• Affi tek back things mek joke.

Peter Drury and Jim Beglin dropped some classics today
    "Funnily enough, Manchester United had more shots at their own keeper than they have had on their opponents'.
    "Man United are two behind,but in reality they are long long behind city,"
    "Even if Moses gets the chance to divide the red Sea, Wan Bissaka cannot cross"
    "Jim Beglin: Manchester United are like the Milky Way, full of shooting stars but never far away from blackout.
    Peter Drury: You need a telescope "
    “Same city, different galaxies. Manchester City’s stars twinkled whilst Manchester United’s hid behind Manchester’s grey clouds”

Source: Facebook.

I am a practical fan of Manchester United, and as such, there are some basic facts that I have to accept. The most basic fact, is that OGS is not good enough to lead us back to the Promised Land. His most basic weakness is his tactical deficiencies as a top coach. However, I believe that this deficiency can be papered over by the skills from the few world classed players at his disposal. But, therein lies the root of his problems this season. This squad consist of two too many stars in Ronaldo and Sancho. These two purchases have disrupted the team's chemistry and progression that OGS has built over the past two seasons. As a coach, he has to foot most of the blame for the squad construction and their performances. Coming into this season, he had a clear plan of what he wanted and his approach.....which was ok. He decided from last season that Sancho would be his number one buy and that he would have plugged that hole on our right wing. His original plan was to move Greenwood into the middle as an understudy to Cavani. The left side would have been shared between Rashford and Martial. Ronaldo, fell into his lap and disrupted that plan.

Now where I criticize OGS as a coach, is that he is not showing enough gravitas in his decision making. Alex Ferguson, as a board member, put his very heavy foot on the scale when HE decided to bring Ronaldo back to the club. HE also influenced the coach's team selection when he was caught on camera stating that OS should always be starting his "best" player in Ronaldo. Ronaldo is not the best player at Manchester United. Whereas there are a lot of benefit in having Ronaldo at the club, it comes with more problems than good. Ronaldo is a luxury buy which was unnecessary. In order to maximize Ronaldo's effectiveness, the team has to be built around him. Ronaldo, even at his age, will give you a ton of goals, but he has to be supplied with those opportunities. His ratio is about 2:1 which is phenomenal. This squad cannot be dismantled and rebuilt around Ronaldo. For the benefit of the team and his coaching career, OGS needs to take a stand and use Ronaldo sparingly. He has to tell Sir Alex Ferguson as tactfully as possible to STFU.

Saturday's game was another in OGS' collection of coaching weaknesses. Firstly, he made the decision to start Harry McGuire who was coming off an injury and wasn't match sharp. OGS himself said in his press conference prior to the game that Harry McGuire just did his first grass training the day before. Throughout the week, Bailly must had been mentally preparing himself to play on Saturday beside Lindeholf. I can just imagine his disappointment and anger when Harry showed up, unfit, and got selected over him. That was a long termed gaffe by OGS. The verdict is now out that going forward, OGS must play MacFred in the midfield, as none of the three is good enough by himself. That fact weakens the team and leaves OGS with very tough choices to make. How I see it, only one spot is up for grabs as 10 players select themselves. The back five are automatic starters - De Gea, McGuire, Varane, Shaw and Wan Bassaka. Then there is MacFred. Bruno and Pobga must play. Incidentally, these two had been building a certain level of chemistry before the arrival of Ronaldo. Greenwood has shown that he should be undroppable based on his performances and his goal contributions so far. It would be criminal to bench him. That leaves the one position of striker. I think that should be Cavani.

Another major problem that the team has is it's deficiency at set pieces. We hired a specialist coach this summer but we are yet to see any improvements both in attack or defense. Defensively, it is almost a guarantee for our opponents to score a set piece goal. We have also not scored from a direct corner in forever. The last time Manchester United offered the threat of scoring from a corner, was when Fellani was at the club. Harry McGuire, who has one of the best statistic of defensive headers won in the premiership, now offers nothing in the attack. He offered more of an aerial threat at Leicester City than at Manchester united.
    I need to post this for future reference. OGS needs to grow some balls and drop Ronaldo and go back to his original plan. Ronaldo is going to cost him his job.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I need to post this for future reference. OGS needs to grow some balls and drop Ronaldo and go back to his original plan. Ronaldo is going to cost him his job.
      Jangle, If OGS should drop Ronaldo and the team lose, how many MU fans would be up in arms claiming that CR7 should have started? I am comfortable with Ronaldo not starting all the games. However, do you realize if it wasn't for CR7 we would have probably been eliminated from the UCL? It is a fact that team has regressed ...how do we solve it? I was one who wanted to maintain the back 3 v Citheh, it didn't work. We couldn't get out of our 18 yrd box. Late in the game VDBeek attempted a forward pass was that intercepted. I wasn't even upset because he was trying to do something that MacFred couldn't do all game. How the heck do they fix this problem?

Lazie, I've already told you how to fix the problem. OGS has to grow some balls and make the tough decisions to save himself. He has to go back to the formation and the personnel which were giving him some success. The team was on an upward trajectory coming into this season. At the start of this season, Pogba and Bruno were creating many goal scoring opportunities, especially for Greenwood. The dismal statistics is irrefutable since Ronaldo came into the team. I watched the West Ham vs Loserfool game and saw David Moyes beat them using the same formation with Antonio as the lone striker up front. Antonio worked like a horse with one of his pressing eventually leading to a goal. Ronaldo walked the entire 90 minutes against Sh!tty. We already have an Antonio in Cavani. Right now we are screwed because the board will not fire the coach....at least not until the end of the season. Plus, there is no experienced coach available. The board threw all the weight behind OGS and unless he becomes his own man and tell the marketing department to "f-off" and drop Ronaldo, then his entire 3 years will be a waste.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

hate to say i told you so...but --->

• Rockman
            Rockman commented
            Editing a comment
            Well there is a reason why that opinion is unpopular.
            It is true that Cavani work rate is unparalleled but that is the case to when we do a comparison of all the strikers, all younger than Ronaldo, in fact, the entire team.

Lazie, I've already told you how to fix the problem. OGS has to grow some balls and make the tough decisions to save himself. He has to go back to the formation and the personnel which were giving him some success. The team was on an upward trajectory coming into this season. At the start of this season, Pogba and Bruno were creating many goal scoring opportunities, especially for Greenwood. The dismal statistics is irrefutable since Ronaldo came into the team. I watched the West Ham vs Loserfool game and saw David Moyes beat them using the same formation with Antonio as the lone striker up front. Antonio worked like a horse with one of his pressing eventually leading to a goal. Ronaldo walked the entire 90 minutes against Sh!tty. We already have an Antonio in Cavani. Right now we are screwed because the board will not fire the coach....at least not until the end of the season. Plus, there is no experienced coach available. The board threw all the weight behind OGS and unless he becomes his own man and tell the marketing department to "f-off" and drop Ronaldo, then his entire 3 years will be a waste.
          May I point out one difference between MU and Westham? Every time Liverpool attacked MU they could have scored. MU cannot defend.

Jangle, to say this is a result of Ronaldo's arrival is not true. Look at the shot and shots on goal by each opponents before his arrival and the first 2 games after his arrival? The only reason Wolves don't have higher SoG is because Traore cyaan shoot.

Leeds - 10 shots 3 SoG.
            Southampton -8 shots 3 SoG
            Wolves - 15 Shots 6 SoG.
            ----------------------
            Newcastle - 12 Shots 3 SoG
            Westham - 13 shots 4 Sog.

Lazie, the evidence is there to see. Every player's game, with the exception of De Gea, has dropped significantly since his arrival. The players and the coach are deferring to Ronaldo. OGS has been trying to play a formation that benefits him to the detriment of the rest of the players and himself. The difference between MU and West Ham is that the West Ham players know their positions and their roles on the pitch compared to us. We finished off last season playing on a canter. All of that has gone through the window.
              • Bruno Fernandes is among the senior players who feel they are not getting enough direction from Solskjaer and his coaching staff.

Lazie, the evidence is there to see. Every player's game, with the exception of De Gea, has dropped significantly since his arrival. The players and the coach are deferring to Ronaldo. OGS has been trying to play a formation that benefits him to the detriment of the rest of the players and himself. The difference between MU and West Ham is that the West Ham players know their positions and their roles on the pitch compared to us. We finished off last season playing on a canter. All of that has gone through the window.
                • Bruno Fernandes is among the senior players who feel they are not getting enough direction from Solskjaer and his coaching staff.
                MU has been using the SAME 4-2-3-1 until the Spurs game where it was changed to 5-3-2. Again ... the team has been allowing too many chances before Ronaldo's arrival and after his arrival. To now claim it is because OGS is playing to accommodate Ronaldo ....that is not true.

Well until we get that quality defensive midfielder to plug that tunnel, then the defense starts from the front, which Ronaldo doesn't do. It's like playing with 8 outfield players.

Jangle, if the formation changes were to accommodate Ronaldo, emphasis would be placed on aiding the offense, in stead, we stripped the forward-line of up to 2 players so we can have an additional midfielder and defender, mind you, that was done to address the deficiency in those two positions.
                    What I do not understand is if our defense is acknowledged to be lacking, why were we so quick to part ways with players competing for the central defender position?
                    Ronaldo isn't the problem, in fact, he is the only player deserving to wear the jersey, the two clowns playing central defense coupled would not be good enough to tie the shoelaces of a Vidic or Rio.
                    Bissaka and ,to a lesser extent,Shaw, pale in comparison Neville and the diminutive fellow from France.

In your assessment, do consider this has to be the most severely lacking Man U side Ronaldo has ever played in, and yet, he keeps producing despite....

Our primary problem has always been lack of a concerted effort regarding defense, and players refusing to into spaces.
                    Only when we fix that, we will be in a position to make any worthwhile assessments.
                    That was the speaking point once we were thrashed by Pool, it got totally lost because of the emerging fallacies from the results of the game against Spurs in which a formation changed wrongly became all encompassing.
                    We will revert back to having a formidable forward-line, outscoring our opponents!
                    Last edited by Rockman; November 8, 2021, 06:31 PM.

Well right now I will agree to disagree. With the annual six weeks injury to Pogba along with Varane being out, OGS' selection headache will be easier now.

During one of Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's 20 defeats at Old Trafford, the opposition dug-out were puzzled when he stayed in his seat as Manchester United fell behind, and amused when one of his staff entered the technical area instead to bellow 'Wakey wakey'.

Though that unscientific message was aimed at the underperforming United players, it would also reflect how fans feel about the club as a whole.

Cristiano Ronaldo would probably agree as he compares how the club were when he left them as Champions League finalists in 2009 to how they are now, trophy-less in four years and nine points behind Premier League leaders Chelsea after only 11 games.

Previously used to working with Carlos Tevez and a prime Wayne Rooney up front, the five-time Ballon d'Or winner had 20-year-old work-in-progress Mason Greenwood alongside him against City.

But it's not just during matches that Ronaldo will have noticed differences in the 12 years he has been away.

No Fergie to set the atmosphere, less quality and experience among the coaching staff, investment needed in the stadium and training ground, United are no longer brand leaders on or off the pitch.

There is no doubt Solskjaer is a personable individual and knows Manchester United inside-out. But there is surprise given his own modest managerial CV that his coaching staff are also largely unproven.

When Ronaldo won the Champions League in 2008, he saw Ferguson use established and well-respected figures Carlos Queiroz and Rene Meulensteen to run coaching sessions, factor in the latest tactical trends and ensure the players were at peak fitness.

It allowed Ferguson to focus most on his own strengths, man management and creating the right working environment at Carrington.

Though he could pull out the hairdryer on occasion, Ferguson in fact ensured his players came into a happy and positive camp. He would sometimes deliberately make himself the fall guy, practicing his French on the overseas players, often to howls of laughter.

Solskjaer also wants to be that grand overseer but there are doubts from senior players in the squad, particularly the expensive imports, that the coaches he relies upon are up to the job.

First-team coach Kieran McKenna is 35 and has a background in academy football. His knowledge isn't questioned but lacks the gravitas to excite some of the biggest names in the game.

'You can't have people learning on a job,' summed up Sky Sports pundit Jamie Carragher

Former United midfielder Paul Ince was more brutal: 'You've got an under-23s coach (McKenna), Michael Carrick – no coaching experience. Mike Phelan, I don't know what he does.

'That is Ole's coaching staff. Compare that with the world-class players you've got in the team.'

Like Solskjaer, Carrick won numerous trophies as a United player. But working with the first team as a coach is the former midfielder's first job in football since retiring.

Phelan is a nod to the glorious past and he was Ferguson's last assistant manager before retirement. Though he is a visible presence on matchdays, Phelan himself admits his current role is more as a bridge between different departments than day-to-day dealing with players.

'One of my strengths might be listening,' he says. 'I've listened to a lot of things, not just to football coaches, I listen to what is going on in the organisation of the club and get involved in that.'

For Ronaldo, it is a far cry from learning from Queiroz who had managed in four continents including the Portugal and South African national teams before his two spells as Fergie's No 2 at Old Trafford.

He also benefited from Meulensteen working one-on-one to harness his potential. 'He was very talented when he came but I think he was the player I did the most sessions with individually, because he felt it made him better,' recalls Meulensteen.

Specialist set-piece coach Eric Ramsay was hired from Chelsea to great acclaim but United are yet to score from a corner or free-kick in the Premier League this season and have conceded three – the same as Newcastle. Some of the players are thought to be still convinced.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/fo...r-absence.html

Jangle, I noticed that on Saturday. Early in the game when the team was under pressure he was sitting, but with 10 minutes to go and City having a Sunday stroll on a Saturday morning, that was when he was ready to coach. How the heck the team get out of this rut when the defenders can no longer defend? When there is no protection in the midfield? When the attackers are afraid to take on the opponents ..... and even worse ...."Even if Moses gets the chance to divide the red Sea, Wan Bissaka cannot cross"

The answer was a bitter pill for me to swallow....but the coach has to go. He is too soft and won't ruffle anyone's feathers. The club is trapped in a vortex with the owners, the board and Ed Woodward. See Big Ed and the Glazers gave us the rope-a-dope and is looking to stay on by changing job titles.