Greatest contradiction in yard ball!

• Greatest contradiction in yard ball!

The thing that we least produce, the area that we are always talking about, the greatest need in jamaican football, the position that we have had the least success in filling in professional leagues in the last twenty years or the last fifty years; the attacking midfielder, the creative force behind the team, the one that everybody is always waxing on an on about finding the 'player' who can fit this role yet the very thing we are looking for and have had the least success in creating we have no way to measure or create standards for success in that position.

Andy Williams showed us the way in the Mls with 86 assists in 189 matches, he is in the top ten all time assists list of the Mls yet in Jamaica we still don't track the assist, how do we find productive creative midfielders, by how good them bruk and bob, is that how Benbow gets selected on a team and yet players who show a high level of productivity cannot get recognized in this one critical area of identifying talent.

How do we recognize that attacking midfield is so important yet do little or nothing to actually measure the most crucial stat for such a position.

It is Time to measure the assist in all school leagues and competitions, prizes and cups for assist leaders, such an emphasis will change the way we play ball, when players realize that there is more to ball than being the last guy to touch the ball into the goal, real change and development will happen when players get rewarded for building up play and passes that will lead to assists on goal.

Stoni dont disagree but the first thing we need to do is proper playing surfaces. We have 70% unemployment all that jeep money should go to fixing fields , grading seeding and irrigation....

Yeah, but this one almost cost zero, infrastructure is already in place to measure goals so cost of adding and measuring assists especially as compared to benefit the cost is pretty low. Grading, seeding, irrigation all are real physical and tangible hard costs. This just goes again to show that the easy steps that can change perception, change thinking of players, not even that kind of change is being made.

Every change I have called for is sustainable and builds on top of existing infrastructure, the thing Jamaicans are worse at is long term maintenance, we have no clue what this means even with a ton of money, we are still unprepared for ltm it is a fundamental shift from short term survival thinking to long term settlement development thinking, we are just not there yet.

It can be done but Stoni, as the game gets faster on the poor surfaces, players cannot keep their head up before the ball arrives or even with the ball because if they take their eyes off the ball anything can happen.

"finding"? yuh tink is suh dis ting go...you have to develop players...they aren't hiding somewhere...they are running up and down wasting their time for Georges & Wolmers..waiting on somebody to develop them properly

All stadium field look like hell now!

Yeah Gamma a point is in there but we have too much damn excuse.

Does Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Senegal have better club fields and school pitches than Jamaica, yet they consistently produce better players and sides.
              http://www.goal.com/en/news/1658/gha...uropes-sublime

A simple change in tracking can change the focus of our ball slightly and create more focus on passing as a way to get recognition which can in fact change the way we play. Tracking and posting assists will create a rafter of midfielders showing their wares in passing rather than always trying to score to get a little recognition, as that is their only real opportunity now, top goal scorer is covered in every way from game articles to season tracking of goal scorers, you don't think those guys looking at the papers to see them name and where they stand.

When you look at forwards versus midfielders we have produced professional forwards aplenty that have been strong contributors in epl, mls and championship, fuller, Lowe, Ralph, Cummings, mattocks, brown, etc etc, attacking midfielder that has contributed in one of those leagues, one guy Andy Williams.

the track and field coach just took over the reins of the KC Manning Cup football team...like you don't realise what Jamaican football is up against

All me can tell you is every Jamaican I meet at my kids games who play ball say the same thing "if we get this training when we were kids". Our field is not the greatest but there are some stark differences. Smaller field, six a side.

You have to go training at least 2 days a week 4 optional and Fridays are skill training, mostly learning moves and specialize goalkeeping training for those who want it. The field is one thing but we need to put in the work, sensible work, not with people who think "they know it" but with people who know it.

We need to spread the knowledge of the better coaches, work as a unit and get the better players as a unit on the better grounds we have and let them work every so often. Having two good baller on a weak teams across the island will not help us and they only get call up 3 weeks before competition, some never even played on a good field or before 2 thousand people all their lives, Plus other don't know what it is to pass the ball and get it back.
                    Last edited by Assasin; October 7, 2014, 10:39 AM.

stoni, we have the same dusty fields ALL over jamaica. so what is the difference? senegalese and camerounians for example have EASIER access to getting a chance to go to europe to play its easier!

how many 25 year olds get signed directly from ghana? it was easier for didie drogba to get to france than it is for any jamaican player to get there or even to england.

the difference is at what age does the opportunity present itself. soemwhere along the line they took an chance on african players en masse and it is now EASIER to get a player from africa to get to play in europe than it is to get one from jamaica. those are the facts!

aside from playing on the steets, what is the state of club football in these countries? and what of the fields? take ghana for example they have professional clubs and good fields with stadia holding over 40,000 spectators.

those kids playing in the street are playing for a chance to play 220 football for one of the pro clubs and then move on. THAT is where we fall short...

Stoni yuh ah trod pon Damascus Rd fi reel....

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                        The thing that we least produce, the area that we are always talking about, the greatest need in jamaican football, the position that we have had the least success in filling in professional leagues in the last twenty years or the last fifty years; the attacking midfielder, the creative force behind the team, the one that everybody is always waxing on an on about finding the 'player' who can fit this role yet the very thing we are looking for and have had the least success in creating we have no way to measure or create standards for success in that position.

Andy Williams showed us the way in the Mls with 86 assists in 189 matches, he is in the top ten all time assists list of the Mls yet in Jamaica we still don't track the assist, how do we find productive creative midfielders, by how good them bruk and bob, is that how Benbow gets selected on a team and yet players who show a high level of productivity cannot get recognized in this one critical area of identifying talent.

How do we recognize that attacking midfield is so important yet do little or nothing to actually measure the most crucial stat for such a position.

It is Time to measure the assist in all school leagues and competitions, prizes and cups for assist leaders, such an emphasis will change the way we play ball, when players realize that there is more to ball than being the last guy to touch the ball into the goal, real change and development will happen when players get rewarded for building up play and passes that will lead to assists on goal.
                        Affi respek yuh football shift to local development... aldo di conversion did tek some big kick offa mi Tims ova nuff months
                        Last edited by Don1; October 7, 2014, 02:46 PM.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                          Stoni dont disagree but the first thing we need to do is proper playing surfaces. We have 70% unemployment all that jeep money should go to fixing fields , grading seeding and irrigation....

because it is better you dribble and try to score than try to pass ....

look how we play ... hoofing it to the forward and hoping for the best because we are not used to passing it through the midfield from the back.

Cho gamma come oFFA dat point, so Senegal, Ghana, Nigeria and Cameroon have more access to those leagues than jamaica, no I don't believe that one bit, the talent and development of talent is better, we are creating a Darwinian hell for our players Nuff competition and no development.