• 'It's the daCosta Cup we really want' - CC coach

'It's the daCosta Cup we really want' - CC coach

Richard Bryan, Freelance Writer

Clarendon College coach Kevin 'Sensie' Williams has asked his fans not to be disheartened at losing Saturday's Ben Francis Cup final to Frome Technical.

"We started the season with an intention to win three titles; as far as I am concerned, the main one is not lost," said Williams, a former Clarendon player who won several Ben Francis titles as well as the daCosta Cup between 1989 and 1991.

"It is not a case where we lost by a big margin or anything like that. I didn't think we lost the game because of any bad tactics or anything like that. Against a good team, we just didn't score our chances when we got them and it is as simple as that," he added.

Clarendon lost 5-4 on penalties at St. Elizabeth Technical High School.

Williams believes the Ben Francis Cup is not as prestigious as the daCosta Cup and that Clarendon is more hungry to win the latter, something they have not done since the departure of the institution's most successful coach, Patrick 'Jackie' Walters.

Their quest for the daCosta Cup title resumes on Wednesday against Manchester's Holmwood Technical in a group that also includes DeCarteret College and STETHS.

The parting comments of a Frome fan to his Clarendon counterpart, after they two were hotly engaged in bets as to which team would win during Saturday's match-up, suggest Frome and Clarendon may end up in the daCosta Cup final.

"We a guh buck again 'cause me nuh think you have two better teams in the competition," the fan said to the other.

Saturday's game totally mirrored those comments as both teams could confidently claim dominance of at least one of each halves.

Clarendon won the midfield battle in the first half and duly took the lead midway the period after Gregory Lewis volleyed home a cross that was set up by connecting plays from wingback Akeem Anaki and Damali Samuels.

In fact, these three may have proved the decisive element in Clarendon's loss. Lewis was unfortunately sent off in the first half of extra time when he received a second caution for allegedly deliberately handling the ball to secure an advantage in his opponent's box.

It was Anaki's penalty which was saved during the shoot-out by the player of the match, goalkeeper Shamar Mullings. And, according to coach Williams, it was Samuels' failure to convert close to the half-time mark which let Frome off the hook.

"We could have knocked the wind out of them," he said.

RE: 'It's the daCosta Cup we really want' - CC coach

Frome face Clarendon College in KO final

BY PAUL A REID Observer writer

Saturday, October 28, 2006

MONTEGO BAY - Clarendon College will go after their fourth hold on the ISSA Ben Francis Knockout title this afternoon when they take on Frome Technical High in the final at St Elizabeth Technical (STETHS) in Santa Cruz starting at 3:00 pm.

NICHOLSON ... said he had a fair idea of what Clarendon have to offer

The teams will be hoping to win the first of what they no doubt hope will be at least two titles this season as they look forward to the resumption of the daCosta Cup on Wednesday.

Clarendon College had previously won the Ben Francis trophy in 1989, 1990 and 1998 while Frome were finalists in 2000, losing to Cornwall College in sudden death extra time at Frome.

Clarendon College with their vice-like defence and potent attack will start favourites today but Frome's chances cannot be discounted based on their experience and leadership.

Both camps are taking the final seriously and looking forward to lifting the trophy at the end of the game, no matter how long it takes, whether in regulation and extra-time or penalty kicks.

The teams are reporting that the players are in high spirits and looking forward to the game.

Clarendon College are coming into the game on a high, having won nine straight games and without conceding a goal in their last six matches.

Garfield Robinson, one of the assistants to coach Kevin 'Sensi' Williams, told Sporting World yesterday they were not overlooking the Ben Francis Cup. "We have not won anything since 1998 and so having not won anything for so long, we will be taking it seriously."

All their players will be available for the game today he said, adding they were prepared for anything that the Westmoreland-based school will throw at them.

Formations or system, he noted, would not bother them as "we have a fair understanding of the type of football that is played throughout Jamaica and have a coaching staff and team that can adjust to whatever the Frome team comes with," Robinson said.

Frome's 'Boysie' Nicholson will have some concerns as at least four of his starters are nursing injuries and he unsure of whom to start or formation to employ.

Speedy winger Kesrick Samuels is nursing a back injury, big central defender Odaine Ottey has a thigh strain; striker Sedane McCreath has an ankle injury while midfielder Clovis Crooks has a thigh problem.

Crooks who had to be substituted in Wednesday's semi-final win over Petersfield went through light training on Thursday and Nicholson said and they were hoping he would be ready for today's game.

Added to that Delano Rankine, one of their most senior players, is away with the national Under-20 team in Haiti while another experienced player Kevon Wynter is out for the season after breaking his leg in a quarter-final game against Munro at STETHS last week.

Given all this, Nicholson said they would "have to continue reshuffling the line-up to compensate (for the players who are missing) and might need to bring in some young players and hope the senior players will carry their end of the bargain".

Having played Clarendon twice in the pre-season - winning once and losing the other - Nicholson said he had a fair idea of what Clarendon have to offer and will be planning his game around that.

Former national Under-17 midfielder Obrian Woodbine must assume some of the leadership role for the team today if Frome were to lift the trophy for the first time.

Shameless sour grapes argument! Sad!

I posted the Observer preview for the game as one of the asistants pointed out that since they had not won anything sionce 1998 anything right now would be very welcomed.

Given their recent history of falling short with a 'clu'b team last year, Clarendon should understand they cant take any cup for granted as there are no guaratees they will win the DCup.

Sickko where is Tegat.. is he helping Prince at Knibb.

So whats up, no daCosta Cup news?
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

No, Jazzbois on his own, in a matter of speaking, he has Blacks helping out but thats not much really, plus Shawn DeSouza is always there mouthing off...

STETHS and Munro lose to Clarendon and Denbigh respectively...Frome beat Herbert Morrison in an HUGly game, Rusea's beat William Knibb in sox goal feast.

Palla and four of his Grange Hill players get run off in 4-0 loss to Ocho Rios

Thats really all you need to know till tomorrow when you read the Observer