These MAN U fans

Your thoughts on the American (MLS) model of ownership...…………...
    TIA
    The MLS system works for Americans and is appropriate. There are two factors: culture, and investment basis. Starting with the latter, unlike professional English football teams, America's MLS teams were not founded as community organizations but as businesses. Investors in the league took great financial risk and needed some level of protection so had the MLS baked in relegation they would not have raised 1 cent. Culturally, Americans are not aware of the relegation model as evidenced in their homegrown sports, so this is a non-factor here unlike in Europe.

The issue for the English is that they can't have their "cake and eat it too", i.e. wanting foreign investment dollars without giving the owners their due control. They have to change the model and make football a special category of business if that's where they want to go. The Germans have a 50+1 model, where no investor can own enough shares to ever take control of any football club, essentially, Germany has established football as a protected business category.

So, if England's fans want a say, legislation must be passed to create a special category of business for football, which will surely create legal and financial problems. But the one thing that governments have that will make any business person take their marbles and go home, is taxation. So it is possible that they tax football clubs differently, which would make it unattractive to investors who run their clubs for a shareholder profit motive without community representation and investment. That may be one way to put control in the hands of the communities.
    Last edited by Paul Marin; May 4, 2021, 12:08 AM.

Excellent!

Originally posted by OJ View Post
        Not going to happen. I think Manu should be dock d 6 points for this. Manu fans feels they are entitled to always win.
        " Manu fans feels they are entitled to always win"

How does this come into the argument? I anticipate the points being deducted but it has nothing to do with winning.

That what you call OJ critical reasoning.

" Manu fans feels they are entitled to always win"

How does this come into the argument? I anticipate the points being deducted but it has nothing to do with winning.

Yuh soon hear im bawll bout disingenious and if yuh know Tegat.
          Last edited by Sir X; May 4, 2021, 10:12 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think the SPL is a scapegoat in this. Manu fans tired of City winning and decided they are throwing out the baby with the bath water. Why Arsenal fans and Chelsea fans did not storm stadium.. They should deduct 3 pts this year and 6 next year.. they have no behaviour.

What you talkin about Willis? Yes, other fans protested. Some MU fans figured they would use this opportunity to drive out the Glazers, which will not work. Remember, of all the clubs, MU have the only owners who saddle the club with debt, and at the same time is milking the club. As a MU fan, I would like the Glazers gone as well, but the approach on Sunday would not achieve that.

You can make your points based on facts bredren. No need to go off the deep end with some comical conjectures.

Arsenal man dem a baa comedians
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Still don't know what the hell OJ is saying

Arsenal man dem a baa comedians
                  Every fan protested the S.L ,Manuites have been protesting the Glazers since they came in,the pressure on them will only build up. Arsenal fans have been protesting against their board/ owners just the same. It's only a matter of time for it to get more visceral.

How OJ equates that to City winning or Man U want to win all the time is beyond the pale,but hey it's OJ.

Do you know Tegat.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That was quite clear OJ, they could not live with the fact that ManDisUnited would have presented us with the Trophy by a sure loss to liverstool.

Dem badmine.

Think clearly and answer this question. If Manu was 2 pts leading the EPL with Liverpool y to o play would the fans did what they did.

great question OJ...i await the non-answers