THANK YOU, HAMPTON!!!

• THANK YOU, HAMPTON!!!

In an unprecedented move of support for its brother school, Hampton School emptied its dorms of the entire boarding population and sent 5 bus loads of some of the nation's finest young ladies to the Munro-STETHS daCosta Cup match yesterday.

And it worked!

Munro dominated the must-win clash against its arch rivals and finally found the game winner a minute before regulation time. Despite the win, Munro must win its remaining two games to advance, but are in a better position than STETHS and Black River High who have to face each other next Saturday.

RE: THANK YOU, HAMPTON!!!

Mosiah (10/8/2006)In an unprecedented move of support for its brother school, Hampton School emptied its dorms of the entire boarding population and sent 5 bus loads of some of the nation's finest young ladies to the Munro-STETHS daCosta Cup match yesterday.

And it worked!

Munro dominated the must-win clash against its arch rivals and finally found the game winner a minute before regulation time. Despite the win, Munro must win its remaining two games to advance, but are in a better position than STETHS and Black River High who have to face each other next Saturday.
    Women can inspire men to do extra-ordinary feats! I can just imagine the lusty cheering - from both schools!

Go MC!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Late goal gives Munro victory</SPAN>
      <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Garfield Myers
      Sunday, October 08, 2006
      </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
      <P class=StoryText align=justify>Malvern, St Elizabeth - Skipper Andre Anderson scored in the 89th minute to give Munro College a 1-0 victory over arch rival STETHS (St Elizabeth Technical High School) in their Zone E daCosta Cup clash at Munro yesterday.<P class=StoryText align=justify>For Munro, who entered the game in third place and needing to avoid defeat to keep their season alive, the victory means that with Cinderella teams Maggoty and Newell left to play, they are almost assured of a place in the next stage.<P class=StoryText align=justify>That apart, it was also sweet revenge following their 2-0 loss to STETHS in Santa Cruz two Saturdays ago.
      STETHS, entering the game atop the zone on 19 points, must now avoid defeat against tough Black River High on Wednesday to stay in touch.<P class=StoryText align=justify>A game that was of high standard despite a hard, bumpy surface, ended with both sides down to 10 men.
      The influential STETHS central midfielder Akeil Williams was ejected in the 36th minute for a second bookable offence. Munro's Michael Samuels saw red in the 85th minute following a crunching tackle on Comar Pascoe.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Before a massive crowd, Munro pressed for much of the game, but found clear chances hard to come by against a STETHS team that maintained its discipline even after losing Williams. Indeed, STETHS remained dangerous on the break, with Pascoe as the lone striker.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But the introduction of the big, fast Peter Mindley early in the second half, gave Munro extra momentum. And Mindley was the key player in the fast, desperate attack down the right, which ended with his superb cross being knocked home by the overlapping Anderson, just ahead of the advancing goalkeeper Aaron Pillock.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The goal sent the home supporters into wild celebration that lasted well into the evening.
      "It was a good game, STETHS wanted it, but Munro wanted it more," said an elated Munro assistant coach Peter Powell. A despondent STETHS coach Kurt Brooks said the first half red card disrupted his team's game plan. "The red card threw us off," Brooks said.

Did you mean Thusty (thirsty) cheering from both sides??????:w00t:

Congrats sah! :crying:

Tilla
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Thanks! I'm just happy that the rivalry has less violence than 25 years ago. Still, there are some bad signs. I think the STETHS coach was cussed out and threatened after they "sold out" the match. Nuh worry, the Munro coach get threatened all the time too. The fans need to give them a break!