• Marco van Basten's crazy ideas to revolutionize the game

No offsides? Ludicrous!

https://www.google.com/amp/www.indep...186.html%3Famp

.. and I fully endorse it.

England certainly has too many games and competitions running concurrently. The EPL and the FA Cup is enough IMO. In Europe, when a team drops out of the CL that should be it for the season and not playing in the Europa Cup.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Additionally, I would like to see the clock stopped the last five minutes of every match...cut out the time wasting etc. I see sides take 25 seconds or more to take a throw-in, with impunity.

Using replays to check for offside (if it remains), and other infractions. And why can't a goal be called back if the ref has allowed it, but replay shows that it was illegal e.g. 'hand of God'.

Just my twenty cents AKA "pair-a-dime"! LOL

Except for limiting the number of games (PER PLAYER - not per CLUB), I don't want any of these to happen. I would rather offside only coming into play if a goal scores. In that event, every goal is reviewed, if the team scoring created an offside infraction, then the offside is called. Otherwise, play on. That way, there is no stoppage in play for offside unless a goal scores. Otherwise: No orange card, no sin bin, no shootouts, keep all competitions, etc. If you make the restriction on number of games on players, then clubs would have to use the youths which would aid in development.

Endorse what? No offsides?

Yes ... get rid of the offside rule and let the game flow.

I agree with the replay argument on the offside. I will go further to say get rid of the calls that's subjective. These are the ones where they use this line on TV to show you it's offside because you the spectator can't see it not to mention the ref and lines men (who just make the call based on their immediate feelings).

Also, why instruct one side to pass the ball back to the other side, on some restarts? Why not just give the ball to the receiving team's keeper for a goal kick?

Wow! I have been saying this for years and I can't seem to remember getting any support.

Better late than never, I suppose.

Shaka Hislop blasted him! Apparently these things were discussed confidentially in FIFA committee meetings are not really van Basten's own suggestions...

He stole the offside one from me.