Carvel Stewart questions JFF's selection process

don't even bother try that. I said Burrell must arrange as much match as possilble that our fringe players can get enough game at this level.

The answer for many of you was because we have high FIFA rankings we shouldn't play these countries. The ironic thing is unnu right because we lose the FIFA ranking .

Nowhere I have ever said we should play our strongest squads. If we have a don't find way to develop our frindge players we will NEVER be a strong squad.

Now pressure you say we fi play them for developmental reason. NOWHERE BEFORE HAVE YOU SAID THAT. You simple said it was a waste of time.

Let me break down my position for you

It is a waste of time for the senior team to play Caribbean minnows unless there is no other choice... those teams cannot improve us. Jamaica needs to target teams equal or superior so we can grow

It is great for a team of youth or fringe players to play Caribbean teams...the exposure will be a positive.
      If I never specifically said that before it is irrelevant. I have not stated my position on every conceivable variable.

Desist from your attempts to define my beliefs... I can do that far better than you can

Thanks in advance
      Last edited by Don1; December 15, 2012, 11:01 AM.

"If I never specifically said that before it is irrelevant."

It is not because that is what I have been saying all along. If the team is inactive arrange a few games for these players to get themselves aquainted with the international game, don't wait until bigtime you throw them to the wolves and expect them to perform. They are sitll apart of the team. A team is not just the first 11.

My views on Carvel's statement, if you care to know:

He is being a little slick to suggest that we could 9 non-Jamaicans on the field at any one time. Many of them play the same position so it is unlikely this could happen. But I understand Carvel not pointing that out since he was trying to make a particular point.

That particular point he is trying to make is one I agree with. This should come as no surprise to Forumites. I never was for the shopping that seems to take place every 4 years. Remember, Carvel said he had no problem with the two foreign-developed players who committed themselves to the program when it was not fashionable to do so. And that has been my position from a longer time.

And for those who say Carvel and other local club managers have failed, well, they were good enough to develop a Bibi, a Rudi, a Donovan Ricketts, a Tappa, a Maestro and the rest of them. Is there any responsibility on the part of the JFF to get a certain number of friendlies for these local players to develop?

Remember how we got to WC 98?!?

You are perfectly entitled to your opinion... but the original discussion was NEVER about blooding fringe players. That is a concept I support

That's it. I've changed my opinion...patwa really does need to be taught
              yuh did han-da stan doh?
              Yuh ear hit rite!

lol

And for those who say Carvel and other local club managers have failed, well, they were good enough to develop a Bibi, a Rudi, a Donovan Ricketts, a Tappa, a Maestro and the rest of them. Is there any responsibility on the part of the JFF to get a certain number of friendlies for these local players to develop?

Remember how we got to WC 98?!?
                  The development takes place before they get to the age of friendly internationals. The clubs are failing in that respect.

Our players are succeeding despite the limitations. We here the same complaints over and over from foreign coaches. The JFF is responsible also for not developing these coaches and creating a stronger environment for learning.

don't even bother try that. I said Burrell must arrange as much match as possilble that our fringe players can get enough game at this level.

The answer for many of you was because we have high FIFA rankings we shouldn't play these countries. The ironic thing is unnu right because we lose the FIFA ranking .

Nowhere I have ever said we should play our strongest squads. If we have a don't find way to develop our frindge players we will NEVER be a strong squad.

Now pressure you say we fi play them for developmental reason. NOWHERE BEFORE HAVE YOU SAID THAT. You simple said it was a waste of time.
                    In major tournaments and "big games" you should play your strongest squad available, but you also need to expose the local players to international standard of ball by playing friendly against caribbean teams etc.

Many of them were never going to see the Hex, even if they had won the whole thing!

The JFF did not meet with these 8 players because they were promised good tea.

It will really be interesting what the make-up will be for Feb. 6.

Yes! ...it shall be!

Mosiah how will it change from your aptly stated

admission that any 10 plus Hue will do...lol
                          "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

My Problem With Ja Football is the ignorance

of so many people who should be aware of better selection and quality of the players when they are selected.

for example, Every person apart from the selectors knew Hue should have been a part of the set-up since Jah knows when..... It's so foolhardy to expect better so i will desist...Really laughable how they constantly scape goat their best distributor of the ball until the team is in dire strait.
                            "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Can you compare us with France .
                              So right! France doesn't do it yet they have a deeper pool to choose from!

So you are satisfied with a the production of a Lindy - 1940s, Skill - 1960s or Bibi -1990s once on average every 20+ years?

If I had been asked before seeing your above post if that was your thinking I would have said, "Hell, NO!"

Well Carvel came on the scene as an administrator in the 1980s but 1 Bibi quality player out of H/V since 1980 is not what will have me turning cartwheels. The lusture of that 1990s achievement has faded. When shall H/V (and our other clubs) move to having an assembly line churning out top quality professional players? ...when will we be able to put on the field a local NPL (RSPL) 'pick-up TEAM' and whap 2nd form quality teams such as that met in the Caribbean CUP?