Reds ready for Berbatov splash

• Reds ready for Berbatov splash

UNITED'S pre-season injury crisis could force manager Sir Alex Ferguson to pay Tottenham's full £28m asking price for Dimitar Berbatov.

Fergie has revealed Wayne Rooney is unlikely to be ready for the Premier League kick-off as he struggles to shake off a virus picked up in Nigeria.

The England forward joins Cristiano Ronaldo, Nani, Anderson and Owen Hargreaves on the list of players who look set to miss the start of United's defence of their Premier League crown.

If the on-off Berbatov saga does not come to a satisfactory conclusion for the Reds boss, he is ready to compete with neighbours City for Blackburn's in-demand South American hitman Roque Santa Cruz who he could land for £15m.

Ferguson said: "I'm starting to worry about whether we are going to have a team ready for the start of the season because Nani is suspended, Anderson is at the Olympics and I doubt if we will get Rooney fit after the virus he has had.

"He picked it up in Nigeria and it's not a nice one. It's 12 days until the season starts and he's not been able to train."

Rooney's likely absence has intensified United's need for extra firepower with Louis Saha also set to leave Old Trafford.

Suffered

As revealed in Friday's M.E.N. Sport, up to eight United players went down with the bug but Rooney clearly suffered most.

Ferguson identified a striker as a priority at the end of last season and has had a £20m bid for Berbatov rejected.

But he has been handed an unlikely boost in his bid for the Bulgarian hitman with City unwittingly pushing him closer than ever to Old Trafford.

With City defender Vedran Corluka expected to complete a £7m switch to White Hart Lane, Spurs must start to recoup some of their cash.

Juande Ramos has already spent £15m on David Bentley and still wants forwards with Euro 2008 stars David Villa, Andrei Arshavin and Roman Pavlyuchenko all in his sights.

And despite off-loading Robbie Keane to Liverpool for £20m, he will need the £28m from the sale of Berbatov to balance the books.

Spurs are resigned to losing the striker and are understood to be willing to do business with United once they have a replacement secured.

Meanwhile, West Ham are the latest club to be linked with Saha, who looks certain to leave Old Trafford this summer for Fulham or Sunderland.

Wow, Tottenham is a big spender

like United and Chelsea. Liverpool not doing so badly either with spending the bucks.

Where is the STEEL in midFEEL and the Sol Campbell type center half
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

Mek me sing a SONG

Alex SONG that is, STEEL in midFEEL?
      http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

Originally posted by Mexxx View Post
        Alex SONG that is, STEEL in midFEEL?
        I think that youth must be given a chance Mexx. Saw him against the Empire last season and he wasn't that bad. Wasn't it the same player that was booed by Arsenal fans last season?

Then again, don't worry ... Wenger nuh say him planning on winning the EPL and CL titles.

No Arsenal fans have had a dramatic about face on Song

I think that youth must be given a chance Mexx. Saw him against the Empire last season and he wasn't that bad. Wasn't it the same player that was booed by Arsenal fans last season?

Then again, don't worry ... Wenger nuh say him planning on winning the EPL and CL titles.
          last year especially after the African Nations cup where he was the MAN MOUNTAIN no dibby dibby could get over.
          2 years ago Arsenal fans thought he was worthless and couldnt pass to save his life.

Mexx would you take shaha...

Are you on crack OJ?

Originally posted by OJ View Post
              Mexx would you take shaha...
              Saha is like RvP, always in the infirmary.

Which team do you think has the best forward line? or the best front 2?

By the way, I dont agree with your assessment of Bentley, I think he has MAJOR potential.

SIDENOTE: If Onandi Lowe was Defensive Midfielder he would still be playing today and for a Big Team. When you have a player that plays center half and center forward well that is more than the basic ingredients for a GREAT STEEL in midFEEL

Mi striker touch the wrong African girl

you mean Bentner.. I think he is like a chicken foot on a plate of finely garnished lobster.. Good in the air but always messes up our intricate passing sequences.. Tell you what I think we need a healthy Saha or Martins.. Someone with pace and a knack for scoring goals. I dont know who have the best forward line but Manu U has a host of midfielders and forwards who can score when healthy.. Pool has some nice piecs Torres and babel who creates problems. We need a stikers and I dont think he is our camp at the moment.. I would resurrect Saha career a change of scenery make help.. Another option is Eto but I dont think Wegner will go fo it.. the status quo though is not good.