• 'No more transfers to United', says Ferguson

By Simon Stone, Press Association

Sir Alex Ferguson handed Michael Owen the prized Manchester United number seven shirt and then declared Old Trafford closed for transfer business.

It was anticipated Ferguson would make further signings in addition to Owen, Antonio Valencia and Gabriel Obertan, who joined last week from Bordeaux.
    But, faced with a market over-inflated by Real Madrid and Manchester City, Ferguson has decided his current squad is good enough to challenge for an unprecedented fourth consecutive league title, even though Cristiano Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez have left.
    "It is the end of our business, so all these stories about who were are supposed to be getting - forget it," he said.
    It means Owen will take over Ronaldo's shirt and his place in an attacking line-up containing Wayne Rooney and Dimitar Berbatov, plus youngsters Daniel Welbeck and Federico Macheda, who will both be given a chance to prove they are worthy of the accolades that have been bestowed on them.
    "They are both young players," he added, "but young players with ability always get a chance here."
    Ferguson confirmed he made a bid for Karim Benzema, only to be rebuffed by the Lyon man, who instead became part of Real Madrid's extraordinary spending spree.
    With a world record £80million burning a hole in his pocket following the sale of Ronaldo, United had the funds to compete.
    But Ferguson refuses to be drawn into a bidding war for any player beyond the level he thinks is acceptable.
    "There are some amazing numbers being talked about, not all of them realistic," he said. "It is very difficult to get value now. In a way we benefited through the sale of Cristiano, although that figure was non-negotiable.
    "But I feel we have a good squad, which meant there was no need for knee-jerk reactions. We asked about Benzema and we had a value for him. Lyon have done well because they got €42million but I think we took a sensible view."

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/f...n-1744387.html

No Ashley Young?

Why!? Unu captain seh dat Owen is the new Tevez...unu nuh need no more dan dat

Neville: Owen the ideal replacement for Tevez

Gary Neville says Michael Owen is the ideal player to replace Carlos Tevez, who looks set for rivals Manchester City.

GettyImages
      Michael Owen: The new Tevez?
      Sir Alex Ferguson snapped Owen up on a free transfer after the 29-year-old's disappointing spell at Newcastle.

And Neville, United's club captain, says Owen will repay Ferguson's faith in goals: "He (Owen) is at Manchester United because the gaffer believes he can score goals," he told Goal.com. "He is ideal now Carlos Tevez is gone."

"He has an opportunity to play at the highest level, at one of the biggest clubs in the world and of course, possibly regain his England place - but that will be at the discretion of the manager."

While Owen's international future is grabbing the headlines, Neville's own England ambitions were reignited by a shock recall to Fabio Capello's squad for the end of season World Cup qualifiers.

But the 34-year-old insists thoughts of playing in South Africa next summer haven't entered his head just yet. "At this moment, I'm just thinking about playing in every single game that I can. I've missed too many England games over the past few years," he said. "But the most important thing is helping England qualify for the World Cup.

"We have taken it for granted that we've been there at almost every major tournament. We seem to have a feeling in this country of, 'Oh, quarter-finals, it's a disgrace, we've got to get past that,' and yes, we do have to get past that. But first things first, we've got to qualify, and it's hard work qualifying.

"Traditionally, we have tended to play in a more rigid system, but the boss has developed a more flexible and fluid team and the players are thriving."

who is older, owen or tevez?

Owen is 29, Tevez is 24 or 25

Is it possible that the Master of the Mind Games is up to something? Lets see if the prices gonna start decreasing now?

Sir Alex Ferguson is making a massive mistake

Posted by CathalBreathnach

Manchester boss Sir Alex Ferguson has today stated that the Premier League Champions will not be spending anymore money during this summer transfer window.
              As we all know by now, United sold Cristiano Ronaldo for a world record £80 million earlier this summer and it was widely expected that Ferguson would go out and spend big, however that won’t be happening anymore. United have spent just £20 million so far on the likes of Antonio Valencia, Gabriel Obertan and Michael Owen.
              I was shocked to hear Ferguson’s comments earlier today. Let’s face it, United haven’t bought any exceptional players and personally, I can’t see them winning a 4th straight Premier League title next season with their current squad.
              So if Ferguson has finished his summer spending, where is the other £60 million from the Ronaldo deal going? Can United still win the title next season?

The 60M is going to pay down debt. Can United still win the title next season? That is a stupid question. Of course they can. The other players will have to step up. They have to figure out collectively how to replace the 40% goal production of Tevez/Ronaldo. Owen will get goals in their system and so will Valencia - will it make up the 40%, I doubt it, but no matter the scum will be there in the mix stinkin up the place as usual.

suh how him gwine to be the "new tevez"?

Ask Lazie - a fi him team. Him suppose to know.

suh how him gwine to be the "new tevez"?
                      Its clear what was meant. Owen will chip in with the goals Tevez was expected to score. Owen will have no problem coming off the bench, therefore there should be no sulking and bitching about not starting.

Ask Lazie - a fi him team. Him suppose to know.
                        Yuh sounding jealous.

Now that's the Paul Marin that I like. I agree with SAF 150% and I have been saying the same thing since the start of the transfer season. We have enough depth in our squad to compensate for the loss. We need to revisit our tactics that we used when Ruud left. our midfielders stepped up and contributed significantly. Same thing, different year.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The 60M is going to pay down debt. Can United still win the title next season? That is a stupid question. Of course they can. The other players will have to step up. They have to figure out collectively how to replace the 40% goal production of Tevez/Ronaldo. Owen will get goals in their system and so will Valencia - will it make up the 40%, I doubt it, but no matter the scum will be there in the mix stinkin up the place as usual.
                            40% goal production? You're aware the hayters said the same thing when Ruud left? Hope you realise what took place.

Fergie is no idiot, he knows the minute he is interest in a player either Real, Milan, Chelsea or Man City a go up the bid for that player.

Fergie believe in his youths or he wouldn't sell Frazier Campbell to Sunderland this week for 6 million. Fergie like Wenger believe in their youths. I have seen so many post on this forums about the youths in their clubs. Now is the time to get behind and watch Fergie work his magic. Manu is going to compete especially if Heargreaves is healhty to stand up in the middle.