Update Missa 'non-partisan'...
"Both major political parties have admitted receiving money from the collapsed David Smith-led Olint Corporation, to finance the 2007 election campaign, which is now under investigation for alleged money laundering.
Treasurer of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), Christopher Bovell, denied that Olint donated US$5 million to the party, although admitting that the investment club donated to the JLP’s campaign fund.
Responding to queries, chairman of the opposition People’s National Party (PNP), Robert Pickersgill, dismissed claims that the party got US$1.3 million. “To the best of my knowledge, Olint donated US$200,000,” Pickersgill said yesterday."
LOL !! Poor DonUno.. another bandwagon goes up in flames...
What a letter!
intelligent AND BITTA ..... i wonda how much a him friend him inviegle fi gi him money fi invest....mi also a wonda if him did mek any withdrawal.....
mi neva si it as a ponzi scheme, more like easy money....TOO easy fi my comfort!
Leave a comment:
U cant start investigation without evidence...otherwise you do nothing else.
Leave a comment:
I am not saying there is evidence or there is not. I am saying the matter should be investigated... whether it's JLP or PNP corruption.Originally posted by Willi View PostWhere is the evidence????
Anyone can claim anything and based on the hyperbole in the letter, it lacks credibility and wont be entertained.
To my mind, I am sure this Ponzi scheme funded both sides and it blossumed under the PNP Govt and Ennis was a big chairleader, remember????
It would be interesting to find out that Golding would be meeting with David Smith in May 2009 would it not?
It would be interesting to find out how much stolen money (and to whom!)went into financing JLP or PNP political campaigns would it not?
To me that is far more interesting than the Trafigura stuff which died a natural death as predicted.... because we are dealing here with a potentially criminal enterprise and perhaps embezzled funds in OLINT funding politicians and campaigns...... and affecting our political destiny.
This is just a potentially bigger and more sophisticated version of a don handing up a bag of cash to politicians on a Party Conference stage.... revolting.
Do you think that is worthy of attention?
By definition politicians are hypocritical and corrupt to a greater or lesser degree.
I like to see the hypocrisy exposed.
Leave a comment:
Where is the evidence????
Anyone can claim anything and based on the hyperbole in the letter, it lacks credibility and wont be entertained.
To my mind, I am sure this Ponzi scheme funded both sides and it blossumed under the PNP Govt and Ennis was a big chairleader, remember????
Leave a comment:
You all are missing The BIGGER picture
Yeah what he is asking for in terms of aid/trade restrictions is ridiculous and designed mainly for attention grabbing ... that's going nowhere.Originally posted by Willi View Postso all Jamaica must suffer because he recklessly and greedily invested his life savings in a Ponzi Scheme? What planet him come from?
HOWEVER:
1. Did Golding actually meet with this guy David Smith a few weeks... if so for what purpose?
2. Did OLINT fund/corrupt the JLP to the extent claimed... if not, to what extent?
It seems the JLP has some questions to answer. These are very serious allegationss... that need transparency and clarity immediately.
No doubt that clarity won't happen.... given the nature of our political organizations... and the compromised nature of our press.
Was Jamaican democracy compromised further by this criminal conspiracy called OLINT??
Leave a comment:
so all Jamaica must suffer because he recklessly and greedily invested his life savings in a Ponzi Scheme? What planet him come from?
Leave a comment:
All mi want to know is how many death threats a day him getting from his
private club members or how many of him pickney dem holding hostage.. cause jah know.. him gone off the deep end..
Leave a comment:
Seems like a very intelligent man, I wonder if him never have no friend who told him the risk involved? or him just learn bout Ponzi scheme.
Leave a comment:
i know...reminds me of someone..
I can fearlessly speak out about the dishonesty of David Smith and the corruption of the Jamaican government because I live in freedom in the greatest democracy in the world. Further, I am not subject to political violence and intimation that silences most well thinking Jamaicans.
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Westman View Post
I call on this honorable committee to: 1) Halt ALL bilateral aid to Jamaica 2) For the International Monetary fund (IMF), not to offer any loan assistance to a Jamaican government that is strongly influenced by this OLINT Ponzi scheme conspiracy.
Bilateral and multilateral aid should be resumed when all American citizens have received restitution upon completion of the Department of Justice investigation into OLINT.
New level of bitterness to rhatid.
Leave a comment:
indeed! i think he sued for 3 million. i wouldn't be surprised if he had used people's money to do so too.
Leave a comment: