• Rockman
    replied
    It is all confusing. Can't figure out if there really isn't anything wrong with being a maid or a gardener.
    If there is nothing wrong with being called a maid/gardener why comrade found it offensive...? Why a (ex)CEO husband and not a gardener or a cane man?
    Anyway, remember what was said amongst the old boyz' club in the rat race for leadership of the PNP,..............
    I do not know if members of the JLP are guilty of what is being alleged, however we have and continue to hold in high esteem the very people whose vested interest is preserving the counterproductive class system(as we know it), insomuch that we make them leaders.
    If anyone(JLP) is guilty what would should the people's servant ,Bruce, do?

Blessed

Blessed

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    i think you are right...i overrated you. very jawgelike i must add.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    you overrate me. i'm also the eternal learner. please help me learn.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    you miss it only when you want to mosiah.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    It matters not if it was official JLP strategy. Certainly, with the help of the JLP newspaper, such feelings were loud and clear for all to observe.

Don't mind me. I may have missed the point again.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    it appears as if you don't want to...and that being the case there is no amount of explanation that will suffice.

it's a simple issue really. but ... a suh.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    I guess I can't. Please explain.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    ...and, did Portia use such 'thoughts' earlier than Carolyn Cooper's article and or was such sentiments expressed in like manner or 'near guh suh manner' and when?

...and, where such sentiments expressed 'on the streets' and when?

The answer to those questions will help to frame the context within which Portia spoke!
    Article published Sept 2.

Conference was weekend of Sept 16.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    portia said it was a jlp strategy...if it wasn't she needs to apologise...if it was the jlp needs to apologise and/or distance themselves from any such comment .....

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    It appears to me that those attitudes that have so many of my fellow Jamaicans 'looking down their noses' at the 'maid' and 'yardboy' was at the heart of many of rthe JLP's ads...and contributed to Portia's and the PNP's defeat.

It is not even 1 day since the entire naming of Ministers and Senators and the new JLP Government are back-tracking so damn fast from some of their statements that it is as like a freight train coming down the tracks!
    Show me the JLP ad that awakened those feelings in you. Back track? How come you don't post the article on the tuition refund becoming a reality? From wha day yuh on an article posting spree but now nothing

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    The speech. In it she said that the maid thing was a part of the JLP campaign.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    no karl....was it a jlp strategy...if it was then it is offensive and in need of an immediate apology and retraction by the jlp ...if not portia should do the same! is that so difficult to understand?

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    who said it and where did they say it? was it jlp campaign strategy or something overheard at a tea party?!

it makes a difference based on how it comes across from the speech. if it was indeed a jlp campaign then there should be an immediate public apology and retraction.

if not then there is another issue which is just as concerning and that issue is portia's declaration. this should not be left here. either way damning statements were made and ther has to be some accountability somewhere.
    What is this "issue of Portia's declaration"?

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    who said it and where did they say it? was it jlp campaign strategy or something overheard at a tea party?!

it makes a difference based on how it comes across from the speech. if it was indeed a jlp campaign then there should be an immediate public apology and retraction.

if not then there is another issue which is just as concerning and that issue is portia's declaration. this should not be left here. either way damning statements were made and ther has to be some accountability somewhere.

Thank you sir.

SOMEONE owes an apology and I just want to find out who.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    mosiah....can you appreciate the point being raised?

Leave a comment: