• Willi
    replied
    Me same one!

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    No reasonable person should be claiming deception.

10% a month....COME ON.

Greed, plain and simple.

" A good friend said...inna reggae riddim
    Dont jump in the water, if you cant swim"

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    Dat I can agree with.
    love dat.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    If true, then the fault would be mine...My back broader! LoL

I am not passive, but I cant take the claim of this psycho seriously.

The man demands the destruction of Jamaica to get back his life savings he freely and foolishly "invested", so him dead to me from that.

There was no embezzlement. Ponzi scheme yes, very likely, but there was no coersion in his investing. He was just damn greedy, and everyone knows it.
    agreed.... mi nuh kno di docta an mi nuh bizniz wid im.

Sanctions he is advocating are ridiculous.... mi nih support dat. Mi jus waan kno wich tician tek money an ow much.

As to embezzlement.. I don't think coercion is a factor.... but deception... but I am not an attorney.

Lord Gamma... can embezzlement on the part of a fund manager be established by deceit regarding how deposits are invested? Or is it regarded as "just" fraud?

Not to be confused with unjust fraud.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    you gwaan think the misunderstanding is your LOL.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    yuh cya'an tell mi seh dem nuh diversify!!!

btw a yuh ban sickko?

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Dat I can agree with.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Yeah,

Some in Olint fund 1, some in fun 2, some in cash plus, some in Madoff, some in Stanford investing and he rolled over BCCI hi-yield investments.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    Trafigura had bank statement. Without that it would have been wild speculation. That brought reason for investigation

Even there, what happened later when more proof was not forthcoming?

What we have is a letter from a man who would advocate the economic destruction of Jamaica so that he can recover the money HE foolishly, consciously and blood-mindedly "invested" in a scheme paying 10% a month??? This is NOT a basis for any action whatsoever. As a lawyer (and a good one) you KNOW that.

I am not saying that he is even right or wrong in his allegations, just saying that it not enuff to act on.
    In this case both the PNP and JLP publicly admit receiving di tiefin money. Individual candidates have not yet made the declaration publicly.

The parties and candidates should be forced to DECLARE and RETURN all these donations... especially if it is established to be proceeds from a criminal enterprise.

Nothing less should suffice.
    Last edited by Don1; July 10, 2009, 10:05 AM. Reason: What more proof do you need?

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    If true, then the fault would be mine...My back broader! LoL

I am not passive, but I cant take the claim of this psycho seriously.

The man demands the destruction of Jamaica to get back his life savings he freely and foolishly "invested", so him dead to me from that.

There was no embezzlement. Ponzi scheme yes, very likely, but there was no coersion in his investing. He was just damn greedy, and everyone knows it.

Leave a comment:

• Sickko
    replied
    True...just because he lost his money (and maybe others as well) he want the US to cut ties to jamaica over personal things.

Wonder what he would say about Madoff's crimes...

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    wait deh, how yuh know him neva diversify?

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    yuhseeit!
    yes mi seet!

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    The fault is yours.

You called for investigation and hence I correctly assumed you meant by the competent authorities!!

Now you clarify that you mean the media!!! Of course the media is free to pursue anything they find relevant and promising and I have no problem with that. If they discover concrete stuff, then yes action must be supported. This however, is totally different than the APPARENT position you took before.

Officialdom cannot and will not act on hearsay, they require hard evidence showing probable cause.

As for the media, we have many outlets, so its a cop out to say that they are all at the behest of politics. The Herald is no fan of Golding, for example.
    If you misunderstand or jump to an erroneous conclusion.. the fault is mine? Interesting concept.. but I can accept that... my back broad. LOL!! In my defence... I did mention the media in my FIRST post on this thread I believe.

There is a big difference between saying the theoretical "the media is free to do anything" and DEMANDING that the media investigate the possible corruption of our politics (both parties) by money possibly EMBEZZLED from the unsuspecting... money which is now the subject of international criminal investigation in several jurisdictions.

For some reason you seem very passive on the matter. Why?

I ask again... if it's true that Golding met with Smith a few weeks ago in secret.... what's your opinion?

Maybe he wanted his advice on the upcoming IMF talks?
    Last edited by Don1; July 10, 2009, 08:38 AM.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    yuhseeit!

Leave a comment: