• Paul Marin
    replied
    I agree with the developmental issue of teaching at a young age but here is my counter arguement , there is no urge or marketing point in targeting youths at the prep/primary school level,in High schools their is because as you know ,school boy competition ,ole boy bragging rights ,the glory of manning,walker,oliver etc cups/shields.So I choose the practical selling point high school.

Keep in mind as I said each school must have a football philosophy,yes i agree old habits get set in but ,at 11 to 12 entering hogh school, we still have the chance to change bad habits and develop the mind with a philosophy.Capture and nurture those that have not been corrupoted and can be changed.

Schools at this moment is our best avenue,that knowlefge of certifiaction will not stay with the schools ,you know this ,it will spread within communities,coaches will no doubt ,spread that knowlefge all over as independent contractors,soon a standard will be developing and advocated for, knowlefge will increase knowledge to the point where we do have academies.

Its not the place , but it is the practical option, unless you have another(practical) one.
    Your entire argument is equivalent to:

1. Leroy goes to primary school from age 4-11
    2. Leroy is not challenged to read or write in these key developmental years
    3. Leroy gets to high school where there is a big writing and reading requirement
    4. Leroy's high school teachers are now spending time with Leroy teaching him to read and write; meanwhile, little Olaf in Germany has been challenged since he was 3, is now in high school and is writing prize winning essays at 12.

And you expect Leroy to compete with Olaf? I think you need to rethink your strategy. It won't work because our primary schools can't even afford chalk much less time to certify coaches.

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    at 11 to 12 entering high school, we still have the chance to change bad habits and develop the mind with a philosophy
    You are about 6 years late...this is not a joke ting...serious business

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    I agree with the developmental issue of teaching at a young age but here is my counter arguement , there is no urge or marketing point in targeting youths at the prep/primary school level,in High schools their is because as you know ,school boy competition ,ole boy bragging rights ,the glory of manning,walker,oliver etc cups/shields.So I choose the practical selling point high school.

Keep in mind as I said each school must have a football philosophy,yes i agree old habits get set in but ,at 11 to 12 entering hogh school, we still have the chance to change bad habits and develop the mind with a philosophy.Capture and nurture those that have not been corrupoted and can be changed.

Schools at this moment is our best avenue,that knowlefge of certifiaction will not stay with the schools ,you know this ,it will spread within communities,coaches will no doubt ,spread that knowlefge all over as independent contractors,soon a standard will be developing and advocated for, knowlefge will increase knowledge to the point where we do have academies.

Its not the place , but it is the practical option, unless you have another(practical) one.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Bar those that arent certified, schools will snitch on those that arent , penalise them,points deducted ,like having an overage youth.I vision a systm of slow implementation, where by ISSA gives schools 3 to 5 years for lets says kgn,st andrew,st catherine and mobay schools (high) get certification, the rural schools have an extension , by then we have the certification -saturation system churning them out.
    This is where I think you an' puppa Karl miss the whole point - you are starting certifications in the middle - you need to start it "at the start". If a high school coach gets a 12 year old with bad habits, his job is harder. If he gets a 12 year old with good habits, he can continue the child's development. Certification and proper instruction needs to start at elementary ages, not high school ages if long term development is desired...and simply put, schools are not the place to do that. They can cooperate with more appropriate development forums, but to rely on the schools for a national development program is not a stable plan...it is DOA.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Bar those that arent certified, schools will snitch on those that arent , penalise them,points deducted ,like having an overage youth.I vision a systm of slow implementation, where by ISSA gives schools 3 to 5 years for lets says kgn,st andrew,st catherine and mobay schools (high) get certification, the rural schools have an extension , by then we have the certification -saturation system churning them out.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Build an academy....lol...us high school coaches are regular teachers...us colleges and mls academies....lol.

What are you suggesting broke ass Jamaica to do,the broke ass africans are working with less and getting more ,at great social cost to their youths- most of them forgoe an educatiin to concentrate on football,surely you dont suggest we follow their adapative design of an academy,its nothing like the european or american model.Point is we have to develop our own design.

My solutiion is have a mandated certification system and saturate the school system,i put money on it ,the fire to learn will not stop at the schools,but spread into every corner of the island like T&F did in bringing up a standard.

American academy/european academy will never fly in Jamaica unless a private entity invest in one.

Wi bruk.
    So if we are bruk (which I don't disagree with) how are we going to afford to enforce the mandate?

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Build an academy....lol...us high school coaches are regular teachers...us colleges and mls academies....lol.

What are you suggesting broke ass Jamaica to do,the broke ass africans are working with less and getting more ,at great social cost to their youths- most of them forgoe an educatiin to concentrate on football,surely you dont suggest we follow their adapative design of an academy,its nothing like the european or american model.Point is we have to develop our own design.

My solutiion is have a mandated certification system and saturate the school system,i put money on it ,the fire to learn will not stop at the schools,but spread into every corner of the island like T&F did in bringing up a standard.

American academy/european academy will never fly in Jamaica unless a private entity invest in one.

Wi bruk.

Leave a comment:

• USAF
    replied
    Knew of 4, but 3 left to coach with academies, where the top youth talent is. Academy players are forbidden from playing high school soccer. The academy league now runs for 10 months, with a Winter break when they play futsal.

Leave a comment:

• USAF
    replied
    They are already putting the pieces in place to keep the top academy players in a pro system. The MLS & USL Pro signed an agreement in 2013 & there will be 24 teams for the 2015 USL Pro season (there were 14 last season), with 7 being MLS reserve teams (Houston & Dallas will start their teams in 2016).

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    Left that behind deliberately to game X. I was going to say that the US achieved so much because of not using the high school system in football.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    The reason I said that was because in the US football coaches in high schools are regular teachers yet the US achiveves more at all levels than Ja. I know will quickly run for the crutch (excuse) called wealth but many wealthy countries does not achieve the same in the sport. At the same time poor nations in Africa are achieving.

BTW aren't you the one posting most of the times that the US is broke and its economy will soon fail? I get it the US is rich when you want her to
    Just so we are clear on this: in the US, high schools are not the path for soccer players, clubs are. The problem the US has is that the NCAA is the stepping stone to the pros for most players (culturally) which is a major problem from a developmental perspective. The best thing the MLS could do is ditch the focus on the draft from colleges and focus on drafting from USL or PDL.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Rum wid it yuh mean..

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    The reason I said that was because in the US football coaches in high schools are regular teachers yet the US achiveves more at all levels than Ja. I know will quickly run for the crutch (excuse) called wealth but many wealthy countries does not achieve the same in the sport. At the same time poor nations in Africa are achieving.

BTW aren't you the one posting most of the times that the US is broke and its economy will soon fail? I get it the US is rich when you want her to

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    I sort of felt it that you were lost. Come home karl The point is this: if you are going to do all that in a high school setting, why not just build an academy? Why mimic one when you can have the real thing.

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    Sass yuh done know. May consider doing the break thing from time to time.

Leave a comment: