• Bricktop
    replied
    the track and field coach just took over the reins of the KC Manning Cup football team...like you don't realise what Jamaican football is up against

Leave a comment:

• Stonigut
    replied
    A simple change in tracking can change the focus of our ball slightly and create more focus on passing as a way to get recognition which can in fact change the way we play. Tracking and posting assists will create a rafter of midfielders showing their wares in passing rather than always trying to score to get a little recognition, as that is their only real opportunity now, top goal scorer is covered in every way from game articles to season tracking of goal scorers, you don't think those guys looking at the papers to see them name and where they stand.

When you look at forwards versus midfielders we have produced professional forwards aplenty that have been strong contributors in epl, mls and championship, fuller, Lowe, Ralph, Cummings, mattocks, brown, etc etc, attacking midfielder that has contributed in one of those leagues, one guy Andy Williams.

Leave a comment:

• Stonigut
    replied
    Yeah Gamma a point is in there but we have too much damn excuse.

Does Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Senegal have better club fields and school pitches than Jamaica, yet they consistently produce better players and sides.
    http://www.goal.com/en/news/1658/gha...uropes-sublime

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    All stadium field look like hell now!

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    "finding"? yuh tink is suh dis ting go...you have to develop players...they aren't hiding somewhere...they are running up and down wasting their time for Georges & Wolmers..waiting on somebody to develop them properly

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    It can be done but Stoni, as the game gets faster on the poor surfaces, players cannot keep their head up before the ball arrives or even with the ball because if they take their eyes off the ball anything can happen.

Leave a comment:

• Stonigut
    replied
    Yeah, but this one almost cost zero, infrastructure is already in place to measure goals so cost of adding and measuring assists especially as compared to benefit the cost is pretty low. Grading, seeding, irrigation all are real physical and tangible hard costs. This just goes again to show that the easy steps that can change perception, change thinking of players, not even that kind of change is being made.

Every change I have called for is sustainable and builds on top of existing infrastructure, the thing Jamaicans are worse at is long term maintenance, we have no clue what this means even with a ton of money, we are still unprepared for ltm it is a fundamental shift from short term survival thinking to long term settlement development thinking, we are just not there yet.

Leave a comment:

• OJ
    replied
    Stoni dont disagree but the first thing we need to do is proper playing surfaces. We have 70% unemployment all that jeep money should go to fixing fields , grading seeding and irrigation....

Leave a comment:

• Stonigut
    started a topic Greatest contradiction in yard ball!

Greatest contradiction in yard ball!

The thing that we least produce, the area that we are always talking about, the greatest need in jamaican football, the position that we have had the least success in filling in professional leagues in the last twenty years or the last fifty years; the attacking midfielder, the creative force behind the team, the one that everybody is always waxing on an on about finding the 'player' who can fit this role yet the very thing we are looking for and have had the least success in creating we have no way to measure or create standards for success in that position.

Andy Williams showed us the way in the Mls with 86 assists in 189 matches, he is in the top ten all time assists list of the Mls yet in Jamaica we still don't track the assist, how do we find productive creative midfielders, by how good them bruk and bob, is that how Benbow gets selected on a team and yet players who show a high level of productivity cannot get recognized in this one critical area of identifying talent.

How do we recognize that attacking midfield is so important yet do little or nothing to actually measure the most crucial stat for such a position.

It is Time to measure the assist in all school leagues and competitions, prizes and cups for assist leaders, such an emphasis will change the way we play ball, when players realize that there is more to ball than being the last guy to touch the ball into the goal, real change and development will happen when players get rewarded for building up play and passes that will lead to assists on goal.