Top ten fastest ballers in the world!!!!

=Stonigut;516322]I hear you, but take the best of America and one thing they do well is almost none of the best physical talent get marginalized unless there are other 'issues'

For every non producing, non achieving guy we place on the national team and sit them there too long with the least physical abilities we are denying the real youths from being there. We must set the bar high so we can see who will go the extra mile to get to that place.
    I agree. But I would not assess player eligibility by their time over a 40m sprint or how many push ups they can do.

Hey you did read the young warriors at JC, probably not seeing the overly English/Victorian sentiment at JC you were all probably reading Oliver Twist and Wuthering Heights and loving it.

In the young warriors, a book about the test of 12 yo maroon kids they had to go through a rigorous requirements testing to be called a maroon man that included long distances, feeding themselves from the land and I think bringing back food, can't remember, in a certain number of days.
    You're correct...I didn't read that. But DEFINITELY not because of any preoccupation with Babylon themes

Actually my group's reading material @ JC skewed towards the psychology of slavery & colonialism, the elements of & cures to African underdevelopment, the dynamics of geopolitics and organizational strategies for the development of Black people through nation-building

So rather than Babylon queens, think.. Fanon, Rodney, Sarte, Clausewitz & Garvey

Requirements testing and standards weeds out the malcontents and the weak, our football system promotes malcontents and faves of the strongest shouters and supporters, who have the best moment of individual brilliance rather than who consistently brings home the bacon, he'll we can't even figure out how to measure the bacon, we still don't track the thing that is the most critical piece in the development of the passing fame in jamaica, recognizing the assist and the importance of this in crafting thinking and brains into seeing the merits of helping to score a goal and getting recognized for that versus getting the goal myself even though somebody else is in a better position to score.
    I agree with tracking performance via a scientific method. The key is not to get led astray with inappropriate use of data.

Remember: Garbage In = Garbage Out
    Last edited by Don1; April 13, 2015, 11:14 AM.

I'm not with you on this approach. It seems Americanized i.e. like their "football" or baseball testing. I think football is so nuanced that a data-centric approach like yours is not appropriate

I want to assess players mainly based on these factors which are not easy to reduce to a mere data point:

Have good technical attributes...and the ability to improve as required

Learn & execute the tactical playing structures of coaches...and the flexibility to effectively change based on game situations

Super fitness

Desire for group success and commitment to give 200% to the cause

Leadership qualities on & off the field

Versatility and willingness to play different roles as required

Ability to gell with teammates, add to team chemistry and engage public support as the 12th man

Dats juss me doh
      I forgot what is close to being my #1 criterion: AVAILABILITY...Since it is only by being PRESENT that a player can act well on most of the above.

Which is why my SQUAD would ALWAYS have a core group of locals being a big driver for success
      Last edited by Don1; April 13, 2015, 11:08 AM.

Mi a dwl!

So, at JC, they didn't follow the GCE or CXC syllabi, but rather occupied themselves with deep, profound, character-building literature, such as the ones you listed.

Wooiiee, mi dying trial and mi War and Peace!

Mi a dwl!

So, at JC, they didn't follow the GCE or CXC syllabi, but rather occupied themselves with deep, profound, character-building literature, such as the ones you listed.

Wooiiee, mi dying trial and mi War and Peace!
          LOL!! yuhseeit

Ok...we did the boring syllabus stuff..Only sometimes in my case

But there were super active groups back in the day e.g. for African Studies

The Old Hope Rd Campus was the site of a University of London outpost which was subsumed into JC when the Trust took over the property. So JC was Jamaica's de facto "university" (until UWI 50 years later) and always had a free-wheeling college-type environment.

Students were free to pursue whatever direction pleased them...and JC always had a left-of-center orientation

Original Household dat

LOL!! yuhseeit

Ok...we did the boring syllabus stuff..Only sometimes in my case

But there were super active groups back in the day e.g. for African Studies

The Old Hope Rd Campus was the site of a University of London outpost which was subsumed into JC when the Trust took over the property. So JC was Jamaica's de facto "university" (until UWI 50 years later) and always had a free-wheeling college-type environment.

Students were free to pursue whatever direction pleased them...and JC always had a left-of-center orientation

Original Household dat

Yuh killing mi now!

So, when JC was in the doldrums, about the time you attended, what were all those thugs and gunmen reading? Chinua Achebe's How Body Parts Fall apart?

Yuh killing mi now!

So, when JC was in the doldrums, about the time you attended, what were all those thugs and gunmen reading? Chinua Achebe's How Body Parts Fall apart?
              Woooiieee Mi clavicle!

This is where you're wrong. You are seeing football as a series of man vs man races ..i.e. Champs

+Since the ball travels so much faster than players...the advantage of foot speed is reduced. What this ball speed scenario optimizes is the value of PASSING the ball and PLAYER POSITIONING.

Conversely, if the ball were to be speed-limited to travel at the velocity of the fastest player....foot speed would probably be the #1 success factor in football.

So the FASTER teams can move the ball around...the less the value of foot speed. To move the ball fast requires fast thinking, passing and player positioning into time-critical space.

Because passing & positioning are MUCH more VALUABLE than foot speed...slow, but tactically/technically gifted teams like Mexico will beat lightning fast & physical Jamaica 80-90% of the time

Foot speed adds the most value AFTER tactical & technical elements are mastered... and can be decisive at that point.

Unfortunately you have it backward. We don't have a foot speed "problem". Rather than searching for naturally fast players...our focus should be on TEACHING players a tactical style suited to our ball culture.
                You really think we are at the stage where in any of the technical areas there is not a need to improve?

The thing about this game is it demands excellence in all areas. Sure there are a multiplicity of factors that determine who 'plays' and who does not. ...but making claims about the importance of one facet of the game having greater relevance than another misses the point.

Let us take two players who have more than competent technical skills in terms of 'touches' on the ball: Sanchez and Walcott of my GUNNERS.

Sanchez has balance, fastest of acceleration from standing start through 15 - 20 yards...but he is woeful in the area of decision-making. That leads to his many 'turn-overs'. It is not that he cannot pass accurately but his consistency on poor decision-making messes up his game. Too often on games against top teams he appears to be consistent 'bag of mistakes'.

Walcott on the other hand is fantastic going forward but goes missing on defense. He is just plain liability in games at the top.

This game when played at the highest levels is one that is 'unforgiving' to any player who cannot act swiftly. It is not mere 'quick mind' but 'quick mind' and following quick physical action. The player has to be fast across ground, fast with feet, technically superb and be controlled and led by fastest of excellent logical mind.

Sanchez and Walcott are let down by 'feeble minds'. Sanchez's tells him to 'bruk' when unnecessary. Walcott's tells him never work on the defensive side of the game. Both players are exciting to watch at parts of the game and draw laughs of derision on others.

Our TEAM Reggae Boyz needs players who are excellent in all the named areas fast across ground, fast with feet, technically superb and additionally, controlled and led by fastest of excellent logical mind. The making of claims about discarding or overlooking any of the named areas suggest an acceptance of mediocrity in play. That we should never do!

This is not to say Don1 is not on point in calling for production of players with greater technical skills. No...he is bang on there! Our players need to develop greater technical competence. It is Don1's second thought that suggestion that finding of players with great pace is a waste where he runs completely off the rails!!! We need players with great technical skills, great tactical acumen (great quick logical thinkers) and great athletic ability.

Talent abounds! We need the teachers to ensure the necessary understanding of the game, the development of the minds (great tactical skills), the wonderful technical skills and the excellent physical ability are characteristics of each of our players. That need for those requisite numbers of football teachers is similar to our need for greater numbers of excellent teachers of academic subjects. 'The numbers' exiting our schools in every discipline show failure to properly teach. The percentages say, FAILURE!

Hey if you cannot get to the ball before the opponent your mind could be blazing fast and your skill at passing superb...yuh naah seh nutten!!!

Not one true black man on the list? Unno mussi mad to rhatid.

You really think we are at the stage where in any of the technical areas there is not a need to improve?

The thing about this game is it demands excellence in all areas. Sure there are a multiplicity of factors that determine who 'plays' and who does not. ...but making claims about the importance of one facet of the game having greater relevance than another misses the point.

Let us take two players who have more than competent technical skills in terms of 'touches' on the ball: Sanchez and Walcott of my GUNNERS.

Sanchez has balance, fastest of acceleration from standing start through 15 - 20 yards...but he is woeful in the area of decision-making. That leads to his many 'turn-overs'. It is not that he cannot pass accurately but his consistency on poor decision-making messes up his game. Too often on games against top teams he appears to be consistent 'bag of mistakes'.

Walcott on the other hand is fantastic going forward but goes missing on defense. He is just plain liability in games at the top.

This game when played at the highest levels is one that is 'unforgiving' to any player who cannot act swiftly. It is not mere 'quick mind' but 'quick mind' and following quick physical action. The player has to be fast across ground, fast with feet, technically superb and be controlled and led by fastest of excellent logical mind.

Sanchez and Walcott are let down by 'feeble minds'. Sanchez's tells him to 'bruk' when unnecessary. Walcott's tells him never work on the defensive side of the game. Both players are exciting to watch at parts of the game and draw laughs of derision on others.

Our TEAM Reggae Boyz needs players who are excellent in all the named areas fast across ground, fast with feet, technically superb and additionally, controlled and led by fastest of excellent logical mind. The making of claims about discarding or overlooking any of the named areas suggest an acceptance of mediocrity in play. That we should never do!

This is not to say Don1 is not on point in calling for production of players with greater technical skills. No...he is bang on there! Our players need to develop greater technical competence. It is Don1's second thought that suggestion that finding of players with great pace is a waste where he runs completely off the rails!!! We need players with great technical skills, great tactical acumen (great quick logical thinkers) and great athletic ability.

Talent abounds! We need the teachers to ensure the necessary understanding of the game, the development of the minds (great tactical skills), the wonderful technical skills and the excellent physical ability are characteristics of each of our players. That need for those requisite numbers of football teachers is similar to our need for greater numbers of excellent teachers of academic subjects. 'The numbers' exiting our schools in every discipline show failure to properly teach. The percentages say, FAILURE!

Hey if you cannot get to the ball before the opponent your mind could be blazing fast and your skill at passing superb...yuh naah seh nutten!!!
                    Karl Jamaica does not have a speed "problem". Thinking that we do is absurd imho

What we have are severe problems in technical & tactical abilities. If that is true...that's where our primary focus should be. Das all

I understood that. Most of us do.

This is where most of you get it wrong.

Let's say there are four fundamental underpinning to this ball thing.

1. Physical element - speed, strength, conditioning
                        2. Skill - brain to body wiring, fast response time, quick decision trigger, mastery of the physical element, mastery of mind over body which symbolizes itself in individual skill, dribbling, passing, movement in space.
                        3. Technical element - mastery of process, mastery of tactics, mastery of how to play in group, in team.
                        4. Base motivation, desire, what lights your fire.

Here is what actually happens in eleven versus eleven around the world.
                        Certain areas are able to master number three and take it to a higher level through process improvement and continually tying the knot, so improvement is not lost upon change in coach, management etc, so Italy, Spain, Germany have this down to a T. Third world countries are totally lost in this area and can achieve gains momentarily with good management and coaching but cannot sustain this.

The best football countries also add to their advantage by being better at selecting and developing the best players with number two area, skill and combining this very well with number one, the physical, so their brewing method from raw sugar cane to rum is superior, selecting the best canes, with the highest sucrose content, watering them well, fertilizer etc, their conversion process we already know is the best so at the end you have excellent players, playing the game as taught and you can choose those with the best advantage combination, thus Ronaldo's Messi's are born through that long process.

What Jamaica and other poor process countries are trying to do is to short cut the development process and the way to do that is using 1 and 4 to the max from available talent, thus Cameroun, Ghana the physical attributes with good short term coaching and plenty over the top desire momentarily equates the field at tine but never enough to win any championships.

Speed is important for jamaica as we know that our players are recruited in the pro world because of this important attribute, we also know that the players we have rated as great internally from a skill standpoint have failed externally because of a number of factors, speed being one of them.

Our quickest advantage to be better than the world across ten players within our player population is speed, so it is possible to select a team that gains an advantage in speed which may be the quickest lever to pull of all the factors mentioned above.

As simple as that, we have a comparative advantage in speed which is necessary in defense and attack if we can use it well we can further level the playing field until we are able to do number three consistently, as you can see we have moved marginally in that area since 98.

I understood that. Most of us do.
                          It seems both Karl & Stoni don't

Excellent, that is the way I like it, there is a saying that goes roughly where the massive crowd treads on broad paths go in the opposite direction as there is little wisdom in crowds fueled by hysteria and hype, the path of wisdom is seeking understanding beyond common knowledge, trodding paths hitherto unknown to others as their path follows only what has been opened.

As my man Warren Buffett said;
                            Be fearful when others are greedy and greedy only when others are fearful.

You must be able to read the tea leaves of what we have done, what the weaknesses are and what the potential is.

Speed is the great equalizer in football, it allows second rate teams an opportunity to level the field, this is our easiest most affordable short cut save building a program from ground up.

=Stonigut;516724]Excellent, that is the way I like it, there is a saying that goes roughly where the massive crowd treads on broad paths go in the opposite direction as there is little wisdom in crowds fueled by hysteria and hype, the path of wisdom is seeking understanding beyond common knowledge, trodding paths hitherto unknown to others as their path follows only what has been opened.
                              I see

So I guess you believe the world is flat, man didn't walk on the moon... and the 3-wheel coffin???

You must be able to read the tea leaves of what we have done, what the weaknesses are and what the potential is.

Speed is the great equalizer in football, it allows second rate teams an opportunity to level the field, this is our easiest most affordable short cut save building a program from ground up.
                              Sorry I've come NOT to believe in short cuts

It is this insane belief in short cuts that has led to our long term failure in football...and other aspects of life

Maybe the three wheel coffin.

Btw what position did you play back when you played.