• Assasin
    replied
    You have your company working with a no bid contract for any agency that you are heading?

I have worked in government agencies here in America and I don't know a single one that that could happen in. Is their interest in serving the government and providing the best/low cost service or it is to make a profit for their company?

You don't see a conflict there Mo?

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    i say she's neither...she lost her political capital and hence the election.

bruce and audley had no idea the extent of the damage that omar caused (they were in the opposition remember)....this is the result of a policy to "run wid it"!

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    What exactly was the conflict, sass?

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    That's not what Bruce and Audley told the
    Jakan people. They did not say they are going to need three people. Audley said he would make all Jakans wealthy. I think Nany P is brilliant in
    politics and political leadership. What sayest thou? Thanks.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    the mess that omar left requires 3 people to sort it out. and i don't think you should bring up the "bright argument" after all you wanted portia to be prime minister!

furthermore...if you can get one of the brightest minds from the private sector on board...why not?!!!

btw...mi notice yuh a run from giving the african aristocracy lesson....a wha suh?

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    Sorry, I must have missed
    where you said conflict of interest. So tell mi suppen, Audley nuh bright enough fi run Ja economy? Is him di people put ther fi do it. This is so easy to sort out. I think not; because it has some deep implications. Will Don work for the JLP govt. and not ever return to Grace?

Oh on African aristocracy? No I'm not finished and you did not respond to my follow up question. Stay tuned. BTW I did not say I have some serious knowledge to drop. I state my limitations in the subject matter and was only seeking dialogue from the vast resources on the board.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    I guess all these directors, MP and government officals under the PNP who shamelessly had their companies getting government unbid contract will be no more?

How can the PNP and others just call out conflict of interest here and say nothing wrong with directors and board members doing private work for the agency they are in charge of?

Really funny. Look at Sandals Whitehouse, the companies that got contracts were Vin Lawernce's, Alton Sterling's and Butch Stewart. If that is not a conflict of interest then what is? Wasn't Omar Davis who knew the rules in charge then?

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Observer is shameless. As Karl said, they have done their fair share to tear down.

But to stick to this issue - Wehby and Bruce can fix it if they want. Why don't they? They are the ones who are causing this thing to drag out. No one wants Wehby to leave, but things must be done the right way.

So do it, Bruce!

Oh, like BNS, I have started to boycott the Observer newspaper.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    jawge you have not disappointed me in the least. did you read yesterday where i said it was a clear conflict of interest?

i'll give you the benefit of the doubt that you didn't.....the conflict is EASY to settle/sort out...EASY!

the opportunity to get one of the brightest and best with a proven track record is a boon.

btw how come yuh just ABANDON the african aristocracy lesson suh, when i was there waiting with an unparalelled anticipation that some knowledge was going to drop?

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    Gamma I brought this situation
    to someone that works as an exec on wall St (last night) before I could even finish he said conflict of interest. He laughed at our govt. Granted he is jamaican (the ones that came here from two years old and is from upper middle, family known in Jakan circles) Why is it that you fail to see this for what it is? Bruce has erred in judgement (could be naivety but the fact still remains) Audley told Omar in no uncertain terms JA could not afford him and he Audley will guide JA. Why does the govt. need a corporate paid hired gun? IS Bruce giving Audley a no vote of confidence? No matter how you cut it if you are being paid by a corporation, you are serving their interest. Please don't hinge your arguments on the integrity and character (as the weak arguments by the editorial is trying to do).

What if Trafigura had sent an exec to "help" the past Govt? Is this a new trend, where the vote of the people can now be parcelled out to corporations? Could the spanish investors send an exec to "help" with tourism?
    Last edited by Jawge; September 19, 2007, 09:29 AM.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    exhibit A.....

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    The fact that it is always so easy to tear down rather than to build up, is a clear flaw in our national intellect. It is unbelievable that so much effort is being expended in addressing the form over the substance.

Let the people say AMEN!!!

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Originally posted by Time View Post
    The observer is pro JLP.
    .. and when there is an editorial knocking the JLP your excuse will be ....?

Leave a comment:

replied
    The observer is pro JLP.

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    The unfortunate thing is the Observer has done more than its share of tearing down.

Leave a comment: