Danhai arrested

RE: Danhai arrested

Maudib (11/1/2006)You should just end it there.

Meditate on the state of the country when the JLP took over in 1980.

Based on simple extrapolation they should be able to do an even better job if they take over now, since you have this 'macroeconomic stability'.

Fact of the matter is ideology, history (slavery) and rascism has made this virtually a one party state. Simply choose the ideology that the masses will warm to and other areas of performance as it relates to nation building are irrelevant. The only reason the JLP won was the perceived threat of communism.

People like Jawge perpetuate the myths of what the JLP stands for and outdated ideology. It is pathetic that an educated man is referring to 'banning of books' that occurred over 30 years ago. Just prior to that time period, blacks could not vote in America.

What is needed now is proper MANAGEMENT of the country and unfortunately the current PNP ranks are not specialists in this.. they are armed for a different battle. If it isindeed a one party state then let us move on to implementing accountability and consequences for those charged with responsibility.. since they cannot be voted out have them replaced or prosecuted.. there has to be a consequence for ineptitude and mis-management.. if not, what is the point of charging people with responsiblity of governing the country ?
    Ben I didn't know that the JLP is dominated by caucasians

please explain the racism argument. Ben if you ban books 30 yrs ago and had the population 53% illiterate then why are you surprised that we cannot take full advantage of the info age? Why are you surprised that our methods of farming are archaic? why the surprise that the island cannot produce outside of tourism? I watched life and debt where the people in the free zone complaining that all they do is sew alot of clothes per day. Are they in a system where they can acquire a technical skill? (I'm sure intel could not give them their microprocessors to design)If in 1972 53% of Ja's population was illiterate then it's not a surprise why many still luck at tertiary education as luxury and not something to uplift their nation. Talk about management who encouraged the balck market in Ja? At one point people would literally laugh at banks. Now Banks have been returned to its rightful place. Your party is yet to give comprehensive plan on education. If they did please let me know.

I do not own a party and I am not drawn to clubs or cults. I ama scientist and a proponent ofcritical thinking. I am not burdened by archaic ideological beliefs and don't travel with much 'black man' baggage.

Your tactics are infantile at best.. 'Banning books'. The USA has banned many books in its history, was this a reflection on their stance regarding literacy ?? The need to ban a book implies existence of literacy.. you need to expand on your favorite topic.. connect the dots... it is not enough for you to state literacy figures in a particular year, provide a context and show the progression of literacy say over a 40 year period.

The Chinese are the manufacturing center of the world.. wages and skill sets are fairly limited in vast areas of their workforce, lots of sewing goes on.. by extrapolation they are condemning themselves to irrelevance ?

Factories were setup and employment provided in the 80's.. you choose to criticize this however in comparision: What was the result of the present Admin foray into the IT sector ? 40,000 jobs were promised ? Millions of US was spent.. what were the returns ?

The PNP Admin is setup to defeat itself (not the polls but at claimed objectives), its maintenance of power is predicated on maintaining an inefficient, oversizedpublic sectorand strategic implementation ofa scare spoils and benefits distribution model.

You either choose not to or do not have the aptitude to understand this.. as such only entertainment not your edification can result from our discourse.. entertainment value is diminishing..

A Ben J this a gi wi dem deep reasoning yah?

Gamma would be proud of his school

Just leggo Jawge and make him go through still

Maudib (11/1/2006)I do not own a party and I am not drawn to clubs or cults. I ama scientist and a proponent ofcritical thinking. I am not burdened by archaic ideological beliefs and don't travel with much 'black man' baggage.

Your tactics are infantile at best.. 'Banning books'. The USA has banned many books in its history, was this a reflection on their stance regarding literacy ?? The need to ban a book implies existence of literacy.. you need to expand on your favorite topic.. connect the dots... it is not enough for you to state literacy figures in a particular year, provide a context and show the progression of literacy say over a 40 year period.

The Chinese are the manufacturing center of the world.. wages and skill sets are fairly limited in vast areas of their workforce, lots of sewing goes on.. by extrapolation they are condemning themselves to irrelevance ?

Factories were setup and employment provided in the 80's.. you choose to criticize this however in comparision: What was the result of the present Admin foray into the IT sector ? 40,000 jobs were promised ? Millions of US was spent.. what were the returns ?

The PNP Admin is setup to defeat itself (not the polls but at claimed objectives), its maintenance of power is predicated on maintaining an inefficient, oversizedpublic sectorand strategic implementation ofa scare spoils and benefits distribution model.

You either choose not to or do not have the aptitude to understand this.. as such only entertainment not your edification can result from our discourse.. entertainment value is diminishing..
          Ben it's your kind of science and thinking put us where we are today. Did I mention anything about blackman? You did not answer my question about the black market, you only continue to rant. Your critical thinking leads you to compare Ja (2.7 mill) to China (1 billion), ofcourse china and India has more than enough people to spare (hence the diversion of manufacturing to these sectors). You did not answer me on the JLP's present stance on education ( a comprehensive plan). My argument wast that the workers of the freezone cannot complain because they are the fruits of 53% illiteracy and banned books. It amazes me that when I speak of JA you speak of the US, china and other major powers. Lte's examine this statement with objectivity: "The need to ban a book implies existence of literacy.." Until 1972 JA had an illiteracy rate of 53% of the population. When were the books banned in JA? You are the scientist, I'm sure you can now see the fallacy in your rant.

Jawge (11/1/2006)
            Maudib (11/1/2006)I do not own a party and I am not drawn to clubs or cults. I ama scientist and a proponent ofcritical thinking. I am not burdened by archaic ideological beliefs and don't travel with much 'black man' baggage.

Ben it's your kind of science and thinking put us where we are today. Did I mention anything about blackman? You did not answer my question about the black market, you only continue to rant. Your critical thinking leads you to compare Ja (2.7 mill) to China (1 billion), ofcourse china and India has more than enough people to spare (hence the diversion of manufacturing to these sectors). You did not answer me on the JLP's present stance on education ( a comprehensive plan). My argument wast that the workers of the freezone cannot complain because they are the fruits of 53% illiteracy and banned books. It amazes me that when I speak of JA you speak of the US, china and other major powers. Lte's examine this statement with objectivity: "The need to ban a book implies existence of literacy.." Until 1972 JA had an illiteracy rate of 53% of the population. When were the books banned in JA? You are the scientist, I'm sure you can now see the fallacy in your rant.
            What kind of science and thinking are you referring to ?

You did not mention anything about blackman, that does not make it a non-issue.

You need to look up the world Rant, clearly you are ignorant of its meaning.

You cast aspersions at the concept employing people in the area of Garment manufacturing I was wondering what you thought about the concept in China and other countries that tap into this market.

It is interesting that the literacy rate in 1972 was 53%, my question is what was it in 1962 ?

I must admit I don't know much about what books were banned or when, I do not waste too much time on what I deem to be irrelevant.. please provide the information and what you think the relevance is.

In the examination of the record of anyGovt performanceyou have pros and cons. In the history of governance in Jamaica the record of PNP Government is quite pathetic. All you need to tell me is what are the pros to be obtained in supporting a governement thathas demonstrated it isincapable of generating measurable economic growth and yet borrows at record breaking levels. Even if it is that PNP is black man party.. something that gives me insight into what on the face of it is madness.

Okay let's sort this out and return things to

sanity. Ben you seem to havean inclination for mayhem and chaos (can't blame you there though).

What kind of science and thinking are you referring to ?

>>>You said you were a scientist, yet you cannot argue within the context of JA and its issues, you seem to drag nations with vast resources and economy in your arguments.

You did not mention anything about blackman, that does not make it a non-issue.

Well for me or any objective person it has to be a non issue. What's the percentage of caucasians living in JA? I was dealing strictly with with Ja's economic woes and how it relates to education. Your mantra seem to be: stray from the point and use distraction at all cost. Where did you pick up these poor debating tactics?

You need to look up the world Rant, clearly you are ignorant of its meaning.

>> Well ofcourse your are merely ranting, as you would know scientists call this hand waving

You cast aspersions at the concept employing people in the area of Garment manufacturing I was wondering what you thought about the concept in China and other countries that tap into this market.

>>> Okay, the point keepps eluding you; Ben the harsh truth is that China and India has the numbers to spare for this kind of labour (whilst adding value to their economy). Ja on the other cannot afford to continue on this path. We have to make adjustments in our education system to take advantage of the info age. (china, Mexico et al will use the sheer weight of numbers to outdo us in the low skiiled labour sector) Do you see small nations such as Japan, Singapore, malaysia et al concentrating any of their numbers in this market? Why? they have little to spare and liitle economic returns on it.

It is interesting that the literacy rate in 1972 was 53%, my question is what was it in 1962 ?

>>> Since the above seem to be a vexing problem to you, let me just close my eyes and tell you the answer: it was higher than 53%.

I must admit I don't know much about what books were banned or when, I do not waste too much time on what I deem to be irrelevant.. please provide the information and what you think the relevance is.

>>> Use your critical thinking skills: A society exists where illiteracy runs rampant and books are being banned. You don't see any relevance Ben? May add that there is a difference between Obeah and science.

In the examination of the record of anyGovt performanceyou have pros and cons. In the history of governance in Jamaica the record of PNP Government is quite pathetic. All you need to tell me is what are the pros to be obtained in supporting a governement thathas demonstrated it isincapable of generating measurable economic growth and yet borrows at record breaking levels. Even if it is that PNP is black man party.. something that gives me insight into what on the face of it is madness.

>>>> Ben I asked you about the thriving black market that JA had and you did not answer. Ben can you recall the days when you walk to sam sharpe square, there were many young men on the street with local currency in their hands seeking trade (Ja at this point seem like Samolia) Banks were viewed with mockery and scorn. Now visitors coming off the plane can just go up to an ATM and that's it. pretty soon I predict you won't see any tellers or Cambios in the airport, just atms (visitors are way more accustomed to using these). Banking in JA is on track again; you have people putting confidence in our govt. notes and buying. Locals are banking via their relatives abroad; doing real estate and other ventures. You don't seem to want JA to have banking system on par with first w

>>>You said you were a scientist, yet you cannot argue within the context of JA and its issues, you seem to drag nations with vast resources and economy in your arguments.

There are nations without vast resources and economy that have taken advantage of low skill requirement manufacturing including Jamaica. You have yet to explain why it is a bad thing to provide employment to thousands of people.

>>>Well for me or any objective person it has to be a non issue. What's the percentage of caucasians living in JA? I was dealing strictly with with Ja's economic woes and how it relates to education. Your mantra seem to be: stray from the point and use distraction at all cost. Where did you pick up these poor debating tactics?

Are you saying it is a non-issue in Jamaica ? This flies in the face of all evidence to the contrary. Color plays into the decision making process of MANY people in Jamaica.

>>> Okay, the point keepps eluding you; Ben the harsh truth is that China and India has the numbers to spare for this kind of labour (whilst adding value to their economy). Ja on the other cannot afford to continue on this path. We have to make adjustments in our education system to take advantage of the info age. (china, Mexico et al will use the sheer weight of numbers to outdo us in the low skiiled labour sector) Do you see small nations such as Japan, Singapore, malaysia et al concentrating any of their numbers in this market? Why? they have little to spare and liitle economic returns on it.

Who has said that Jamaica should continue on this path ? Jawge this is 2006.. wake up. What is preventing the PNP from transitioning to another form of production. The JLP was able to employ thousands of people in an industry almost 20 years ago, fact. What is the case study for the PNP since then? IT promise of 40,000 jobs ?

>>> Use your critical thinking skills: A society exists where illiteracy runs rampant and books are being banned. You don't see any relevance Ben? May add that there is a difference between Obeah and science.

Once again, many nations have banned many books. Please provide the names of the books banned and demonstrate the intent to promote 'illiteracy'.

>>>> Ben I asked you about the thriving black market that JA had and you did not answer. Ben can you recall the days when you walk to sam sharpe square, there were many young men on the street with local currency in their hands seeking trade (Ja at this point seem like Samolia) Banks were viewed with mockery and scorn. Now visitors coming off the plane can just go up to an ATM and that's it. pretty soon I predict you won't see any tellers or Cambios in the airport, just atms (visitors are way more accustomed to using these). Banking in JA is on track again; you have people putting confidence in our govt. notes and buying. Locals are banking via their relatives abroad; doing real estate and other ventures. You don't seem to want JA to have banking system on par with first world countries and I wonder why.

I think have dispelled all myths and solved all "vexing problems" here.

You have solved nothing. Govt Notes ? Don't forget more man have cyar, gyal and cellphone. A black market thrives in an environment where something is scarce. Why was that something scarce ? How did one obtain US Dollars under the previous Regime ? Why was banking derailed in the first place ? Let me give you a hint.. the problems all started on a fateful day in 1972 and despite corrective measures in the 80's the derailement process started again in 1989. The only peak in th

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>

There are nations without vast resources and economy that have taken advantage of low skill requirement manufacturing including Jamaica. You have yet to explain why it is a bad thing to provide employment to thousands of people.

&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt; My point seems lost on you; it's aband aid solution. The thousands you speak of represents millions another scale in terms of population. When thousands of Jakans are mired in low skilled and paying jobs it will affect the overall economy (considering we are 2.6 million) It may be easy to counter and say oh it's better than having no job at all. No it's affecting our productivity sector. In the industrial age this could be tolerated but with the info age it spells doom for JA. Which with a small population is looking to take advantage of the low skilled market? Chile, Mexico et is already using the weight of numbers to outdo us in terms of Agricultural produce. Are we going to wait until the US start selling us banana cheaper than what we grow in JA? (in years to come they will alter it to grow in the US). Manley had the vision to see that we needed to be ahiighly educated populace, the info age is now demanding it. Even if we try our hands low wage jobs, Mexico and S. America always seem to produce same goods with lower cost (due to numbers in population and socioeconomics)

Are you saying it is a non-issue in Jamaica ? This flies in the face of all evidence to the contrary. Color plays into the decision making process of MANY people in Jamaica.

&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt; Ben there are no whites on either side of the parties, they are all BLACK PEOPLE.

Who has said that Jamaica should continue on this path ? Jawge this is 2006.. wake up. What is preventing the PNP from transitioning to another form of production. The JLP was able to employ thousands of people in an industry almost 20 years ago, fact. What is the case study for the PNP since then? IT promise of 40,000 jobs ?

&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;Yes this is true because it did not require a technical skill to plant bananas, this also explains why illiteracy was encouraged back then: see you are making money and don't have to go to school. Now we are encircled: The corporations in the US (with interests in S.America and the pacific) has forced the Euros to take away our favoured status in the banana market, now where does that leave us. My two grandfathers were Banana growers to the point where one passed on the shares to me (back when I was aboy) for the boat that Ja growers bought with the our govt. The market terrian has changed and so must we (this is in response to your 20 years question). I didn't know that 40K IT jobs were promised as definite when JA schools have not adjusted properly to prepare its populace. What did these jobs entail software engineering,applications programming, call centers,what is it?

Once again, many nations have banned many books. Please provide the names of the books banned and demonstrate the intent to promote 'illiteracy'.

&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;Ben i'm growing tired of your one dimensional view of things. Now what is the purpose of keeping the populace illiterate?Control, simple. Now if you have some semi literates in the illiterate populaceand there a books that will cause them (semis)to question things and ask many whys,it would be prudent to ban these books too (remember the premise was control). You just don't keep a society illiterate for no reason at all.

Ben can you recall the days when you walk to sam sharpe square, there were many young men on the street with local currency in their han

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=smalltxt vAlign=top><SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl5_lblFullMessage><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 8pt; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana; mso-fareast-font-family: 'Times New Roman'; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA; mso-bidi-font-family: 'Times New Roman'">"Yuh understand sarcasm?" You done know seh people tek yu serious, after all yu now claim mi mada Parish:P, wah happen, yu drop yu twang. Howdy Bredda.</SPAN></SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

You need a lesson in cause and effect.

Jamaica suffered in the 70's, early 80's and since 1992 because of STUPID policies of the PNP. The only glimmer of light occurred after corrective measures began to take effect in the late 80's... then the idiots took over again in 89..

It is possible to empower people without effing up an economy.. PNP need to read that book.

You are right about cause and effect. If you

are going to sit here and tell me that the only party that can correct JA's probelm is the JLP, the minute you leave the JLP then you are a fool. Can you see the fallacy in this reasoning? Look who is the JLP's finance guru;Audley (I guess the people know the cause why Audley is in charge of Finance but it's the ffect they are worried about)Ben come on you are not serious.

I am a scientist, emperical data indicates the PNP is clueless or unable to execute,while the JLP have a demonstratedthey possess aclue and can execute.

We are beyond that. What you should be spending your time doing is figuring out how to fix the PNP since they have perfected winning elections (simply a matter of what you are willing to compromise)but have no clue when it comes to executing.

It might be that proper execution might endanger their election winning strategy... what a pickle.. and Jamaica suffers.

"We always believe.. and so ANYTHING that will cause us to remain in power..."

Dangerous words.

The data is in Karl, the PNP have failed categorically, outperformed globally and regionally.. so instead of defending failure look about fixing the problem.. they should resign, clean house and come again.