Damn, what a stinker of a game

• Damn, what a stinker of a game

Harry had? The man is at fault for 3 of the 4 goals, not gonna knock him for the 2nd one, although stepping out would have left the scorer in an offside position. So MU lose another game and the "Ole Out!" chants start up again. The issue I had with Ole is that since the start of the season MU has been giving up TOO MANY chances and he is yet to resolve the problem. MU's defense is like a brothel .... anybody can walk in and score.

I am a practical fan of Manchester United, and as such, there are some basic facts that I have to accept. The most basic fact, is that OGS is not good enough to lead us back to the Promised Land. His most basic weakness is his tactical deficiencies as a top coach. However, I believe that this deficiency can be papered over by the skills from the few world classed players at his disposal. But, therein lies the root of his problems this season. This squad consist of two too many stars in Ronaldo and Sancho. These two purchases have disrupted the team's chemistry and progression that OGS has built over the past two seasons. As a coach, he has to foot most of the blame for the squad construction and their performances. Coming into this season, he had a clear plan of what he wanted and his approach.....which was ok. He decided from last season that Sancho would be his number one buy and that he would have plugged that hole on our right wing. His original plan was to move Greenwood into the middle as an understudy to Cavani. The left side would have been shared between Rashford and Martial. Ronaldo, fell into his lap and disrupted that plan.

Now where I criticize OGS as a coach, is that he is not showing enough gravitas in his decision making. Alex Ferguson, as a board member, put his very heavy foot on the scale when HE decided to bring Ronaldo back to the club. HE also influenced the coach's team selection when he was caught on camera stating that OS should always be starting his "best" player in Ronaldo. Ronaldo is not the best player at Manchester United. Whereas there are a lot of benefit in having Ronaldo at the club, it comes with more problems than good. Ronaldo is a luxury buy which was unnecessary. In order to maximize Ronaldo's effectiveness, the team has to be built around him. Ronaldo, even at his age, will give you a ton of goals, but he has to be supplied with those opportunities. His ratio is about 2:1 which is phenomenal. This squad cannot be dismantled and rebuilt around Ronaldo. For the benefit of the team and his coaching career, OGS needs to take a stand and use Ronaldo sparingly. He has to tell Sir Alex Ferguson as tactfully as possible to STFU.

Saturday's game was another in OGS' collection of coaching weaknesses. Firstly, he made the decision to start Harry McGuire who was coming off an injury and wasn't match sharp. OGS himself said in his press conference prior to the game that Harry McGuire just did his first grass training the day before. Throughout the week, Bailly must had been mentally preparing himself to play on Saturday beside Lindeholf. I can just imagine his disappointment and anger when Harry showed up, unfit, and got selected over him. That was a long termed gaffe by OGS. The verdict is now out that going forward, OGS must play MacFred in the midfield, as none of the three is good enough by himself. That fact weakens the team and leaves OGS with very tough choices to make. How I see it, only one spot is up for grabs as 10 players select themselves. The back five are automatic starters - De Gea, McGuire, Varane, Shaw and Wan Bassaka. Then there is MacFred. Bruno and Pobga must play. Incidentally, these two had been building a certain level of chemistry before the arrival of Ronaldo. Greenwood has shown that he should be undroppable based on his performances and his goal contributions so far. It would be criminal to bench him. That leaves the one position of striker. I think that should be Cavani.

Another major problem that the team has is it's deficiency at set pieces. We hired a specialist coach this summer but we are yet to see any improvements both in attack or defense. Defensively, it is almost a guarantee for our opponents to score a set piece goal. We have also not scored from a direct corner in forever. The last time Manchester United offered the threat of scoring from a corner, was when Fellani was at the club. Harry McGuire, who has one of the best statistic of defensive headers won in the premiership, now offers nothing in the attack. He offered more of an aerial threat at Leicester City than at Manchester united.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Where did I hear all you need is players with value ( the best mioney can buy) and it will translate on the field , the coach is just there for the ride.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I am a practical fan of Manchester United, and as such, there are some basic facts that I have to accept. The most basic fact, is that OGS is not good enough to lead us back to the Promised Land. His most basic weakness is his tactical deficiencies as a top coach. However, I believe that this deficiency can be papered over by the skills from the few world classed players at his disposal. But, therein lies the root of his problems this season. This squad consist of two too many stars in Ronaldo and Sancho. These two purchases have disrupted the team's chemistry and progression that OGS has built over the past two seasons. As a coach, he has to foot most of the blame for the squad construction and their performances. Coming into this season, he had a clear plan of what he wanted and his approach.....which was ok. He decided from last season that Sancho would be his number one buy and that he would have plugged that hole on our right wing. His original plan was to move Greenwood into the middle as an understudy to Cavani. The left side would have been shared between Rashford and Martial. Ronaldo, fell into his lap and disrupted that plan.

Now where I criticize OGS as a coach, is that he is not showing enough gravitas in his decision making. Alex Ferguson, as a board member, put his very heavy foot on the scale when HE decided to bring Ronaldo back to the club. HE also influenced the coach's team selection when he was caught on camera stating that OS should always be starting his "best" player in Ronaldo. Ronaldo is not the best player at Manchester United. Whereas there are a lot of benefit in having Ronaldo at the club, it comes with more problems than good. Ronaldo is a luxury buy which was unnecessary. In order to maximize Ronaldo's effectiveness, the team has to be built around him. Ronaldo, even at his age, will give you a ton of goals, but he has to be supplied with those opportunities. His ratio is about 2:1 which is phenomenal. This squad cannot be dismantled and rebuilt around Ronaldo. For the benefit of the team and his coaching career, OGS needs to take a stand and use Ronaldo sparingly. He has to tell Sir Alex Ferguson as tactfully as possible to STFU.

Saturday's game was another in OGS' collection of coaching weaknesses. Firstly, he made the decision to start Harry McGuire who was coming off an injury and wasn't match sharp. OGS himself said in his press conference prior to the game that Harry McGuire just did his first grass training the day before. Throughout the week, Bailly must had been mentally preparing himself to play on Saturday beside Lindeholf. I can just imagine his disappointment and anger when Harry showed up, unfit, and got selected over him. That was a long termed gaffe by OGS. The verdict is now out that going forward, OGS must play MacFred in the midfield, as none of the three is good enough by himself. That fact weakens the team and leaves OGS with very tough choices to make. How I see it, only one spot is up for grabs as 10 players select themselves. The back five are automatic starters - De Gea, McGuire, Varane, Shaw and Wan Bassaka. Then there is MacFred. Bruno and Pobga must play. Incidentally, these two had been building a certain level of chemistry before the arrival of Ronaldo. Greenwood has shown that he should be undroppable based on his performances and his goal contributions so far. It would be criminal to bench him. That leaves the one position of striker. I think that should be Cavani.

Another major problem that the team has is it's deficiency at set pieces. We hired a specialist coach this summer but we are yet to see any improvements both in attack or defense. Defensively, it is almost a guarantee for our opponents to score a set piece goal. We have also not scored from a direct corner in forever. The last time Manchester United offered the threat of scoring from a corner, was when Fellani was at the club. Harry McGuire, who has one of the best statistic of defensive headers won in the premiership, now offers nothing in the attack. He offered more of an aerial threat at Leicester City than at Manchester united.
        ...I too thought Bailly should have started. However, if he had started Bailly and Victor then lose, all the experts would be blaming OGS for not starting Harry. The team needs to get into the attack quickly, too many times instead of taking on the defender, a back pass is made. As for the set pieces .... I recall the game against Everton we got at least 10 corners yet Everton's equaliser came from an MU corner.

Boss, he's getting blamed regardless of who he starts. That indecision feeds into the "Ole Out" cries.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Bruno can be benched too, or do you think OGS is right to have him as an automatic starter?
            Pogba is too inconsistent , I would try using Bruno into the midfield to partner with McTominay, that would enable another striker to be fielded.
            I am not seeing the bread and butter relationship between our strikers mirroring the days of Cole and Yorke, Saha and Ruud etc .
            Never liked MaGuire but at this stage, we have more pressing issues to address, primarily, a problem plagued midfield.

It would be foolish to bench the most creative player in the squad. Using Bruno further down the pitch would be a waste.

He is the most creative but it would be foolish to use him our midfield?
                We are abound with strikers, the midfield is the area need tweaking.
                In terms of productivity, we will get even more goals with him trailing the strikers.

He’s already playing behind the strikers. His most effective position is closer to the 18 than the center circle.

Strikers?
                    He is the second of TWO strikers.
                    Maybe you should reconsider your position regarding using him as an attacking midfielder, "most creative..and playing behind the strikers are traits of a midfielder.
                    I would use Rashford and Greenwood as flank players and pair the Cavini and Ronaldo as our two strikers.
                    McTominay and Bruno would be our two midfielders.
                    It is worth a try Jangle.

Strikers?
                      He is the second of TWO strikers.
                      Maybe you should reconsider your position regarding using him as an attacking midfielder, "most creative..and playing behind the strikers are traits of a midfielder.
                      I would use Rashford and Greenwood as flank players and pair the Cavini and Ronaldo as our two strikers.
                      McTominay and Bruno would be our two midfielders.
                      It is worth a try Jangle.
                      Worth a try .... to lose more games? Bruno cannot tackle and he is most effective playing behind the striker.

Rocky, right now we have a serious problem with the lack of a quality defensive midfielder. We cannot cripple the team more by taking out our single bullet out of the chamber by putting Bruno in the center field. Bruno doesn't play as the "second" striker, he plays across the width of the front. I believe OGS should also try Bailly in the DM position. OGS has changed the team's formation to accommodate Ronaldo. Luke Shaw is not playing wide as much since Ronaldo has come in. Wan Bissaka is also playing closer to Varane and leaving the wingback exposed.

Lazie and Jangle, by inserting Bruno into the midfield we are able to field an additional striker, THAT translates into having a better defense due to having a formidable offense, we will keep the ball longer.
                          Martial, Sancho, and Pogba need to do some self reflecting, the bench provides that.
                          If defense is the primary concern, under my proposal, our wingbacks will not have to overlap as often , or be crucial to squaring crosses into the opponent's 18, thereby enabling them to focus on defensive duties especially given our ongoing problems with pairing two central defenders.
                          Bruno is accustomed to running with the forwards, and McTominay has the makings of being a fine defensive midfielder.
                          We have to change something or we will be left behind.
                          Pogba is not someone who tackles, Kagawa too.
                          It is at least worth a try, or better yet, what do you(Lazie and Jangle) suggest to do in order to get the best from our underperforming team?

Lazie and Jangle, by inserting Bruno into the midfield we are able to field an additional striker, THAT translates into having a better defense due to having a formidable offense, we will keep the ball longer.
                            Martial, Sancho, and Pogba need to do some self reflecting, the bench provides that.
                            If defense is the primary concern, under my proposal, our wingbacks will not have to overlap as often , or be crucial to squaring crosses into the opponent's 18, thereby enabling them to focus on defensive duties especially given our ongoing problems with pairing two central defenders.
                            Bruno is accustomed to running with the forwards, and McTominay has the makings of being a fine defensive midfielder.
                            We have to change something or we will be left behind.
                            Pogba is not someone who tackles, Kagawa too.
                            It is at least worth a try, or better yet, what do you(Lazie and Jangle) suggest to do in order to get the best from our underperforming team?
                            Kagawa? Didn't he leave and returned to BvB years ago? Note to self .... don't hire Rockman to manage my football team.

I've already given my suggestion, it starts with the coach growing some balls. He has to make some very tough decisions and drop at least two superstars. Because of the MacFred conundrum, Pogba has to be pushed upfield on the left, thereby relegating Rashford, Martial, Lingard and everybody else to the bench. He had 7 assists playing off the left in tandem with Bruno so far this season. Greenwood is performing on the right. Cavani is a mobile forward who pressures the defenders. The MacFred formation allows Luke Shaw and Wan Bassaka (to a lesser extent) to go forward. That was the team selection that allowed us to finish last season strongly.