Missing links in Beckles' Haiti analysis
Boss you have to look at it startegically. What if the US at the time aided the Haitian revolution? Quite possibly you would not have a USA today. Why? The US had just finished fighting the british. To support the revolution they would have to go by sea with troops. The British ruled the sea at the time; the US on the other hand lacked naval experience and fleet. The US would be defeated at sea, hence allowing the french to come and gain a foothold (not to mention the British). Why sacrifice a continent for an island?
They now have these games being played out on computers: Civilizzation III et al (i have never really played but I bet a good strategy game if you have the time).
It's not emotion but taking things in their overall perspective.
Leave a comment:
breds i agree with you, the ones who want us to be dispassionate are the ones who passionately abused us....
take south africa, the first peole to talk about discriminated against were...yup the white south africans...i hear it A LOT... they abused the black south africans for decades and then turn around and seh..ok wi stop now...no hardfeelings eh? and in turn where do they take out this frustration? on themselves! maybe only 5 or 10% of the population has the capacity to look beyond themslves and say..."i grew up without a father, that will NEVER happen to my children!" hence, the children of absentee fathers are more likely to be absentee fathers themselves...that is socialogy!
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Exile View PostAnd our Jamaican situation...did or does outside influences/forces shaped/shape our present dire position in terms of politics, crime and economy?
Of course! But there is no sense in constantly bellyaching about dat...Babylon will ALWAYS play dem wikkid game pon wi... wi fi learn fram dem who progress DESPITE BABYLON MACHINATIONS.
It's up to us to be smarter than them...cooperate towards one aim & one destiny.... it's in our hands...not Babylon devices like the IMF
As Adadm Clayton Powell used to say...IT'S IN OUR HANDS... strait
Leave a comment:
and i am saying that the 2 are not unrelated. just like how the fact that during slavery the establishment of stud farms for slaves and the fact that familes could be ripped apart to pay debts contributed GREATLY to the development of the absentee father in the black community and this persists to this day because blessed is the man who can teach his children more than he knows!
Leave a comment:
Good question but one must remember that the Euros were under the same kind of system that many nations now experience.
Leave a comment:
Monitored? But was our history shaped? Are we really in control? Do we really have 'drivahs'?
Leave a comment:
And our Jamaican situation...did or does outside influences/forces shaped/shape our present dire position in terms of politics, crime and economy?
Leave a comment:
understand dat, but the majority of people only know what they been told, and that is about the dictators and black people poor governance.Most people don't even know that haiti war for them freedom much less the money the had to pay back and occupation by america.
I disagree about over emotionalizing, we tend to lack emotion, some of us to this day don't know where we are coming from, or don't know or don't care that we are being played to this day.
God Bless Jamaica
Leave a comment:
Precisely...we tend to over-emotionalize these issues fueled by the enormous & undoubted crimes of the West.Originally posted by Islandman View PostYes, and they are also victims of their own brown and black exploiters.
Failing to realize that the solutions are in our hands.... strait
Leave a comment:
Yes, and they are also victims of their own brown and black exploiters.
Leave a comment: