Karl: Academy vs. Schools

Karl... if by "youth player" you mean a youth playing in a recognized, organized league...it is far from correct to claim 180K youth players in JA. We may have 180K (or more) youth players playing football regularly.... in their community for recreation purposes

The US records MILLIONS of kids in organized leagues... However Jamaica may have merely a few thousand kids playing organized league ball

Let's stick to apples vs apples please
    ...just lazy to go through the steps to whittle down that 180,000 as per what I did with the US 3+million to 1+million

...but if you had noticed I mentioned the struggle to...
    ...do the math in terms of kids with potential to go on to being competent players US v Ja if we assume equal %age numbers on required talent (abounds)?

...then tell us where we shall have the wherewithal to produce more than 12 good NPL clubs with youth arms...and 3 or so academies that must produce for us players and TEAMs that can compete with top world teams if you disregard maximizing on levels of development in every area?

You tell me how we can afford to not provide the best we can for every child? ...our numbers are not as those in Brazil or any of the top world teams. It is easy...at least I think it is easy...to understand how someone from Brazil or the USA or England...or even smaller countries with greater wealth and concentration of academies and clubs can poo-poo schools...they can throw great talent into the trask backet and still have more than enough great talents to sit at or near the top of the world...but a Jamaica cannot. It is madness to think it makes economic or any type of sense for Jamaica to use those countries systems without adaptation to our realities!!!

*Present Jamaica realities suggest it is a struggle to find at each age group level 1 when more than 30 is needed world class player!!!!
    Mi a techa mi affi lef sinting fi challenge di mine!!!
    Still - good catch, sah!!!

So Karl, You're saying JC goes to Papine to recruit a boy for altruistic reasons? doubt it! if this is any better, IMO, it is 90% about winning and 10% development.

Here is a quote from Alberto Capellas, Senior Youth Coordinator at Barcelona:

'It's not luck,' insists Capellas. 'It's work. It's our model, which has been honed over many years by lots of people providing specialist skills and all working in the same direction, with the same objective: to prepare players for the first team.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/mosl...#ixzz3QjNwJSXT
      Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Tell me the last time that any top manager has ever spoke about the success of their development programs based on winning? The speak about success in terms of the players coming through. They simply have different objectives. The 300 kids at La Masia are being blooded to be pros that Barca wants to sell, but keep the best for themselves. Winning is secondary...its producing a player that will make the first team that is the objective.
        Not about winning?
        - ...well the players sold fund the TEAM...to fulfill aim of wins!

- ...and those making the 1st TEAM are to help the 1st TEAM win!

- ...and keeping the club afloat is a WIN!

Wonder why you think it is not about winning?

I sort of felt it that you were lost. Come home karl The point is this: if you are going to do all that in a high school setting, why not just build an academy? Why mimic one when you can have the real thing.
          You are lost!
          Why not build 3 academies and also have a great school(s) system?
          I want both - with each being top quality!!! ...nuh waan nuh try-a-ting effort...professional grade, mi seh!!!