Costa Rica!!! Costa Rica!!! Costa Rica!!!

Agree FULL 100. The ref was not consistent on his calls and, I thought that, in context of previous calls, unfairly penalized the Costa Ricans. He then further compounded the matter by allowing the Greeks to similar commit offenses to that on which he dismissed the Costa Rican player without even issuing a caution.

The WCQ mania causes the JFF to take stupid shortcuts to try to qualify ... using hordes of UB40s for example. This reduces the exposure and motivation of locals...retarding their development before they have a chance to learn what the intl game is about

The WCQ mania forces the JFF to think and act short term... paying lip service to development with all the silly hype surrounding "the next world cup"

Any one who doesn't see that hasn't learned the lessons of the past 16 years of failure... and will probably support more of the same fockery
      Last edited by Don1; June 30, 2014, 03:04 PM.

As a national federation that is strapped for cash, it makes every sense to try and qualify for the World Cup. A World Cup qualified team is guaranteed US$12.5 million for the group stage participation. The money increases the deeper they go into the competition.

So even if they used your so called "Snow Ballers" to get us there, there are financial benefits which can help the program going forward with good management.

World Cup qualification is a financial windfall for any team just getting there. It would be foolish not to make every effort to be there for the exposure and the financial benefit.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The WCQ mania causes the JFF to take stupid shortcuts to try to qualify ... using hordes of UB40s for example. This reduces the exposure and motivation of locals...retarding their development before they have a chance to learn what the intl game is about

The WCQ mania forces the JFF to think and act short term... paying lip service to development with all the silly hype surrounding "the next world cup"

Any one who doesn't see that hasn't learned the lessons of the past 16 years of failure... and will probably support more of the same fockery
          In the context of your above: Please explain the JFF's acts/action during the off-years=years before Qualifiers commence?

Dunny that specious argument sounds like a cop out which lays the groundwork for continued use of the current ridiculous strategy. This 50 year argument must be rejected by any means necessary.

Jamaica can be competitive with Costa Rica within 10 years if we're smart and use what natural advantages we have to maximum effect

The first job is to get rid of the mania about qualifying for the "next world cup" using shortcuts and replace that with mania about development.

It won't happen since we'll continue to be likkle hurry-come-ups using stupid short cuts... since the football leadership is stupid and fans are unaware
            The next World Cup is 4 years away...and you are saying abandon our senior program? ...or are you?

In any case, explain how abandoning an attempt at qualifying for a World Cup hinders local development?

I don't care if we study CR, USA, Algeria, Australia or whoever, it won't matter as we simply do not have the right people to execute. Until we accept that we don't know how to do things, get people who have been successful to run things, and give them what they need, we won't get there. Our mentality is not of that ilk unfortunately, we are too cheap (or broke but I don't accept that). What we fail to realise is that while being cheap is expensive being arrogant is even worse.
              Good chat, sah!

If the ref were a fish he'd be CARP!

Poor officiating almost undid C.R...

...there is also inflow of funds from overseas friendlies and tournaments...and the greatest inflows are when the national senior team plays. In other words having a) an active national senior team...and...b) competitive national senior team brings in needed funds for 'the football'.

In the context of your above: Please explain the JFF's acts/action during the off-years=years before Qualifiers commence?
                    Other than stupidity... I cannot

The next World Cup is 4 years away...and you are saying abandon our senior program? ...or are you?

In any case, explain how abandoning an attempt at qualifying for a World Cup hinders local development?
                      Nope I'm not saying abandon... but be prepared to sacrifice 2018 qualification for development purposes.

I'm saying using a mainly local core group, see the next world cup campaign not as an end in itself but as part of the longer term player/team development project (accompanied by a strong youth development program) .... then qualify or not for 2018 we'll have a solid core for 2022 and beyond to build on

Youth development...senior player development...and world cup prep must be integrated in a self-sustaining circle

Bring in good, committed UB40s to fill gaps AFTER we at least have some kind of program they can add value to

We've failed for 4 cycles and definitely don't have good prospects with the current approach...why not (possibly) sacrifice one WCQ cycle for long term gain???
                      Last edited by Don1; June 30, 2014, 06:16 PM.

World Cup prioritization in our backward development environment is JFF-type thinking....exactly what has focked up Jamaican football since 1998

Time to break out of the crap..

Nope I'm not saying abandon... but be prepared to sacrifice 2018 qualification for development purposes.

I'm saying using a mainly local core group, see the next world cup campaign not as an end in itself but as part of the longer term player/team development project (accompanied by a strong youth development program) .... then qualify or not for 2018 we'll have a solid core for 2022 and beyond to build on

Youth development...senior player development...and world cup prep must be integrated in a self-sustaining circle

Bring in good, committed UB40s to fill gaps AFTER we at least have some kind of program they can add value to

We've failed for 4 cycles and definitely don't have good prospects with the current approach...why not (possibly) sacrifice one WCQ cycle for long term gain???
                          Don1, how about using the best available players regardless where they are born
                          develop the next generation of young players so in 12-14 years we have some serious homegrown players to compete with the snow ballers and then we may be as strong as Algeria and the USA etc

Yuh rite...dem fool-fool bad! ...still...????

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                              Don1, how about using the best available players regardless where they are born
                              develop the next generation of young players so in 12-14 years we have some serious homegrown players to compete with the snow ballers and then we may be as strong as Algeria and the USA etc
                              Sounds good on the surface and that's where we should end up after a good local development project starts bearing fruit in 4-8 years

It's a chicken vs egg situation....

Jamaica-based players will not be able to compete with foreign-based UNLESS they're exposed to good development programs AND consistent, high level international play.... That's why this is Job #1 and using UB40s en masse now is not sensible

If we use the "best available players" now i.e. mainly foreign-based players ... that goal you stated will NEVER be reached...yuhzimi?
                              Last edited by Don1; June 30, 2014, 06:39 PM.

If we use the "best available players" now i.e. mainly foreign-based players ... that goal you stated will NEVER be reached...yuhzimi?
                                Yuh kno dat nuh lagic? ...it is quality teachers and students that will determine outcome. i.e. whether or not the exposure to development system geared to enable greatest of development?

Why can we not have local players, clubs...playing against best players in the world/playing against and learning from best?

Traveling teams, teams invited to Jamaica...?
                                Our teachers (coaches) --- *not going on FIFA courses or UEFA coaching courses...but to my GUNNERS, Real Madrid...etc., etc.? France's top academies? ..."the Belgian way"? Spain's academies? ...and returning and sharing that knowledge? ...teachers from top clubs programs coming to JA to teach...(Hey...haven't we not for years being 'running' an education system where ex-pats visit and teach in our schools? ...that constant infusing the system with cutting edge teaching techniques? ...do we not send our teacher-training college lecturers on sabbaticals? Well?

Cross-fertilization so desperately needed... Fact is, we should 'empty our coaches' minds of the nonsense it is filled with and expose them to 'coaching'...real coaching! ...it then follow that our kids will be...