Post champs drama
Yuh right forgive me,I should have clarified the level of commercialization,Hotels filled in Kingston.
Originally posted by X View PostYuh a different kind of animal or I just like painting you into one (hehe) but Mo, dem juss get buss into diss, anuh like its been years dem get caught off gaurd, granted the winds of change were brewing post birds nest, funny yuh remember when di idiots were talking about yam and dumpling mek wi run fast ,now dem realise its commercilization of champs......mi belly
You cant deny it, but bwooy yuh juss Xtreme ,burn di earth strategy is a shot in the foot , granted yuh right , Issa affi real it in , but how,is the question. ?
I know so many JNLIJs who take their vacation around Champs time and have been doing so for the last 20 years or so. This excitement about Champs has been around long before Bird Nest. It has obviously grown but ISSA has lagged behind.
Leave a comment:
No jump fence and police swing them baton wild again?
Leave a comment:
Mo
Yuh a different kind of animal or I just like painting you into one (hehe) but Mo, dem juss get buss into diss, anuh like its been years dem get caught off gaurd, granted the winds of change were brewing post birds nest, funny yuh remember when di idiots were talking about yam and dumpling mek wi run fast ,now dem realise its commercilization of champs......mi belly
You cant deny it, but bwooy yuh juss Xtreme ,burn di earth strategy is a shot in the foot , granted yuh right , Issa affi real it in , but how,is the question. ?
Leave a comment:
So Nannyville man them nuh control a gate again???
No jump fence and police swing them baton wild again?
ISSA need come up with a 10 year plan for champs with changes every year or two to take advantages of the marketing, image and income.
Leave a comment:
Commercialize it all they want, as long as the students remain students first and amateurs athletes second.
Leave a comment:
I am not particularly against the commercialization once it is done in a regulated way. Guidelines should be clear, parents, schools and athletes should know where the line is for an athlete to be designated amateur or pro.
Right now it appears to be spinning out of ISSAs control.
Leave a comment:
I have to take the alternate view because Mo posted it ,it sounds sensible ,so I will try to make more sense .
The day after champs on youtube , 20k viewed the 4x400, we are talking at $ 9 a pop 180k,thats being conservative( 2 mill- Jamaican),if 3 times that amount logged on we are talking 540,000 USA $$$ translated $61 million Jamaican dollars.That is alot of revenue that can be put back into education,keep in mind projected to grow.
Now ISSA has been drawn into the 21st century of commercilization,i say dont be scared of it, embrace it , source a marketing arm and call all stakeholders to a meeting of minds ,to see how this new found wealth can be spread evenly amongst the land to put this revenue back into education.
This commercilization isnt going anywhere ,parameters need to be set that honors our ethical educational standards and balance our comercilzation interest in champs.
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostThe minister of education needs to rein in this beast. ISSA has no idea what it has got itself into, and most of us don't have a clue either. Pandora never knew her box was so deep!
We need to get back to full amateur status for our students, unless they are forfeiting high school sports. In hindsight, Hyde and Ohara should have been ineligible for Champs. Matters not when the contract was signed. His ineligibility begins the first day he allows himself to be approached by a corporation.
And ISSA needs to step aside and assume the role of police more than anything else. Allow the pros to run your competitions while you make sure the rules are being adhered to.
Leave a comment:
I agree with you that it is the result of weak administration and rules, and sooner or later some company would do it once they saw commercial benefit to it.
However if the public backlash increases, and I hope it does, then what they clearly thought was great ambush marketing might not look that way.
Leave a comment:
I support every word Mosiah said above. I was surprised to see Hyde running at Champs.
As currently is, Digicel has benefited from it. The can sign athletes while in school, have them be ambassador and promoting their brand, in and out of school, get them to expose their brand as Ohara did, and they can deny that they had anything to do with it.
I-man these are decisions made in the board room to take advantage of our weak administrators.
Leave a comment: