay, three busloads came and deposited about 100 tourists. Jamaica's tourism is resilient.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Great that you and family had a great time mi friend. I want them to tell me which industry could recover with real estate damage, power and water? Jamaican tourism is just as resilient as any other industry, and not only that but other industries are dependent on it as well. What I am happy to see is the change how industry players and ministry is responding to tourism workers and assisting them, finding jobs overseas, building homes for some until the industry comes back. This has never been done in any hurricane before. The response to get the hotels back online is also very commendable.

Well, I recently returned from a family vacation,25-strong, where we split the stay between an AirBnB in Drax Hall and RIU Ochi. RIU Ochi was about 60% full at the time and over the last two days of our stay, three busloads came and deposited about 100 tourists. Jamaica's tourism is resilient.
        I too was in kingston in november saw jm v cuw