• Lazie
    replied
    I believe Guiness actually owns Red Stripe now... correct me if I'm wrong. The problem for the artistes is that other companies might want to also disassociate themselves from perceived negative publicity... ask Marion Jones, Ben Johnson et al how much sponsorship dem lose once the image of the sponsor is "tarnished" by the beneficiary's behaviour.

pr
    Thanks PR ... too many people talking before them think.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Good move , Red stripe loose , big time , if the idiots dont realise that it found its niche on the international market because it was suppported by Jamaicans and promted in a cultural way , what do they expect now that it is not ?

A dwindling of sales ? if they believe that the B.man influence can pop up sales good luck.

Bun it out de B.mam juice , remember fashion set a yard and spread abroad, chuss me by summer Red stripe change dem tune, when dem see dem juice naah buy or sell a nuh BBQs or Session!

Bun out de B.Man juice

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    I believe Guiness actually owns Red Stripe now... correct me if I'm wrong. The problem for the artistes is that other companies might want to also disassociate themselves from perceived negative publicity... ask Marion Jones, Ben Johnson et al how much sponsorship dem lose once the image of the sponsor is "tarnished" by the beneficiary's behaviour.

pr

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Sorry if I misunderstood,

Please explain this statement:

"If Red stripe was owned by a Jamaican they would more than likely be more sensitive to our culture and understand the difference and act as a responsible company"

What has Red Stripe done that demonstrates a lack of sensitivity to our 'culture'.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    so carib will risk the ire of the farin lobbyists?

Leave a comment:

• Baddaz
    replied
    look red stripe cannot have it both ways... they make their choice and the artistes make theirs... i think the artistes and jamaican music can do without red stripe sponsorship... wait until all jamaica reject red stripe and start embrace carib beer out of protest... dont underestimate the influence of the dancehall culture... wait until all the red stripe start stock up in their warehouses...

boycott is not a one way street...

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    yuh see how it feel?

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    My views on the Red Stripe issue?!?

Leave a comment:

• Hortical
    replied
    Through all the discussions, your views on the topic is influenced by your political bias.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    There is as much difference between them as the Vaz and the Hay-Webster cases.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Hmmm there seems to be some communication problems.

Dem nah sponsor no event that promotes artist that engage in murder music.

Seems clear to me... if yuh want Red Stripe promotion.. X out dem artists/lyrics.

Nobody if forcing anybody to do anything.. one company simple is not willing to continue being a sponsor of SPECIFIC lyrical content.

How this is viewed as an attack on Jamaican culture is beyond me.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Not quite... one is in response to behaviour, the other is in response to the response..

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    They are merely doing the same that Red Stripe did. We should embrace them for their activism.

Blessed

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    where did I suggest violence is our culture?

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    What is a valid point? all Jamaican concerts are the same?

Leave a comment: