• Don1
    replied
    Suh yuh tink im bline?
    Not sure where the problem was.. but I tried to cover that possibility.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    i have no problem acknowledging that.
    i 18 years what is the tourism growth?

what you will not acknowledge is they were great at overruns, mismanagement and poor at marketing.
    Last edited by Assasin; May 30, 2009, 11:33 AM.

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    yeah him better than what we had but it is a different thing when you step up from D2 to D1 and inner bigger league. He is better than any other recent one but for us to get say 6 million tourist a year him have to keep on working like never before.
    Having a hard time acknowledging that under the last regime work was done - roads, telecom, increase in number of rooms, etc?

Aaaaah Sass, tek hit su-loooow!

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Marketing:

"Water, electricity and telecom services have been modernized in the corridor. Hospitality skills have also been improved and Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing."

As to airlift:

Effective marketing for a destination covers the development of airlift and attracting carriers as a primary mission.
    Additionally one of my main points was the development of the facilities at Sangster... without which carriers could not be accommodated properly and so would not be attracted to the facility.

I hope I don't have to go over these points again ....they should be obvious.

Suh yuh tink im bline?

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    yeah him better than what we had but it is a different thing when you step up from D2 to D1 and inner bigger league. He is better than any other recent one but for us to get say 6 million tourist a year him have to keep on working like never before.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    This is on the outskirts of Montego Bay, not bush at all, but not in the jungle of the city. Totally unacceptable! And is not as if the building itself did not have telephone lines already.
    aaah bwoy!!

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    This is on the outskirts of Montego Bay, not bush at all, but not in the jungle of the city. Totally unacceptable! And is not as if the building itself did not have telephone lines already.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    "Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing.""

How so?

The only really effective marketing is done by Sandals, Super Clubs and now the spanish hotels.

There are many potential clients that we have not even started touching the iceberg yet. Yes we have an upgrade as a minister but there is still a lot of work to be done if we want to be a major player.
    The first thing you need to do is acknowledge that you erred... that indeed all the stuff you claimed was not mentioned in my post... was indeed addressed.

The JTB has performed effectively in marketing for decades... and is recognized in the professional travel trade accordingly.... they regularly win awards for their campaigns at the WTA and CTO.

All the macro developments in Jamaican tourism to this point have very little to do with Bartlett.... he's a johnny come lately on this issue.... he may however have a significant impact over time.

He is an effective advocate and plays the role well... I last observed him do so at the Jet Blue NYC launch a week ago.... so he has potential.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    good post, don1, but regarding telecom services, we still take far too long to provide service once ordered. i just got my internet at home after 6 weeks. and it took almost as long to get it at the workplace as well.
    Not good!! Is that north coast or Killston?? I know it's not profitable to run lines in some locations and the carriers drag their feet.

However mi memba wen it tek all 2-3 year.. in di miggle ah Kingston.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    nuh you always a big up di jlp and di tourism minister?!?

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    good post, don1, but regarding telecom services, we still take far too long to provide service once ordered. i just got my internet at home after 6 weeks. and it took almost as long to get it at the workplace as well.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    "Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing.""

How so?

The only really effective marketing is done by Sandals, Super Clubs and now the spanish hotels.

There are many potential clients that we have not even started touching the iceberg yet. Yes we have an upgrade as a minister but there is still a lot of work to be done if we want to be a major player.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    yuh joking, right?

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    You need to read with more care

Nowhere did you mention any of the three I mention and it cannot be done without that. Your point is missing these elements.
    Marketing:

"Water, electricity and telecom services have been modernized in the corridor. Hospitality skills have also been improved and Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing."

As to airlift:

Effective marketing for a destination covers the development of airlift and attracting carriers as a primary mission.
    Additionally one of my main points was the development of the facilities at Sangster... without which carriers could not be accommodated properly and so would not be attracted to the facility.

I hope I don't have to go over these points again ....they should be obvious.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Nowhere did you mention any of the three I mention and it cannot be done without that. Your point is missing these elements.

Leave a comment: