The quality is better - Simoes
and then watched 45 minutes of another. two different matches, four different teams.
Leave a comment:
wha? he is in jamaica as a what? imf fact finder? the man is a football td who is getting paid to assess talent and football.....
do what you will but as for me and my house we will give simoes the benefit of the doubt on that!
Leave a comment:
Just to go 'deeper' - Let us accept as fact that the quality of the NPL is greater than what held during Simoes' first term...and, truth is I also think that what I have seen during my visits '98 through to last year, shows an improving EPL...but, how does that improvement 'fit' within what we see, in say, the EPL, other European leagues...and how does that 'stack up' against our expectations of our national teams walking at the TOP OF THE WORLD?Originally posted by Tilla View PostThank you sah. The man is making a professional acessment based on his training and experience in the field. The majority of us here do not have what it take to make that call.
Would, for example, love to qualify for the 2010 World Cup...but, I would be in a r*&^%$$ mood if having got there our performances were similar to the naive ('98 to '98 other teams comparisons), sub-par (Yes, even in the Japan match which we won...and, as an aside - Japan is no longer the '98 Japan!)...even stupid performances (when compared to what currently holds as TOP WORLD performances) we put on show to world in 1998!
Leave a comment:
Club football in Jamaica today is far better than it was in 1994 when simoes landed here. Players are now being paid to play the game, facilities, while nowhere where they should be, are miles ahead of what they were back in 1994. I dont believe Simoes is saying our club football is world standard, I believe what he is saying is that its better than what it was back then. And yes, T&T clubs with its droves of Brazilians and Caribbean nationals, are still losing to Jamaica club teams.
Leave a comment:
How you know he is making a "professional assessment"? People need to stop and think instead of grabbing onto every feel good word.Originally posted by Tilla View PostThank you sah. The man is making a professional acessment based on his training and experience in the field. The majority of us here do not have what it take to make that call.
How many of us watch the PMU vs Boys Town game? Well ... my back broad .. make me down as the only one as seeing this as a PR thing by Simoes.
Quality better where?
Leave a comment:
Thank you sah. The man is making a professional acessment based on his training and experience in the field. The majority of us here do not have what it take to make that call.
Leave a comment:
Mi say .. review the match reports of PMUs game against the Mexican club .. then talk to me. Isn't it strange, you're accusing me of jumping to conclusions? Unuh mek me laff more time.Originally posted by Assasin View Postwhy would he be on a PR thing.
I personally thing the clubs have improved tremendously in structure and administratively and this is shown on the field as well even if there is no Fuller and Bibi in the league.
You need fi look and compare and stop just jump to conculsion. When in our history have our clubs competed so well against others?
The league may not be the best but it nuh mean it nuh improve. Has the MLS improved? How so?
Leave a comment:
i know you probbaly couldn't do it ... maybe not me either. but he is a seasoned coach who spent many years here watching the same teams in the same competition...i think all things considered he is qualified to make that statement and i would more than give him the benefit of the doubt.
Leave a comment:
why would he be on a PR thing.
I personally thing the clubs have improved tremendously in structure and administratively and this is shown on the field as well even if there is no Fuller and Bibi in the league.
You need fi look and compare and stop just jump to conculsion. When in our history have our clubs competed so well against others?
The league may not be the best but it nuh mean it nuh improve. Has the MLS improved? How so?
Leave a comment:
I cannot locate the match reports .... I recall Portmore playing against a Mexican club in the Concacaf club championship ... I recommend if unuh can find it .. look at the match cards .. then talk to me.Originally posted by Assasin View PostPortmore, and HV competed against North American teams and none have been embarrassed as we usually are.
How do you explain that?
Simoes on a PR thing ... him trying to get the masses excited fi full the stadium at the next home game. I've never believed that the cow jumped over the moon Sass ... and mi not gonna start now.
Leave a comment: