I think you are way off with that analysis. His medical credentials are not very relevant. In fact there is not a question as to whether he is a doctor. His reputation and credibility on the other hand are extremely relevant in a position such as the one he is in.
If you know for certain that someone has falsified their academic credentials, are you saying you still would consider them as qualified to head your national drug enforcement agency? I wouldn't.
I totally agree that they are being very unfair to Asafa and the other athletes. Welcome to the major leagues, we should have expected it.
Jamaican Antidoping Official Faces Résumé Questions
That's exactly my point! Dr. Herb Elliot has been a respected figure in international T&F for years and whether he has legitimate medical credentials is irrelevant for the job of Chairman of JADCO. The head of JADCO does not have to be a medical doctor and we have question what is the purpose of such an article that came out of left field. He certainly has years of experience in T&F administration to qualify for the job. The vetting of his academic credentials is up to his employers. Why would a foreign journalist want to go dig into the background of the head of a LOCAL body in a little Third World country? He is not the head of an international organization. JADCO has been on the defensive backfoot since the VCB story came to light. Why was Tyson Gay's drug bust released on the same day as Asafa Powell when it was known for months? Why is every story in the international press has the picture of Asafa Powell and VCB prominently displayed under the headline of "Drug Cheats"? These are more important questions and issues than Dr. Herbert Elliott's credentials. These stories are all designed to distract.Originally posted by Islandman View PostWhat does that have to do with whether Dr Elliot has degrees from Columbia or not?
Leave a comment:
He is licensed psychologist. http://www.drphil.com/shows/page/bio/Originally posted by Jangle View PostIs Dr. Phil a doctor?
They wanted to get him for breaching patient-medical professional confidentiality but found out that they could not because his show is registered as comedy.
Leave a comment:
I have no idea! Is Bishop Herro Blair a bishop? I have no idea either!
What does that have to do with whether Dr Elliot has degrees from Columbia or not?
Leave a comment:
Sure he is, he is also a good doctor from all accounts I have heard.
I am not in a position to speculate as to the intentions of a journalist I have never heard about, I am more interested in whether his article is accurate or not. If it is not accurate, as many journalists often are, his reputation should be made to suffer. If it is accurate, then well, Dr Elliot has some explaining to do.
There is no reason for me to take an uninformed position one way or the other on an issue that should not be difficult to prove or disprove.
Leave a comment:
What would prompt a foreign journalist at a reputable media house to go to such lengths to do such an investigation? Dr. Herb Elliot is an internationally respected figure in the sport of Track & Field for decades now, regardless of his personality.
Leave a comment:
No I am not talking about Elliot, I am talking about Wrights statements on the inadequate testing of our athletes.
As to whether Dr Elliot has a PhD or not, well that still appears to be an open question. He says he has it but has no reason to have to prove it to a WSJ journalist (which I certainly agree with), they say they can't find any evidence of it. I think we will know the truth one way or the other eventually.
Leave a comment:
if that is true then he is talkingout of both sides of his mouth ... and that makes him more credible or less credible?
Leave a comment:
thank you jangle and in addition to the PR thing, so MANY of us quick to throw our people under the bus it is so unbelievable!
everyone else protects their own, and we bawl dem down for that (but so they must) we on the other hand join the rablle "crucify him"! dem seh one perfect man walk the face of the this earth and for his troubles he got crucifixion ... as depeche mode seh .. "people are strange"!
Leave a comment:
I think, and this is just my opinion, that Pablo was probably voicing his concerns privately for a period of time, and they were ignoring his warnings. This forced him to go public.Originally posted by Islandman View PostPeople who know Paul Wright personally have said he has shared his concerns privately for a number of years, his current position is not a hurry come up thing.
I am not satisfied that he has gone public in a way that is meant to help the situation, but we do not know what he knows and is not saying either.
I am being very cautious about this whole thing and watching how it plays out. Too often as Jamaicans we like to put our head in the sand instead of looking out for our vulnerabilities before our enemies take advantage of them.
X is absolutely correct that we are losing the PR battle very badly but it also looks to me like we have left ourselves open for a lot of criticism. This is the big leagues and we are not up to it.
Leave a comment:
Him never expected such a fallout after he sold his soul. Bush = Shock and Awe!!! Then you appease John Public with video diagrams about the use of technology and "pin-point" strikes to hit designated targets. Casualties of War.
Leave a comment:
i HEARD paul wright on NNN saying that the article is NONSENSE and how many years he has know herb elliot etc etc. has he changed his position?
Leave a comment: