Academy on the move again?
when i was in south africa i made some contacts who do sports tours for youth teams as a JOB....
Sports Tourism?
Has that word ever come out of Boxhill or Burrell's mouth? That is a dream you and the Monro boys have.
It is good to dream but let us see something concrete first.
Leave a comment:
1biĀ·as: an inclination of temperament or outlook; especially : a personal and sometimes unreasoned judgment.
Karl, you have admitted to having a bias when it comes to where the academy should go. I don't. My choice is based on a vision of what I would like the academy to be. That vision fits nicely into the present site of the academy. You may remember that some Munro College old boys had developed some plans for one prior to the JFF even thinking about theirs. So, these thoughts are well-founded and well-considered. The whole idea of Sports Tourism is a major part of it all.
My points have been put together on why I think Munro is better than any other location suggested to date. Do a search and refresh your memory.
For me, GC Foster's location is a major problem. It's in an ant's nest and my vision of an academy did not entail being surrounded by ants (birds in your book!). For me, Sports Tourism and Spanish Town are like oil and water. The coinciding initials do lend themselves to some creative advertising, however!
I rest my case on this, Karl, especially since I can't imagine Burrell keeping it at Munro.
Have fun pressing your case! Mi gone!
Leave a comment:
the non commital stance can be a bargining card fi get a better deal then?
Leave a comment:
See previous posts!Originally posted by Assasin View PostWhat are the arguments for moving the academy if the land deal get signed?
Deal or no land deal the arguments stand!
If the decision is to move...then the land deal will not be signed without a renegotiation of price?
As it stands there is no contract! ...so a contract *duly executed would have to be done!
*really means as a matter of commonsense that both parties must come to a meeting of the minds and enter into binding committment to follow through on agreement(s).
As of now, if I am understanding correctly - there is no land deal surrounding that 22 acres Munro lands.
Leave a comment:
What are the arguments for moving the academy if the land deal get signed?
Leave a comment:
Treasure Beach - Munro Villa?Originally posted by Mosiah View Post
I will touch on just one of your queries - you ask how many rooms in Treasure Beach? More than GC Foster unless you are talking space in a morgue.
GC Foster and GC Foster?
Calm down and put your good points together on why the Academy must remain at Munro Villa?
I am saying it makes more sense to have it sited somewhere else. GC Foster in my mind is a great location...and, I have stated why ad nauseam!
Leave a comment:
Don't expect a point by point response, Karl. That would dignify some of the silly assumptions and statements. Take comfort in knowing that the Captain has already made the move.
Munro is probably not the best place for this academy but we can sure do better than GC Foster, what with all the traffic, congestion, crime, humidity, accessibility problems when the dons lock down the town, pollution, noise etc.
I will touch on just one of your queries - you ask how many rooms in Treasure Beach? More than GC Foster unless you are talking space in a morgue.
Leave a comment:
So you are interested in finding out if it is cheaper/more economical/makes greater financial and administrative sense to move it? ...and, if another venue would better serve Jamaica's football and thus Jamaica?Originally posted by Plush View PostBaddaz, I'm totally against moving the acadaemy. We already invested so much in Munro so it makes sense for us to complete it. I also like the fact that it's outside the city.
I was just speaking from a pure investment standpoint
Can't agree with you. I say let a through review be done...and, let the finds prove which is the best option- to say or to move. Once decided which is best, "just do it"!Last edited by Karl; December 13, 2007, 03:08 PM.
Leave a comment:
Is Cornwall in a densely populated area?Originally posted by Sickko View PostEven if it was 1000 years it still does not negate the fact that the location in Portmore was wrong for so many reasons and freeness does not make it right.
Putting the academy in the most densely populated areas in the entire English speaking Caribbean, also prone to crime, makes no sense at all.
It could end up costing more than the cost to build in Malvern and what I see people ignoring was the fact that the FIFA man gave the new site the thumbs up or the money would never have been released in the first place.
Is Shortwood College in a densely populated area?
What rot are you taking about? What has densely populated have to do with an enclosed, selfcontained area? It would not matter if it was in the middle of a Santa Cruz-like community if it was enclosed and selfcontained and was on large enough acreage...with easy and safe access!
Leave a comment:
The point was: Cost to bring it up to speed vs cost to have it sited where that would not have been necessary...Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWhat a set of nonsense questions, posed just to make a nepotistic point! Okay, let's assume it's on the side of a mountain - what? Can it accommodate residences and training facilities...?
...and, where expansion of the facilities would not entail (unnecessary) costs vs costs another local would not demand.
I would think that would be very important. You would like to, as far as possible, make it easy for those invited from any and all parts of the island to get to the facility?Why on God's green earth does this facility have to have "ease of access to all the JFF"? Nonsense argument...!!!
Right?
Perhaps, it is just silly old me down in Shady Pines, who would think of accessibility?
How many rooms?
Yuh need hotels, motels? They are aplenty 20 minutes away in Treasure Beach. Knock yourself out...!
I do not think because we have never, as far a s I know, had a student die because of length of time taken to get to a major medical facility or a doctor's office that it would be considered prudent to await the death of even one person before making such professional health services in say 10 minute or less reach?
Yuh need medical facilities? Mandeville is 40 minutes away (or 2 hours is your drive with Howard McIntosh or Happy Sutherland). Karl is trying to paint a picture of desolation that just doesn't exist. In all my years of familiarity with Munro College and all its sports teams, Hampton School and Bethlehem Teachers College, there has NEVER been a time when the location has caused serious problems to any student. Each school has clinic which access to doctors in the area. And this was way before the transportation available today to Junction, Black River and Mandeville.
Where?
Public transportation? That is not even an issue. You don't need the academy located in a bus terminal, yet there is ample transportation to get around to nearby towns...
You go out to the gate and flag down a car?
...and, why would you not want to have the option to reduce costs for the JFF? ...particularly when it is perpetually broke?Again, I would not want the "JFF headquarters/administrative section" to be moved to this facility. If that's the crux of the matter, then yes, move it...!
Leave a comment:
What a set of nonsense questions, posed just to make a nepotistic point! Okay, let's assume it's on the side of a mountain - what? Can it accommodate residences and training facilities...?
Why on God's green earth does this facility have to have "ease of access to all the JFF"? Nonsense argument...!!!Originally posted by Karl View PostI visited and immediately I wondered about costs associated with making the academy fully functional - support systems? i.e. Water, sewage disposal/garbage disposal systems, etc. - physical? - It is situated on the side of a mountain! Any outdoor training facilities needed on site? If yes - Additional costs to bring it up to speed?
...and, yes, I have thought about ease of access to all the JFF may wish to use the facility?
Yuh need hotels, motels? They are aplenty 20 minutes away in Treasure Beach. Knock yourself out...!Originally posted by Karl View Post...and, proximity to hotels, motels houses, medical facilities, public transportation, etc?
Yuh need medical facilities? Mandeville is 40 minutes away (or 2 hours is your drive with Howard McIntosh or Happy Sutherland). Karl is trying to paint a picture of desolation that just doesn't exist. In all my years of familiarity with Munro College and all its sports teams, Hampton School and Bethlehem Teachers College, there has NEVER been a time when the location has caused serious problems to any student. Each school has clinic which access to doctors in the area. And this was way before the transportation available today to Junction, Black River and Mandeville.
Public transportation? That is not even an issue. You don't need the academy located in a bus terminal, yet there is ample transportation to get around to nearby towns...
.Again, I would not want the "JFF headquarters/administrative section" to be moved to this facility. If that's the crux of the matter, then yes, move it...!Originally posted by Karl View Post..and, could the JFF headquarters/administrative section be moved to this facility? ...feasible?
...would it lend itself to improving efficiencies in JFF's managing of the football?
Leave a comment:
I visited and immediately I wondered about costs associated with making the academy fully functional - support systems? i.e. Water, sewage disposal/garbage disposal systems, etc. - physical? - It is situated on the side of a mountain! Any outdoor training facilities needed on site? If yes - Additional costs to bring it up to speed?Originally posted by Baddaz View Postplush... point well taken... the fact, is we dont know all the terms and conditions or options associated with the proposed lease arrangment...
as you said about the investment... that would be all good if it was stated and executed as the objective for pursuing the lease arrangement... not sure, i have the confidence that any of the administrators would commit to the investment...
my primary objection is the consideration give to the location of the academy across from the portmore mall... whats with the fixation of everything being in a cluster... munro has been a fine institution for years at the same location... that location has never been an issue... why is the location now an issue with the academy...
if its not next door to the stakeholders house, its unacceptable...
...and, yes, I have thought about ease of access to all the JFF may wish to use the facility?
...and, proximity to hotels, motels houses, medical facilities, public transportation, etc?
...and, could the JFF headquarters/administrative section be moved to this facility? ...feasible?
...would it lend itself to improving efficiencies in JFF's managing of the football?
Leave a comment:
Sickko, allow them to run wid dis lease argument, it's one of the few they have left. The fact is, it is speculative at best.
And who says FIFA would have liked the academy being shared with institutions like GC Foster? For all we know, GC could be looking to sponge off FIFA. The same can't be said about the Munro deal where only the fields are up for negotiation.
However, if the Captain doesn't get his way with this one, the academy might be starved to death. I can't see the Captain losing this one and putting his heart and soul in it.
Leave a comment:
Even if it was 1000 years it still does not negate the fact that the location in Portmore was wrong for so many reasons and freeness does not make it right.
Putting the academy in the most densely populated areas in the entire English speaking Caribbean, also prone to crime, makes no sense at all.
It could end up costing more than the cost to build in Malvern and what I see people ignoring was the fact that the FIFA man gave the new site the thumbs up or the money would never have been released in the first place.
Leave a comment: